Cookies for breakfast, rage, my bagel and me

A bagel

Image via Wikipedia

As I mentioned in the Banana In Your Pocket post, part of my routine on work mornings is to stop by a particular bagel shop and grab breakfast to go. I like the people who work there as well as the cast of characters who are the other regular customers. Occasionally, the bagel shop is also a source of strange encounters with people.

So There I Was, Minding My Own Business

Recently I was in line to place my order at the bagel shop. A mother and her young son were in front of me. It was pretty early and I was still a little dazed. I was daydreaming a bit when I heard the mother say “why don’t you ask him?”

Now, encounters like this are not unusual for people in my occupation. We wear distinctive uniforms and kids are curious. When little kids have questions I make it a point to get down on a knee and talk about whatever they want. Kids are great and deserve our time.

The boy didn’t want to ask what his mom seemed to want him to and I certainly wasn’t going to press it. She certainly did press it, to the point it really wasn’t fun for her son and kind of made me uncomfortable. I let it go and made my food order.

“That’s All I Have To Say About That.” Learn It, Use It.

After paying, I was filling my drink cup when the mother approached me again. “Thanks for trying to talk with him” she said “I told him to ask you about cookies”. I let her know it was my pleasure to talk to him. She stood there, waiting for me to say more. I hadn’t really planned to. I sort of wish I hadn’t now.

She stood there. I had to say something, though I’m pretty certain I’d already fulfilled my part of the social contract for this informal encounter. I went back to her words – “I told him to ask you about cookies.” I came out with “generally, I’m in favor of cookies.”

Apparently that was not what she was looking for.

The mom flipped out. She got really loud. “I don’t think he should eat cookies for breakfast. What are you thinking?” I was stunned.

I Did Not Help Make Him

I didn’t catch on that I had a vote in the dietary choices made for her son. People don’t usually consult me on such things. In fact, I’ll go so far as to say that the last time I had a say in what a child had to eat it was because I helped make him. I did not help make this little boy.

Heads were turning. I felt embarrassed and a little frustrated. I wasn’t sure I’d really done anything to warrant making a scene over.

Perhaps sensing what I was feeling, a man at a table near where we stood said he felt I hadn’t said anything unreasonable. She ignored him. She stood there glaring at me. Against my better judgment I said “ma’am, it isn’t me that needs to know how you feel about cookies for breakfast. I’ve got a mom to tell me that and I’m really happy with her services.” She stomped back to her seat. I left with my bagel and a thumbs up from the guy who’d interjected his opinion.

So far , I have not heard that she called the bosses to complain. I kind of wish I had not allowed this stuper to get under my skin. I’m better than that. I don’t allow people to talk me into verbally retaliating like that.

Maybe I should have caught her drift. Maybe I could have yes ma’am’ed her a few more times and ended it without embarrassing her like she’d done me. Maybe I might have just said I’m sorry, I didn’t understand the question. Maybe I should have just absorbed the haranguing and moved on.

Maybe I should have gotten back in line and bought the boy a cookie.

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

23 Comments on “Cookies for breakfast, rage, my bagel and me”

  1. Betty says:

    Yes, you should have bought the boy a cookie! And I’m sure the guy would have given you double thumbs up.

    • omawarisan says:

      I’d have gone chocolate chip. The oatmeal cookies didn’t have enough raisins in them to suit my taste, and they don’t sell peanut butter cookies…which I love when they are soft and chewy.

  2. queensgirl says:

    Did the Omawari-son ever get to have cookies for breakfast? 🙂

    • omawarisan says:

      I can’t remember specifically doing it, but I’m sure it happened. Sometimes even little kids need to live it up a little.

      I know I’ve made pancakes for dinner, so I’m sure a rare cookie breakfast wouldn’t be out of the question

  3. Karen says:

    I’ll bet she assumed you’d overheard some cookies-for-breakfast argument whilst you were daydreaming. Still no excuse, and I imagine the poor kid’s in for some sort of authority-induced eating disorder at some point. He’ll see someone in uniform and toss his cookies, so to speak.

    Next time you have chocolate milk for lunch, you might want to look over your shoulder just to make sure she’s not watching. It’d be a shame to wrap up a fine career on allegations of nutritional misconduct.

    I love pancakes for dinner! Not so big on cold pizza for breakfast, but it’s a very funny song. . .http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VFe5zQQXdXg&feature=related .

    • omawarisan says:

      You know…the overheard argument theory is a really good one. Unfortunately, I didn’t hear anything because, in my mind, I was with some friends in the Keys. Honestly, if she at all looked at my face, she’d have known I was not in town.

      I’ll have to pull up the video when I get back home, but cold pizza for breakfast is the best. If they made cold pizza cereal, it would immediately move to number two on my cereal goodness ranking, right behind number one for life, Cap’n Crunch.

  4. KathiD says:

    You should have confiscated the boy.

  5. Counter Culture Clown says:

    I’m pretty sure that’s going on your gravestone:

    Here Lies Oma
    Generally… he was in favor of cookies.

  6. Kate says:

    I have to admit, a lady getting annoyed with you like that when you’re in uniform really surprises me. You and I both know about my fear of certain people in certain uniforms, and I can say with absolute certainty that I would never give you grief about cookies, no matter your feelings toward them. 🙂

    • omawarisan says:

      I was surprised because she got so mad, so fast when I clearly didn’t get what it was she wanted me to communicate. And when I said the offending words about cookies, the boy wasnt even in ear shot.

      Kate, you can say anything you want to me about cookies or anything!

  7. planetross says:

    I like Counter Culture Clown’s epitaph. hee hee!

    I have images of an old Bill Cosby record going through my head about … if chocolate cake is a good breakfast … and him commenting on all the good and bad ingredients. I think eventually he decided it was good.

  8. Margie says:

    I think the oatmeal cookies with plenty of raisins and nuts would be quite healthy. You get protein, anti-oxidants and cholesterol-lowering ingredients all in one!

    BTW, were you packing?

  9. Margie says:

    Job stuff. I like that. My job stuff usually includes a cork screw – which is also likely to be confiscated upon entering a courthouse or airport because it is so dangerous.

  10. Pie says:

    I’m sorry. Did I miss something? When were you appointed the gatekeeper of this poor child’s breakfast habits? Does his mum not have the sense or courage to make the right choices for him? Why was it your fault that you didn’t suggest a breakfast of blueberries and raw shredded carrot? Have we all lost the ability to take some responsibility for ourselves and to an extent, our loved ones? Good grief!

    Personally, I would’ve bought the whole cookie range and shoved them in his little hands, followed by a cold pizza. It would’ve been worth it just to watch her go purple.

  11. omawarisan says:

    I think we both missed it, P! I think you hit the nail on the head. She was reluctant to be the bad guy and tried unsuccessfully to let me have the task. Unfortunately for her, I was atill asleep.

  12. […] Chinese carry out. I cracked open my fortune cookie after dinner, because I’ve been told that eating cookies before a meal is not good.  My fortune read: You will attend an unusual party and meet someone important. Secretary […]

  13. […] don’t often get involved with how other people raise their children. After two hours sitting next to you two on the plane, with the belt fastened low and tight about […]

  14. AiXeLsyD13 says:

    I vote for the cookie purchase.


So, what's on your mind?

