It is happening.

I think they liked the drive too.

We’re waking up in Raleigh this morning. Andy and Barney just called it “The Capitol”. I call it far enough away to make a lousy road trip. Andy and Barney were more concise and poetic.

Today is the Omawari-son’s first orientation session with the College of Natural Resources at North Carolina State University. We aren’t just talking about it anymore. They accepted him during the early admission period.

What the heck just happened? Last week I wrote a check to the day care while I picked up a chubby blond boy with an untied shoe. Last night we drove across the state so we’d be on time for orientation first thing in the morning. He worked on calculus homework in the back seat. His shoes were tied.

The day care play in which he portrayed Kicky Kangaroo (“I am Kicky Kangaroo. I have a Key and a Kite”) is over. The elementary school chorus concerts are too. Goodbye little marching band in blue, hello giant marching band in red.

We’ve prepared for this. Everything has gone just as we all hoped. The last step is me figuring out how I do this.

You know what is not smart? Going to a rival school of your father's university.

He’ll graduate in June, we’ll move him into a dorm in August.

He’ll come home for visits from school with longer hair and a scraggly beard. I will, for the first time in 18 years, keep my mouth shut about such things because I’ll be glad to see him.

All the friends and  names that I know will all be replaced by names I probably wont have faces for. I will not know these people’s parents. Eventually I’ll have a face for one of them when he brings her around. She’ll be nervous meeting the old man, but the truth is, I already approve.

It is a thrilling trip we’re on today. I just figured out we left for Raleigh eighteen years ago. It only feels like it just started when we got in the car yesterday afternoon.

The trip will continue. He will just be making a few stops on his own.

How did my parents do this without cell phones and the internet?

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

19 Comments on “It is happening.”

  1. Betty says:

    I congratulate you and your family on the milestone. Your parting though about cellphones and internet spurs some thoughts. I’ve often said to friends, “thank goodness they didn’t have cell phones back in the day.” And I stand by that for more than the obvious reasons. I think that without the electronic umbilical cord, we might just have been better prepared to deal with the unexpected and it made us more accountable, resourceful adults.

    • omawarisan says:

      It is a big milestone, and we’re really happy. He looked really confident and comfortable. It is time…he is ready!

      Good point on the umbilical cord. There was a lot I handled because I had no option. The folks were 400 miles away.

  2. Kate says:

    Congratulations to you and your son! I know you’re both going to get through this even better on the other side!

  3. KathiD says:

    Even I miss him already!

    There is only one thing to do: Buy a dog.

  4. Pauline says:

    Congrats to your son and I second what KathiD suggested! 🙂

  5. linlah says:

    “we left for Raleigh 18 years ago” – beautifully put because it’s amazing how short times seems when looking back on a childs life.

    • omawarisan says:

      Thanks. It just struck me. You know all along this is the way it is going but still it never sinks in.

      One day you’re buying Batman action figures, the next day, you’re at orientation and they’re asking if they can stay longer and attend the lecture on phytoremediation.

      Like many things, I choes to act like I knew what the hell he was talking about when he came out with that.

  6. queensgirl says:

    I see right through your nefarious plan, mister– first, you disarm us by making us laugh, then, when our guards are down, you spring THIS on us. Yeah. Don’t think I didn’t notice. And, um, do you happen to have a tissue?

  7. tsanda says:

    a terrapin huh? you don’t strike me as a turtle.

  8. spencercourt says:

    So what kind(s) of degree(s) will be available from Natural Resources?

    I worked for the Florida environmental agency for 10 years. Administering millions of dollars in grants to local governments for sewer projects. Very expensive. A small town’s (800-900) first sewer plant is costing about $18 million. Mostly funded by state and federal grants.

    • omawarisan says:

      He is planning to get his degree in Environmental Technology. As best I can understand, it is related to testing for, preventing and cleaning up pollution. It is more along the lines of assessing the environmental impact of the sewer plant (or any facility) being built, monitoring its operation to ensure compliance etc.


So, what's on your mind?

