Sarah Palin, it is time for you to go.

Oh, what a surprise, there are cameras here.

I rarely go much into politics here. I think it has become a shamefully divisive topic in the US, where people hardly ever agree to disagree on an issue when it comes to politics any more. I hope someday soon that we remember that there is such a thing as common ground.

I’m going to make an exception here and discuss a political figure. Sarah Palin. Ma’am, it is time to say what happened, and then go away.

None of the questions that arise about you or your thoughts are ever valid. Your detractors are just out to get you. Mistakes are not part of your make up. It is always someone else’s fault.

Today the news is that you were spotted on the beach in Hawaii wearing a Mc Cain campaign visor with the logo blacked out with a marker. Your explanation? You were trying to be incognito while on vacation.

Whose fault is it that people were struck by your choice of headgear? It is their own fault. “I am so sorry if people took this silly incident the wrong way.”

Ma’am, just say what happened. You are either cheap, stupid or you are vindictive. Actually, a combination of the three are a strong possibility as well.

Let’s discuss your incognito claim as it relates to wardrobe selection. We’ll pick a well-known person, lets say Derek Jeter from the New York Yankees. I would imagine that when Mr. Jeter wants to fly under the radar, he chooses his headgear wisely. People are used to seeing him in a Yankee hat. If he were sitting on a beach and someone thought he looked a lot like Derek Jeter, seeing him in a Yankee cap might actually embolden them to be certain it is him – that is the familiar image of him. I’m thinking outside the box here, but even if he took a Sharpie to the hat, it might not lessen that effect.

Come back Frank Robinson.

You know what would be a good idea in your case? Not wearing anything related to politics. As much as I hate the Yankees, I’d still sat one of their caps or visors might be appropriate for you. You don’t want to wear anything that represents a baseball team? That is fine, maybe you could pick a ball cap from my beloved Baltimore Orioles. They haven’t had a baseball team since 1983.

Ma’am, the not cheap thing to do would be to send a lackey to the hotel gift shop and have them buy you a visor that says Hawaii on it.

Ma’am, the smart thing to have done would have been to admit that you, like all of us are capable of being petty. Assigning blame to everyone else for how they viewed your visor – not a good idea.

Ma’am, the right thing to do is to say what happened, and please go away.

15 Comments on “Sarah Palin, it is time for you to go.”

  1. ReaganTMan says:

    It is completely assinine that people actually think Sarah Palin was going out of her way to get attention over the visor. Consider that 5 papperazi had to be chased away from her hotel and that whoever took those pictures had to be perservent enough to finally get long distance telephoto shots, particularly the one with the visor which had to be blown up to show what they wanted to show and Sarah Palin is intentionally trying to get attention?

    After dozens of book tour stops, dozens of interviews with the media, dozens of Facebook page notes and tweets, a WAPO op-ed and an appearance on Conan and all you got on her is a stupid visor? C’mon!

  2. Jerry Silver says:

    You are a petty person. Don’t you have something more important to comment on. What a small person.

    • omawarisan says:

      I am petty, yes. You’ve injured me sir. I’m not sure how I’ll go on without your approval.

      You are right, I do have more important things to comment on. Once I wrote about Chupacabra. Another time I wrote about the Love Child of Pippi Longstocking and Carrot Top. Oh man, and one time I wrote about shopping for a fridge.

  3. Kathi D says:

    Oh, that poor girl. So misunderstood.

    Perhaps it would help if she learned proper English.

    Naaah, she would still keep lying, you betcha!

  4. linlah says:

    What? Those Hawaii visors must be really expensive.

  5. omawarisan says:

    Kathi, it is your fault that you think she is lying.

    Linlah, you’re right, maybe if the lackey left early and went to a gift shop outside the hotel it would be more economical.

    You know, I initially thought Jerry was upset because I dismissed Ms. Palin. It may be that he is upset that I was so dismissive of my Baltimore Orioles. Either way, I am small.

  6. Kate says:

    Oh, man. If this were a post on “Shouts from the Abyss,” we’d already have 763 obnoxious comments from Elric66.

    Yeah, I said it.

  7. queensgirl says:

    Hey, she doesn’t even have to tell the truth. She and her “there’s plenty of room for all of Alaska’s animals–right next to the mashed potatoes” comments can just go.

  8. planetross says:

    Some people who leave comments on topics that they find really important must not get that some people write blogs about topics that they find aren’t really important.

  9. Keli says:

    I’m afraid it’s highly possible no one truly understands Sarah but me. I distinctly recall Sarah being miffed and confused for donning designers like Versace and Valentino during the campaign while Mrs. O (not to be confused with the Mrs. O of the Omawarisan administration)wore economical threads from J Crew. It seems Sarah believed the Republican party would pay so she went all out. I believe Sarah has been seeking therapy for fashion distress and misdress, as in this case.

    • omawarisan says:

      I see. So if I’m understanding you right, she is saying “Oh, you’re not going to pay for me to wear designer clothes, John? How about if I pay for you to wear some Sharpie?”

      I think I agree.


So, what's on your mind?

