On Boxing.

What is this all about?

What is this all about? (image via topclassboxing.uk)

I don’t understand boxing.

That is probably an overstatement. I understand boxing. Two guys get on a platform. They punch each other in the head until one of them can’t get up, or some judges say one of them won.
Some of the rituals of the sport are odd, I’m not sure I see the point. As shown in the picture above, at the press conferences and at the last minute just before the match, the fighters are expected to stand really close to one another and gaze at each other.
What is the purpose of this, besides creating a very strange photo opportunity? I recognize that being in someones personal space is a good way to get oneself punched. In this case, that doesn’t happen. Apparently part of the convention of this ritual is that you dont push the other person away.
I don’t watch this stuff enough to know, but I would hope that somewhere in the set up for this space invasion thing is a very prominently featured bowl of peppermints.

Referees

 After the space invasion ritual, which must be uncomfortable for the fighters, photographers and observers, the fighters strip down to not much of

Perhaps wearing a bow tie makes making this face seem less awkward (image via strangedangers.com)

anything and fight. The rules of the fight are enforced by a man in a long sleeved shirt, pants, and a bow tie. Why a bow tie? Do referees host award shows immediately following the fight? Perhaps they are hoping to have the chance to relive their prom.

Suppose you came to me and said, “there is going to be a fight between two big sweaty dudes, but it is a civilized fight and we’d like you to enforce some decorum.” I assure you that my first thought is not to wonder if I’ve got enough time to rent proper formal wear. If that is what you’re looking for, maybe you’d better go find yourself another referee.
I had some thoughts about what boxing judges must be like, but I searched
Back in the day, boxers punched each other in front of some dandy. until their shorts started to fall down.

Back in the day, boxers punched each other in front of some dandy until their shorts started to fall down.

for pictures of boxing judges. I found this picture and decided to not say anything more on the subject.

I don’t get boxing. Don’t know why anyone would sign up to get hit in the head over and over. Don’t know why there is both formal wear and near nudity in such proximity.
 I also don’t know why, in the old days, it was tradition to put a hat on a bearded monkey and bring him to a boxing match. It is in the picture though, so it must be the truth.
5 Comments on “On Boxing.”

  1. queensgirl says:

    I too have never understood how two people punching each other is a sport.

  2. queensgirl says:

    Oh, and I think the bow-tie makes the expression even funnier.

  3. Keli says:

    I am so glad you have a picture, otherwise I never would have believed the bearded monkey in a hat tradition.
    Everything I know about boxing, I learned from watching “Rocky”…every one of them. What I know is, that Rocky (or anyone sporting that name) always wins or comes damn close to winning. Also, the history behind the bowtie is, it’s worn so that in no way will said referee be mistaken for one of the boxers. It is a well known fact that only nerds and old James Bonds wear bowties.

  4. omawarisan says:

    I see now! The bow tie is like a don’t punch me signal. That is unusual, because in so many other situations it is the opposite.


So, what's on your mind?

