Cover Song of the Month: Bruce Hornsby and Ricky Skaggs, Superfreak

Earlier this month when I posted the video of Don Ho’s cover of the Peter Gabriel song, Shock The Monkey, I got quite a bit of reaction. Some of the reaction was good, others were scarred by their exposure to the song.

I thought about it and realized there is quite a bit of cover music living in my i-Pod that needs to get out into the world. So I decided to add, as a regular feature here on Blurt,  The Cover Song of the Month. Once a month, I’ll post a new song for you to hear, comment on and answer a poll question about.

Some of these songs you may heave heard of it, some of you may not. After listening to them, you might rush right out and buy them, or you may take it as a warning to avoid it for the rest of your life. Either way, it is a public service, right?

The cover song for this first edition of the Cover Song of the Month is the Bruce Hornsby and Ricky Skaggs bluegrass version of the Rick James classic, Super Freak.

Even though the video is a little rough, note the musicianship. Note the traditional “high lonesome” style of bluegrass singing contrasted with James’ lyrics describing time with the Super Freak. I don’t know why they call it high lonesome. I think if you sing like that too much you end up lonesome.

I’ve got the CD, it is actually pretty good, but I’m pretty convinced they tacked this on the end because its just an odd, funny twist.

So, whaddya think? Vote in the poll, say your piece in the comments.

Oh, in case you need it, here is the original:

13 Comments on “Cover Song of the Month: Bruce Hornsby and Ricky Skaggs, Superfreak”

  1. Betty says:

    Oh, dear lord, where do you find this stuff? When I saw the title of your post hit my inbox, my first thought was, “oh, no!” But of course I was intrigued and clicked on the link to read through. Then when I saw the selection, I actually stepped away from my computer in fear. But like a rubbernecker on I-95, I had to take a look. It took a good 30 seconds before I got the feel for the song. Too afraid for what might happen if I listed to the whole thing, I stopped the video. I’m left with one question running through my mind (thankfully not the song running through my mind) and the question is, “why? why would they do that?”

  2. linlah says:

    All of what Betty said times a trazillion but in less than 30 seconds. Can’t wait for future selections.

  3. TanyaKY says:

    When I saw the title, I thought “What the….!!” But like the teenager in a horror movie who hears a strange noise, I just had to take a look. You’re right the musicianship is fantastic. So, I give your selection, a conditional thumbs up! I just can’t listen to bluegrass for than 10 minutes at time.

  4. KathiD says:

    27 seconds. For the record, I love Ricky Skaggs. Well, I think I still do. After I clear my head of that. I also love (the late great) Rick James, who was Prince before there was Prince. Who I also love.

    Don’t get the impression I love everybody. I could list a lot I don’t love. But I’ll just say Kenny G for now. Which isn’t fair, because nobody loves Kenny G.

  5. Pauline says:

    I liked it, but then I enjoy some bluegrass music!

    The WORST cover I heard recently was somebody covered James Taylor’s “You’ve got a friend” but changed some of the words and added all these cheesy ones in instead. It made my soul bleed!

    Oh, almost forgot to tell you, got my Lionel Balasco CD. Love that stuff.

  6. Kate says:

    I can’t listen at work right now, but I’m definitely interested in the bluegrass version. I love bluegrass.

    Have you heard the Tupac song “Changes” in which he samples Hornsby’s “The Way It Is”? I love that, too.

    I’m just all about love today! Love, love, lurve!!!

  7. omawarisan says:

    Gotta have the love!. I haven’t, but I’ll have to look it up.

    Hornsby is a really talented guy. People only know the stuff that gets played on the radio, the stuff that doesn’t is almost all better. Probably half of his concerts are improv, people write song titles down, leave them on stage. He grabs them, calls them out to the band and they jam…not his songs, just anything people think of.

  8. Pie says:

    Ah better go pick urp that gitarr bwoy… Yeeeee-haaaah!

    I agree with you on the musicianship. I can appreciate it on that level, but this doesn’t work for me. Funny enough, as someone mentioned Prince on this thread, I was jumping around the room like a loon today listening to ‘Let’s Go Crazy’ from the Purple Rain album. If you can find a random cover for that, I’ll be mighty impressed and probably horrified at the same time.


So, what's on your mind?

