Snow. Kidneys. Flu. Soup. Bag of poop. Airdrop!

Sometimes I do things that are the right thing to do, even though I can’t really do much.

 

Kidney

Kidney. I’ve got an extra. (Photo credit: Joshua Schwimmer)

 

With the weekend blizzard in the DC area I called two of my friends in the area to check on how they were doing. Now these are people who I’d do anything for. They’re on the list of people I would give a kidney. Actually, they’re on the list of people I’d give a kidney, even if they weren’t sick. If one of them just thought it would be cool to have a third kidney, they get it. 

 

As the phone was ringing I had in mind to ask if they had power, food, etc. Then I had a thought. What am I going to do about it if they don’t have those things? My buddy answered the phone and I just went on and admitted that I wanted to know but I wasn’t going to be able to do a thing to help. As of the call, they had everything they needed. Good, that took some pressure off me.

 

Manners and concern drive me to do things like making that kind of call knowing there isn’t a thing I can do.

 

If one of the people I supervise calls in sick for a couple of days with the flu I will always ask if they’re ok and if they need anything. Now the truth is, these people’s homes live in an area spanning several counties. It would be a huge pain in the butt if they said, “you know, I’m out of chicken soup”.

 

If anyone took me up on my offer I’d be driving for an hour, and that doesn’t even count the soup acquisition process. Then there is the getting it to them. They don’t want to hang out and talk while they’re all flu ridden. I’m not into sitting around watching them stare listlessly at a game show while they eat soup.

 

Lego flaming bag of poop

 

I think my solution if any sick people need something from me is to put it at their front door, ring their door bell and run like I just set a flaming bag of dog poop on their porch.

 

That’s it!  The whole key to this issue for me is the delivery system.

 

Yes, the delivery system! I want to help. I want my friends to be comfortable and have what they need. It isn’t that I don’t want to help. I wouldn’t offer if I didn’t mean it. What I need is a way to deliver that help, quickly, over a long distance.

 

Soup’s on.

 

I need my own air force. Nothing ostentatious. Maybe a plane with one of those back doors I could shove stuff out of. Oh, and a helicopter I could lower something from in a basket. I’m pretty sure soup kind of spills when it falls out of a plane.

 

I’m so good at offering to do the right thing. Execution is a problem.

 

Experienced pilots wanted.

 

12 Comments on “Snow. Kidneys. Flu. Soup. Bag of poop. Airdrop!”

  1. Margie says:

    Love the lego pic. It’s really good to know that the world is right because omawarisan has not changed a bit – not even from his DC days.

    p/s: keep your kidney!

    • omawarisan says:

      I don’t know, based on what I’ve seen on Facebook, I have a hell of a lot less hair.

      Ladies and Gents, please welcome Margie – Sommelier, Californian, retired pizza shop worker, new blogger and member of the kidney list since our high school days oh…five or six years ago.
      Her blog is at:

      http://allwinethings.com/blog/

      It is all about, y’know, wine.

      • Karen says:

        I don’t know…it looks like Margie might need to be on the liver list. I think I have a hangover just from looking at that blog. I’m just sayin’.

        Hi Margie — when my daughter was little, she wanted to be a pizza shop worker …or a nurse/astronaut. She is neither. I have no idea what any of this means. I am snow delirious.

  2. spencercourt says:

    I know what you mean.

    My “solution” is to inquire without asking if they need anything. Most folks just appreciate the inquiry.

    Now, if the response suggests they do need something and they’re on the “kidney list” and they live in the county, and if I can in fact help out, then I offer.

    I’m way too logical…. I should think BIG like you!

    • omawarisan says:

      No, I don’t recommend thinking like me, then both os us would be in trouble all the time. In this case, maybe you should. The big door airplane can’t be overrated. When you aren’t flying bowls of soup to people, you can drive a car inside and fly it to somewhere for vacation. You’ll even have space to bring any friends along who do not have the flu.

  3. queensgirl says:

    It’s too bad you don’t watch LOST, because then when I made a reference to the food and supply drops the Dharma Initiative made, you’d know what I was referring to.

    • omawarisan says:

      But in general, I am in favor of the concepts of food and supply drops, Dharma, and initiative.

      Like facebook, I am a late adopter on Lost. Now that it is ending, I guess I should start.

  4. Johnny says:

    I could really use some chicken soup up here on Lawng Eye-lind! But what I REALLY want is a Lego bag of flaming dog poop – now THAT’s da bomb!

  5. KathiD says:

    I don’t think you really need an airplane. All you need are minions. I could lend you a few of mine.

    In exchange for a kidney.

  6. […] **I stole  borrowed the kidney list idea from another blog. Check out Omawarisan’s masterpiece  here: https://blurts.wordpress.com/2010/02/07/snow-kidneys-flu-soup-bag-of-poop-airdrop/ […]


So, what's on your mind?

