I remember the Alamo, but I don’t remember it like that.

Every destination has an iconic structure that apparently is required by law to be a part of any promotional material for that place.

If you’re going to Paris, your information will have a depiction of the Eiffel Tower somewhere on it. Heading to DC? Of course, you can expect to see the Capitol Building in the advertising. Sydney? The Opera House.

How about San Antonio? It has to be the Alamo.

As it happens, I am going to San Antonio in the spring. I’ll be attending a conference on behalf of my employer. The promotional material had a lot of pictures including one of the official hotel, some shots of the famed River Walk and of course the Alamo. Here is an Alamo photo similar to the one in the conference material:

It doesn't have a basement, it apparently does have a neon sign.

Wait a minute. An iconic landmark, revered in Texas and US history; a must see tourist destination; the place where Pee-Wee went looking for his bike, visually diminished by the neon sign of an adjacent hotel?

This has obviously been the case for years. I’m not the first one to notice it. I’m just stunned it could happen. I’m probably not the first to think that. Maybe someone who knows the story can fill me in?

So I guess I’ll be on the River Walk a lot.

Ten seconds of Pee Wee.

10 Comments on “I remember the Alamo, but I don’t remember it like that.”

  1. frigginloon says:

    At least there is no golden arches 😦

  2. planetross says:

    Peewee is coming back! …ha ha! … no seriously.

    It should at least be a Taco Bell in the background.

  3. Kate says:

    Somehow historic places never look in person the way they do in pictures, sometimes for better, sometimes for worse.

    In honor of Pee-wee, I’m screaming real loud right now! πŸ™‚

  4. shoutabyss says:

    Crockett Hotel? Hmm. That reminds me of a song about Davy Crockett that is not very politically correct.

    Here’s a link to the tune in case you forgot how it goes.

    (Sung to the chorus)

    Davy, Davy Crockett
    King of the wild frontier
    Davy, Davy Crockett
    Nobody knew he was queer

  5. Kathi D says:

    What the world needs now (and always) is More PeeWee.


So, what's on your mind?

