Hot Dish. Oma. Oh my God.

Yesterday I checked in on the administrative page of this blog. For those of you who don’t have the addiction of doing one of sites, the software and companies involved usually provide a lot of stats and information to blog owners. One of the pieces of information available to me on this blog is how people find their way to the blog.

Yesterday, one of the referrals came from a search engine. The internet address was long and was thus abreviated. I put my cursor over it and could then see that the person had searched for nude pictures of Oma.

This struck me funny. I knew that I had people who read my foolishness on a regular basis. I knew that some people had shortened the name I write under, Omawarisan, to Oma in email exchanges and comments on the blog. What I didn’t know is why anyone would want nude photos of me.

The other thing I didn’t know was that apparently some people call their grandmother Oma. I guess it is a German and midwestern US thing. I didn’t get the memo on that. I also found out this week that there is something in the midwest called Hot Dish. Hot Dish is a casserole kind of thing.

Hot Dish

Grandma

Apparently some people think that their grandma is a hot dish, the non casserole kind of hot dish. When I clicked on the link to figure out what the whole unclothed Oma search thing was about, I learned that they apparently had been searching for pictures of grandmothers.

I know there are a lot of really odd people in the world. I know there are people who have stumbled onto this blog while searching for nude pictures of Flo, The Progressive Insurance Woman, and Erin E-surance (I don’t have any, thanks for asking.). Now I know there is a new level of odd in the world that I never knew of.

Just for the record, I am fully dressed as I write this. I’m even wearing shoes. I’m not anyone’s grandmother, I don’t have that kind of plumbing. Omawarisan and your Oma are two different people. Some people could be both an Omawarisan and an Oma. I’m not one of those people.

Hot Dish. Oma. Do you people have any other surprises hidden in your parkas?

I’m glad to know no one was searching for pictures of me without clothes. I am kind of freaked out that they were looking for the other kind of Oma that way.

If any of you from the midwest have any other terms I need to know about, I’d appreciate you letting me know now. Oma and Hot Dish have proven disturbing to me and I don’t want any more surprises.

17 Comments on “Hot Dish. Oma. Oh my God.”

  1. Oh, that’s so nasty! The whole Oma, the grandma, being a hot dish. Ewwwww!

    I grew up in the Upper Midwest and I’ve heard the term Oma used on numerous occasions, but never in reference to the grandma being hot. Well, actually my friend’s gramps did make a comment about his own wife one time that I definitely did not need to hear; though, I’d have to say that’s not the same as browsing the Internet for nude photos of Oma.

    I’ve heard of people after MILFs, but GILFs? Yikes!

  2. jammer5 says:

    So, tell us: did you find nekid pictures of yerself on the web? Degenerate minds want to know (Not that we want to see them 🙂 )

  3. Amy says:

    Excuse me. I’m going to poke out my mind’s eye now. . .

  4. linlah says:

    I love search word stats, they are an endless source of entertainment.

  5. KathiD says:

    I will now poke my eyes out with a salad fork. Thank you.

  6. omawarisan says:

    No eye poking…we need to be able to see these people coming! If they can think that way about Grandma, no one is safe.

    Naked pictures of me? No, never.
    The wind just blew my top open, honest.

  7. queensgirl says:

    Is it possible that there’s some celebrity named Oma that none of us have ever heard of?

    Signed,
    Trying to find a way to make this less disturbing

  8. Your doesn’t tell who’s doing the searching, does it? Not that I care, mind you. I’m just curious. Because that would be an invasion of my privacy if it did. I mean, your readers’ privacy. Yes, I mean your readers’ privacy.

  9. I meant: Your software doesn’t tell you….

  10. omawarisan says:

    QG – I want to believe that. I’m just terrified of the search results I’d have to go through to find that person.

    No Mike. Theoretically, I would never tell anyone if your privacy were invaded in that way, which it wasn’t when/if you did search for pictures of Grandma. It is important to note that by Grandma, I mean a casserole.

  11. Kate says:

    So, do you think they were looking for nude pictures of you? Or their grandma?

    I first heard about hot dishes about a year ago via some celebrity whose name I no longer remember. It seems to be popular in Minnesota … I don’t hear too much about hot dishes here in Illinois. Although I could use a hot dish or nine right about now. Brrr!

  12. omawarisan says:

    Kate, in the end, I’m pretty sure it was grandma. I feel personally safer, but not at all reassured by that.

  13. planetross says:

    Sometimes people finding you isn’t a good thing … sometimes.

    Apart from images that weren’t mine that I liberated from the web back in 2008, the biggest hit/comment getter has been “Cheese Makes Me Sweat” … which it does … and I guess I should start a cult or something now: http://planetross.wordpress.com/2008/03/31/cheese-makes-me-sweat/

    I’m #3 on google and #2 on bing for that gem.

  14. hannah78 says:

    Some people of Dutch descent also call their gradmothers Oma. So look out for more weirdos! LOL

    P.S. How do you find out the search items that bring people to your blog?

  15. frigginloon says:

    Naked photos of Oma, hmmm maybe worth a lookie 🙂 But I warn you if I get naked grannies I wont be happy.

  16. tsanda says:

    I’d be flattered if people were looking for nude pictures of me. Those grandmas betters stop stealing my thunder.

  17. omawarisan says:

    Hanna,I’ll shoot you a note on that. Yeha..i figured this one will draw more.

    Loon, You’ll have to go waaaaaaay back in the search results to find them. I was in college, I needed the money.

    TS…You always have to watch the grandmas, just not that carefully


So, what's on your mind?

