I don’t care: Harry Potter

Kids reading. Good. This sort of thing. Not so good.

Kids reading. Good. This sort of thing. Not so good.

Today’s paper and electronic  news media focus on non news has been all about Harry Potter. Special newspaper sections and breathless teasers on the news telling me that they’ll get me ready for the new Harry Potter film.

I don’t care.

Now, I recognize that for whatever reason, the Potter books have gotten a lot of children to read. A child reading almost any book is a very good thing.

The frenzy surrounding the movies and anything having to do with them, I just don’t get.

Midnight showings? What’s the point? Maybe I’m

Does anyone eat these outside of a movie theatre?

Does anyone eat these outside of a movie theater?

missing something. There probably is a totally different ending that is only shown the first time the film is run. I bet sitting in a theater with a boat load of 9 year olds, up way past their bed times and loaded up with Sno-Caps and Mountain Dew makes any film better.

I don’t think I’ll go find out in person though.

Then there is the blind allegiance to the brand. I looked at Yahoo to confirm a thought I had and noticed that there were, at the moment I looked, 3 hours before even the first midnight show could be held, 592 Yahoo user ratings of the film. The average rating of the film by those people, who couldn’t possibly have seen the movie yet? An A.

How can you rate something that you have absolutely no sensory contact with whatsoever? Actually, why would you bother to rate something you don’t know about?

Maybe there is something to the idea though. Perhaps I’ll start a magazine concerning popular music in Uzbekistan. I don’t speak Uzbek, I don’t have any CD’s but if you show me an album title, I will rate it.

Damn It Janet

Damn It Janet

The media offers to help me “get ready”. Is there that much preparation needed for this movie?

Perhaps it is a Rocky Horror Picture Show kind of a thing. Harry Potter’s girlfriend, replaced by Damn it Janet. Toast flying at the screen. Water guns.

Maybe I’m not thinking this through. I find that, as I get older, it becomes more and more important for me to stretch before any activity. Maybe that’s what they mean about getting ready. A few calisthenics, some slow stretches. Maybe a massage.

A little side trip here. Why are the characters in every movie where there are wizards or dragons or that sort of thing always British? If Great Britain is the center of that sort of thing, more power to them. I’m not jealous by any means. Still, wouldn’t it be funny to see one of these movies with German accents, or an accent from the southern US?

It could be that I am just taking this too seriously. There are other things going on in the news. That Jon guy has a girlfriend now. Jessica Simpson allegedly has no boyfriend. Michael Jackson is still dead,(as is Generalissimo Francisco Franco).

There’s also some lady who wants to be one of the Supremes. Some old guys are talking to her about it.

For those of you interested in the music scene in Uzbekistan, here is a music video. I’m not going to rate it, because I watched it. It appears to be some sort of a mix of the theme of Van Halen’s Hot for Teacher and a Disney High School Musical movie. Enjoy.

Jamming Uzbek style. That’s how I roll.

11 Comments on “I don’t care: Harry Potter”

  1. Anonymous says:

    Rumor has it that Harry Potter likes Junior Mints. However, if Wizards eat Junior Mints they revert back to Muggles. So, Harry Potter is torn between losing his Wizardness and his Junior Mints. This is the plot of J.K. Rowling’s next book . . .

  2. sekanblogger says:

    The teenage daughter just left 1 1/2 hours early to get a seat at the midnight potter thingy.

  3. My boss, who is 35, is in love with the Harry Potter books and movies. I have had no desire to read them. The movies are kind of cool. I would go to a theater to see it but I would rent it on a rainy day. I just like whimsical things like that….sort of.

  4. frigginloon says:

    Geez Oma, when did Michael Jackson die? bummer, I really like him. Was he sick?

  5. frigginloon says:

    I remember struggling though the Hobbit when I was a kid. Harry Potter leaves me cold. When I was at school kids like him got beaten to a pulp with or without magic powers.
    Hmm, I think I may de-friend him from Facebook…see ya!

  6. omawarisan says:

    Sek, please ask your daughter if I need a lot of toast to throw.

    Eric, enjoy it man, but if I get wind of you buying a cape we’re going to have to sit down and talk.

    Loon. I’m sorry, yes, Mike is gone. They’ve kept it quiet. I hate you’re finding out this way, but the phone charges from here to Australia are a little steep.

    Has anyone made it through my Uzbek video?

  7. Keli says:

    I’m with you. I don’t get this Potter thing, but really, what kind of choices are there for movie going audiences? I’d like to go out and watch something, outside of the home theater, but what?
    PS I think you are jealous of the Brits. And who can blame you?

  8. omawarisan says:

    Yeah, actually I am jealous of the Brits. Just on other levels than the dragon possession, magic wand waving stuff. Also, not a big fan of the whole blood pudding thing.

    You know what would be funny? A Bill Cosby commercial for blood pudding.

  9. Vanessa says:

    They only preparation I want is to know what the rules are for the Harry Potter Drinking game that I will be playing with my vodka cocktail carefully hidden in a Jonas Brothers thermos that I have brought as to make appear that I am actually there WITH a kid…


So, what's on your mind?

