The day comes.

We went by the department of motor vehicles today to get his drivers license.

In the days leading up to the big day, we had a lot of talks about what would happen when he took his driving test. What the person who gave him the test would be like. How long he’d have to drive for them. Whether or not the stereotypical Department of Motor Vehicles employee existed and the odds that he would end up in the car with one of those.

Not really a commonly seen sign in North Carolina.

This sign did not appear during my son's road test

In the end, the best advice I could give him was to relax, be himself, say yes ma’am or yes sir and watch the speed limit signs.

His time came and he went back to meet the examiner. Shortly thereafter I heard a woman laughing. It was his examiner. Apparently he was being himself.

I watched my car leave the lot without me and come back 5 minutes later. He gave me a thumbs up, the examiner gave me a nod. He made it. All the worries were for nothing.

As we left, he mentioned it startled him to look over and not have me sitting next to him when he drove. Me too.

I called my insurance guy as soon as we got home and he doubled my insurance payment with a smile in his voice.

My car just left without me again. It still has my heart in it.

Be safe big guy.

6 Comments on “The day comes.”

  1. frigginloon says:

    I wonder if your son told the instructor “That’s my dad, he has some weird old Carrot Top fetish and reckons that meteorite boy’s a friggin fibber!” ….I would pass him too! And yes…please be safe. 🙂

  2. fnord says:

    I loved this post! You told this story every parent has gone through so well, with the same sad, happy, proud, scared, worried feelings each of us has also felt.

    Don’t give him money for gas, make him earn it and he won’t go so often or so far. 😉

    It is our job to make them independent, productive adult people. Sounds like you’re ahead of the game.

  3. I love the line “It still has my heart in it.” That says it all.

  4. Mr. Man says:

    Warmed me heart, you did. Happy Father’s Day, by the way 😉

    PS: No, I’m not Irish.


So, what's on your mind?

