Michael Jackson and me. Leaders in fields we never worked in.

I recognize that a lot of people are mourning the loss of Michael Jackson. I completely respect that, and I am sorry for your loss. I am not a fan, but there are artists I enjoy that his fans may not. To each his own.

However, the idea of the headline of this article “How Michael Jackson helped start the Patriots dynasty” is ridiculous. I think with this article, the drive to further sensationalize the loss to this man’s family, fans and friends reaches a new low.

The article relates  that the owner of the Patriots former stadium put that building up as collateral to fund a tour by Jackson. He lost money on the deal and was forced to sell. The new owner bought the stadium, eventually the team and the rest is history.

I’m not sure I follow the logic here. All Jackson did was agree to perform. The monetary transactions between stadium and team owners didn’t involve him.

Welcome to my world

Welcome to my world

Following that kind of logic, I would like to announce that I am responsible for the development of the personal computer and the internet.

Back in the ’60’s, when I was a child, I watched the Batman TV show. In the Batcave, Batman had the Batcomputer. It seemed able to answer any question Batman posed, as long as he said the question aloud as he entered it in to the machine.

I back up what I say. I am responsible for the internet

I back up what I say. I am responsible for the internet

My loyal support of Batman kept the show on long enough for Bill Gates and Steve Jobs to see the Batcomputer and develop the field of personal computing. The internet was developed, also by people inspired by the television habits of the 8 year old me.

You’re all welcome.

5 Comments on “Michael Jackson and me. Leaders in fields we never worked in.”

  1. i really like your logic and photoshopped picture

  2. frigginloon says:

    That is no different when one of McCain’s advisers told a press room that McCain had invented the Blackberry…

    http://frigginloon.wordpress.com/2008/09/17/john-mccain-invented-the-blackberry/

  3. Keli says:

    So it wasn’t Al Gore, but you, who paved the way for the Internet, thanks to watching Batman? Your modesty is admirable. Ah, those were the days! Now I can’t get the theme song out of my head.

    • omawarisan says:

      Yes, it was me. I try to keep it quiet, but I slip sometimes. But since you’ve got me talking, I also invented the blues.

      John McCain did invent the Blackberry by reading Dick Tracy. I was against it.

  4. frigginloon says:

    Thanks Keli, now I am humming danananana Batman all day long!


So, what's on your mind?

