Rethink that, maybe?

In the area I work, there has been a small strip shopping center going up along one of the main drags. It is pretty close to completed now and I’ve started to see a few signs for the tenants going up over the shops.

I spotted one today I hadn’t noticed before. Salon d’ Envy. Since my knowledge of the French language is non existent, I checked d’ Envy via an online translator. Sure enough, it means just what I thought and you probably already knew: of Envy.

The Seven Deadly Sins. Envy is in there somewhere. Best of luck to you in finding it.

The Seven Deadly Sins. Envy is in there somewhere. Best of luck to you in finding it.

So, if you want your hair cut by one of the Seven Deadly Sins, I can point you in the right direction. I just don’t think that getting styled by Envy, the sin that despises the good qualities and possessions of others and thrives on seeing those things destroyed, is a really good idea.

Still, running any small buisness isn’t easy. Even someone as powerful as a deadly sin would need help.

Most folks really wouldn’t want to work for Envy. Everyone has crossed paths with Envy at one time or another. I think the logical pool of potential staff for Salon d’Envy is going to be the remaining six deadly sins: Extravagance, Gluttony, Greed, Discouragement, Wrath and Pride.

Wait, this is a good thing?

Wait, this is a good thing?

I don’t have much hair left to be cut, and what’s left usually doesn’t get trimmed up at places with salon in the name. Places with the word clips somewhere in the name will suffice for my purposes. I am certain though, that I will be avoiding Envy’s place if I ever do decide to break down and go the salon route. The last thing my remaining hair needs is a meeting with Discouragement.

I guess the point of this all is to ask why causing Envy in others is thought of as a good thing? I’m not sure I want people envying anything, and certainly not something about me.

Play nice.

Be careful of who cuts your hair.

(Outta here until Friday night, visiting colleges with my son)

5 Comments on “Rethink that, maybe?”

  1. Kathi D says:

    I myself get my hair cut at Le Clippe Joint of Greed. I am never Discouraged about it, but I have occasionally been Proud.

  2. frigginloon says:

    My hairdressers should be called Salon d’ Grief….is that a deadly sin? Hmm, nope, but my hair is.

  3. Keli says:

    Very wise words! I once permitted a stuper (short, as you know, for a resoundingly stupid person) to get her hands on my hair. I came out, not with the subtle highlights I’d requested, but with stripes only a zebra could love. The place was called “Curl Up and Dye.”

  4. frigginloon says:

    Now that Keli is way funny!

  5. omawarisan says:

    I haven’t been to Greed’s shop. I think Gluttony cut my hair once because the woman who cut my hair was kind of large and kept turning the chair with her ummm….yeah.

    Forget I brought it up.


So, what's on your mind?

