One year

As of today, I’ve been at this blog thing for a year.

My first post was about the Omawari-son, his music, and us both realizing college is coming. It is a year closer now. Ouch.

When I started, I saw that a lot of bloggers noted the one year milestone in a post. I decided I was not going to do that. Obviously there has been a change of heart.

I figure this is a good opportunity to thank all of you who read this silliness. I enjoy all the comments and emails. Please keep those coming, it is interesting to get your thoughts on what pops up in my mind. I had no idea I’d enjoy doing this so much.

Here are a few things I’ve learned over the course of my year here.

  • The post blending a biblical figure and an iconic cartoon cat is, by far, the most popular thing I’ve written. There is a metaphysical lesson there, but I don’t know what it is.
  • I am disturbed by the number of people who find this blog while searching for nude pictures of Erin Esurance, Flo from Progressive and either their grandmother or me. Welcome to each of you. Please seek help.
  • Some guy named Jerry Silver thinks I’m petty and a small person. I cry myself to sleep every night thinking about that.

There are also a few things that people have asked on email that I’ll go on and address here:

  • What is Omawarisan? Omawarisan is a Japanese term for my occupation. While I make it a point at work and in my daily life to be very much unlike what you’d expect from someone in my occupation and though my job doesn’t define me, it just seemed like an easy name to use.
  • The robot icon. What is that about? The robot’s name is Gigantor. Gigantor is a Japanese cartoon (again with the Japanese! Maybe I should convert) I used to watch when I was little…a long time ago. There is more to the choice of Gigantor, but I’m going to hold that for now.
  • Where are you from, where did you go to school, yadda yadda? First, I don’t know if you can yadda yadda a question. I grew up in the Washington D.C. area; I will always consider that my home. I graduated from Oxon Hill High School and the University of Maryland

Anyhow, the blog goes on from here. I urge you all to hit the Blogs You Should Be Reading page and enjoy the work of the folks whose sites are there. I update it fairly regularly because I’m conscious that there are people and sites I forget and need to get up there.

Thanks again everyone,

O.

20 Comments on “One year”

  1. KathiD says:

    Happy anniversary. You done good. Real good.

    I don’t know the Japanese word for lawyer, but my husband makes it a point not to act like one in his everyday life also. Once, he spent most of the night in the emergency room with me and a cardiologist, before I was admitted to the hospital (turned out OK in the end). A couple of days later, he picked me up, delivered me home, and went to work. The cardiologist, who we had never met before, was in the conference room with one of his partners. (No, not for malpractice, he was estate planning.) They were both surprised. The doctor said, “I didn’t know you were a lawyer! Most lawyers are real assholes in the ER.”

    • omawarisan says:

      Thank you ma’am!!Glad the cardiologist thing went well!

      I kind of hate that people get those stereotypes, but I guess I get why.Dealing with it has kind of become a game with me at parties.

  2. Congratulations!

    The first year anniversary is interesting. I’ve noticed many people crashing after a year, and read that most blogs die at that time. And I thought – not mine. But after the anniversary, I’ve seen a change in my motivation and interest, and now I struggle with why I am blogging. It’s like the honeymoon is over and I have to decide if I want to stay in the relationship and why.

    I’m hanging in until I figure it out.

    • omawarisan says:

      I think the hard part, at least for me, is getting past the thought that I have to find something to write about. Once I do, ideas come and it is easy and fun again.

      You’re right though, there are so many that don’t make it a year or are fading at that point and sink shortly afterward.

  3. AmyDoodle says:

    I didn’t do a one year post or two year post. But I don’t send thank you notes either, so I’m already a renegade. I save special blogs like that for extraordinary occasions such as scoring the last cookie in the house or taking part in a conversation about the meaning of life with my teenaged son, neither of which has happened. (But I’m holding out hope for the chocolate chips.)

    I’m glad I found your blog. Most people can’t make me laugh out loud, but I enjoy laughing at you. Hope I can return the favor.

  4. linlah says:

    Happy #1, not everyone gets there as gracefully as you. I really enjoy your posts.

  5. Keli says:

    I hope you’re sitting down when you read this comment. I used to watch “Gigantor” too and now I’ve got the theme song going round and round in my head. Especially the part where the name is drawn out in song. Apparently, the tune was either quite catchy or I fell into a sort of hypnotic trance at the mere mention of the name in this post and the song forced its way into my head. We’ll never know fo’ sho (as the youths I surround myself with always say).

  6. omawarisan says:

    Ha! Yeah, that song was a little repetitive, wasn’t it? I went and found it and went into some sort of seizure.

  7. queensgirl says:

    Congratulations, Oma!

  8. frigginloon says:

    Congratulations OMA.I use to watch Gigantor when I was a kid, along with Marine Boy…sad 🙂

  9. Pie says:

    I’d never heard of Gigantor until today so thanks for putting the theme tune here. I also used to watch Marine Boy when I was but a wee one a long time ago. Congrats on making it to the first year. I’ll let you know when I get to my first.

    Oh, by the way, I changed my email address recently, so just let me in Mr Moderator and I’ll comment forever more. Thanks.

    • omawarisan says:

      I couldn’t figure out what happened when I saw you were in for approval. I went with the whole approval thing since you were a Marine Boy fan.

      The Gigantor song is kind of catchy isn’t it? Bigger than big, stronger than strong… you just dont get lyrics like that anymore.

  10. Kate says:

    Happy anniversary!

    So, do you speak Japanese? Take lessons or anything?

    BTW, you’ve made me slightly less afraid of cops. Baby steps. 🙂

  11. planetross says:

    I didn’t know what your monicker was … and I live in Japan!
    Your are a “keisatsu”: that’s what I use.

    Happy Blogoversary!!!!

    Some come and some go, but I think you will be here for a while longer.

    I know things.

  12. planetross says:

    “Your” = “You’re” tonight for some reason.


So, what's on your mind?

