Maple Syrup Fest for Diabetes

One of the things I think makes the world an interesting and scary place is the number of ideas that, while well intentioned, might not be altogether the best way to go about things.

From the online edition of the Charlotte Observer: http://www.charlotteobserver.com/275/story/84696.html

Huntersville Lions Club’s 46th annual pancake dinner for diabetes awareness and other charities is 5-8 p.m. Feb. 20 at Huntersville Elementary School, 200 Gilead Road. $6 adults, $3 elementary students; preschool children free.

I know the Lions Clubs do some great work. Its hard to take issue with them. In fact, I’m not. I admire just about anyone who is willing to extend a helping hand to others.

However, isn’t a Pancake Supper for Diabetes Awareness kind of silly? Is it akin to selling salt to raise money for high blood pressure reduction?

I tend to enjoy just a little pancake with my maple syrup. I consider pancakes to be a syrup delivery system. I know I’m not the only one who thinks this way. So again, I ask you, is slinging plates of pancakes to a bunch of syrup addicts really the best way to make the point that diabetes is pretty serious stuff?

Well, maybe it is. This is the 46th time they’ve had the event. 46 pancake suppers. That is a Niagara of syrup. Enough elevated blood sugar to power 160 kindergartners for one year.

Lets go back just a little, pause and admire the imagery of a Niagara of syrup. Pretty good huh?

I guess 46 years of good intentions and a bad idea whose time came (and stayed) are the answer to my question. It must be working for them. All things considered, 46 47 years of bad ideas and good intentions sound like the story of my life.

Sometimes if you don’t proofread life, it comes out OK. Here’s to things that really shouldn’t work coming out just fine. Pass the Mrs. Butterworth’s.

4 Comments on “Maple Syrup Fest for Diabetes”

  1. managing diabetes is the balance of sugar not the elimination of it

    for your reading in our blog

    the beast of my disease

  2. omawarisan says:

    Thanks for putting me right! I am having trouble finding your blog, but I am interested.

    At the same time, the average person who is not maintaining a regimen of testing their levels and controlling their diet cranking down a bunch of maple syrup can’t do much for the balance of sugar, can it?

    I’m not debating the issue, I’m asking…

  3. 30% blood sugar readings of diabetics are out of target each and every day (JDRF)

    out of the 18,000,000 in the USA
    3,000,000 are type one (JDRF)

    my son is type one
    he is a warrior
    fighting the beast

    http://whynotcreative.wordpress.com/2007/07/15/a-requiem-to-freedom/

    god bless you

  4. omawarisan says:

    …and blessings on you and your son.

    Thank you for teaching me something today.


So, what's on your mind?

