Talking about things I don’t know about.

I saw on the news that the space shuttle landing for the current mission has been delayed twice for rain at the primary landing site in Florida.

There are a lot of things I am eminently not qualified to comment on. Rocket Science is one of those things. All the same, I have to ask, how can a vehicle that can bring people and thousands of pounds of payload into space be stopped by rain?

The temperature ranges this machine traverses on mission are tremendous. The pressure changes are unbelievable. Rain stops it. Does it have a really spiffy paint job they don’t want to mess up?

On a similar note, I live in the area of a NASCAR track. There are a lot of things I don’t understand about stock car racing and its fans.

I don’t understand how they can so passionately watch these cars go in endless circles. I’m amazed these people will stand in line for hours to get the autograph of a favorite driver. I’m not criticizing them for it, I like people doing what makes them happy. I’m certain I do things someone in the autograph line would shake their head at.

I will get away from my premise for one criticism of some NASCAR fans.  I do not understand why some (not all) of them think they can buy a decrepit 25 year old school bus, paint a number 3 on it, do no other meaningful work on it, then expect it not to break down in heavy traffic after they drive it several hundred miles

So as a service to NASCAR fans embarassed by those kinds of people, and to me, who seems to get stuck behind them when they break down in front of me after driving in from out of state, I am going to make the following statement. Painting the number 3 on something does not magically make it safe, sound,  road worthy and just like new. If it did, we’d all have started painting a 3 on grandma’s forehead a long time before you finally scraped together the $400 you spent on your bus.

Thanks for letting me get that off my chest. Now, back to my issue.

On this gray rainy day, when a lot of my friends and thousands of tourists are flocking to the track near my home for a race, I have to ask – why can’t they race in the rain? I think there are going to be a lot of disappointed people today because they wont.

Since I don’t know the answer, I am going to jump in the car and drive through the rain to go get a bagel. The rain. Dangerous rain. Crippling rain.

Windshield wipers. They aren’t rocket science. Maybe they should be.

condron.us

So, what's on your mind?

