Hello Kitty and The Virgin Mary. Together at last.

I first wrote and posted this on February 22, 2009. I touched it up a bit, retitled and reposted it for a couple reasons. First, it is just a weird thing that happened. Not many folks had a chance to read about it because no one was reading this blog back then. Second, I’m on vacation and while I did pre-write some new stuff to keep things rolling while I’m gone, I’m also demonstrating some laziness. 

Hello Kitty. Yeah. Hello.

Hello Kitty. Yeah. Hello.

 

Today, in a car parked next to mine, I saw a plush 

The Virgin Mary.

The Virgin Mary.

 

Hello Kitty with a picture of the Virgin Mary sewn onto its chest. 

What the hell is that about? What is the purpose…beyond causing me to wonder about it the rest of the day? 

It was next to a car seat, obviously a little kid plays with it.  Ever wonder where those people who claim to have visions and see the Virgin Mary in their toast come from? Well, I know one of them is riding around in a little car right now with Hello Heavenly Kitty. 

How does this child play with the Hello Heavenly Kitty? Does he cajole his 

Maybe this is what happens if you play with Hello Heavenly Kitty

Maybe this is what happens if you play with Hello Heavenly Kitty

 

friends into playing Hello Kitty over and over again, only to end the game by simulating having a vision of Our Lady of Guadeloupe and falling to the floor babbling in unintelligible languages? 

The poor kid. Is there really enough counseling in the world to recover from a childhood like this? There really should be a license to have a child for this and so many other reasons. 

All this thought of people who have religious visions got me to thinking. If I suddenly achieved some sort of spiritual enlightenment and became a deity, how would I get my point across to people when I decided I had something to say? 

I know, those of you who know me are painfully aware that I have nothing to say. Go with the premise for arguments sake and stop being so hard on me, I try. 

I’d probably want to talk to a few world leaders to get some stuff straightened out.  So I would call them, directly, on their unlisted numbers. Sure, they aren’t going to believe me. That is why I’d be standing outside their door in my robe, or whatever I always get depicted wearing in works of art. 

If I were a deity, I would hope I’d be depicted wearing shorts and a ball cap. I’d like to be comfortable, because I’m sure omnipotence brings its own set of tasks I’m not aware of at this point. 

Anyhow, I’m pretty sure the unannounced phone call/visit strategy would be an attention getter. It would certainly more effective than appearing in the water stain on the living room wall of some doublewide or as part of someone’s sandwich. 

You know, I think I’d still hang onto the spontaneous apparition thing though. I think it would be a good way to drop in on my friends. We’d probably miss each other after I achieved spiritual enlightenment and moved onto another plane (or to the Keys). What better way is there to let them know I’m still thinking of them than appearing in their bowl of Cap’n Crunch once in a while? 

Strangely enough, there was another time I saw the Hello Heavenly Kitty. A few hours later, a friend referenced it in an email. We then discovered what I’d written on another site.  I wrote about that too. I wont repost that, but it is here if you want to see it. 

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

6 Comments on “Hello Kitty and The Virgin Mary. Together at last.”

  1. planetross says:

    I wanted Jesus on my Stretch Armstrong as a kid, but my parents wouldn’t let me.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stretch_Armstrong

    Why did he have to wear a speedo?

  2. Kathi D says:

    This repeat is so very timely, as it is now Hello Kitty’s 30th Anniversary. I am ashamed of knowing that.

    Thanks! Now I have another reason to take some time off from work.

  3. Tony says:

    Hello Kitty full of grace the Lord is with thee, blessed art thou amongst kittens & blessed is the softness of your fur. Holy kitty mother of other kitty’s, purr for us sinners now & at the hour of our death. Amen

    I feel holier about the whole experience now!

  4. Veronica says:

    Actually, it’s Hello Kitty’s 35th Anniversary. I should know, I just bought one of the anniversary necklaces at the Sanrio store in Culver City, CA.

    Shhh. Please don’t tell anyone.

    Your secret is safe with me!

  5. alessia says:

    it’s very small hello kitty


So, what's on your mind?

