Passing on a blog award.

I was given a Kreativ Blogger award by Pauline at Brightest Blue and Bob at Funny In Shadows. Thanks very much to both of them. It is nice to be thought well of, nicer to be thought well of by people whose work I enjoy. Sorry it has taken me a week to follow through on the award

There are rules to having this award. As best I can tell, no one really knows where the rules or award came from. I tend to follow rules though, especially when they give me something to write about and push people toward blogs I like to read.

So the rules are:

1. You must thank the person who has given you the award.

2. Copy the award logo and place it on your blog.

3. Link the person who has nominated you for the award.

4. Name 7 things about yourself that people might find interesting.

5. Nominate 7 other Kreativ Bloggers.

6. Post links to the 7 blogs you nominate.

7. Leave a comment on each of the blogs to let them know they have been nominated.

Well, here is the award. Suitable for framing. Collect them all!

Seven things about me people might find interesting. Ok, here we go –

My best friends live hundreds of miles away. That kind of stinks, but makes for really joyous reunions every time.

I used to do a lot of scuba diving, including feeding sharks. I wore the chain mail suit a couple times. Twenty five pounds of chain mail makes you swim down really fast. You don’t go back up nearly as quickly.

I am a music junkie. I have nearly 15,000 songs on my i Pod. That isn’t enough. I don’t know what enough is. A used CD shop is a joyous trap for me.

Most things don’t bother me. Except slugs. Slugs creep me out to the point I can’t look at them. Touch one? Forget it.  I can’t explain it.

I grew up in Oxon Hill, Maryland. I haven’t lived there in a long time and my home town has become a fairly rough place. I’m very sentimental about the place though. If I am anywhere near by, I will slip into town by myself and drive around. I live in North Carolina and it has been good to me. Oxon Hill and the Washington D.C. area is home.

I hate fish. I don’t hate them as individuals. I’m sure they are very well intentioned. I just don’t like the way they taste.

On my 40th birthday I went on a trip. One thing I had in mind was to get a tattoo, something small and subtle that no one would ever really see. Then there was a hurricane evacuation. 8 years later, I still haven’t gotten a tattoo. I know an omen when I see it.

The seven blogs I’d recommend

Betty’s Bubble – Betty’s writings on things in her neighborhood and adventures outside of it, like her meeting with her friend Ice-T, are always enjoyable when I see them pop up in my Google Reader.

Corn-Bean – Linlah mixes her views on the world with some really striking photography.

Shutterboo – Different person, different views on the world, different photography. Same result. I dig.

I Think We’re All Bozos On This Bus – Kathi lives in Eden. She can make anything. Any day now she is going to make me a Jeep.

Roger’s Place – Recently, Roger took the unusual step of not blogging for a week. I was there waiting when he got back. Well, not right there. That would be kind of awkward for us both.

The Sunday Blog at Spencer Court – One post a week, and he actually has something to say. I could learn something here.

Pie and Biscuits – “Waxes lyrical in pubs”. My favorite kind of person.

Yes, I know that was eight. I am flouting the rules. While I’m flouting – two blogs I love whenever they get the chance to post are:

Least Likely To Blog – Sometimes she’s pretty likely not to blog, but when she does, I am a fan.

&

Good Grape Juice – I’ve known Margie since Jr. High. She was not a sommelier back then. She is now.

There are a lot of other blogs I’d point you toward reading that I didn’t list here because I think they already got this kreativ-ly spelled award. I don’t know where you’d find links to those blogs in this paragraph, but if you can’t, they are on the Blogs you should read page, because you should read them.

27 Comments on “Passing on a blog award.”

  1. spencercourt says:

    Congratulations on the award!

    I’m humbled (and honored) that you recommended me. Thanks!

    My best friends, my Manila high school alums, also live hundreds of miles away. Most in the U.S. but many are overseas too, including Australia.

    Was that hurricane evacuation in Florida?

    • omawarisan says:

      Oh man, that is an entirely different definition of distant, isn’t it?

      The evacuation was in the Keys…November ’01. The storm never really materialized.

      No problem, I like what you do!

  2. Roger's Place says:

    Oma,

    Kudos to you for your Kreativ award.

    Thank you for nominating my blog for this honor.

    I haven’t the faintest idea how to implement/incorporate it into my blog. Do you have any suggestions?

    • omawarisan says:

      No prob Roger.

      You know, I’m not sure on your question. You make a point of making people aware of the sites you like already.

      • Roger's Place says:

        No wonder you did not understand my question…I didn’t say what I meant to say…

        My question is how to copy the award icon thingie to my blog thingie?…So that I can proudly display my first award.

        I can handle the rest.

        I can probably wade thru the WordPress Help section when it comes back on line.

        Roger

        • omawarisan says:

          Kind of ominous when help is off line, isn’t it? How do they expect you to be Kreativ?

          Anyhow, I right clicked the logo and did copy image location. Then I pasted that in using the usual picture insert thing in the visual editor.

  3. Betty says:

    Oma,

    I, too, am truly honored by the nomination. Thank you. I’m working on my “acceptance/pass along” post this weekend.

  4. Pauline says:

    “My best friends live hundreds of miles away. That kind of stinks, but makes for really joyous reunions every time.”

    Mine also live so far away, but it is nice to catch up with them over the phone or on the odd chance they come and visit.

    I also think it is so cool that you swam with sharks. Do you have any photos of these adventures?

    • omawarisan says:

      I have some videos…I’ll have to find a way to convert them. Being around the sharks was impressive, but doing the feeding created a whole different level of respect for them.

      It is such a treat to have those times with far away friends isn’t it?

  5. sgottahurt says:

    Congrats on the Kreativ Award… How much does it pay? I keed I keed. I know it pays in other ways.

    But really – how much money did you win?

    • omawarisan says:

      Oh it is all about the award in this case. Kreatin is it’s own reward.

      That is ok though, the revenue stream generated by the media juggernaut that is Blurt is more than I can possibly spend. I’m like Richard Pryor in Brewster’s Millions, except for the whole freebasing thing.

  6. Roger's Place says:

    By the way, I have now bookmarked and put all your suggested blogs on my reader. They look good. Thanks for the recommendations.

    Yours Truly, Over and Out.

  7. Counter Culture Clown says:

    *sniff*

    We’re all so “Kreativ”. :\

  8. Karen says:

    Congratulations to you, your honorers and honorees! I don’t have as much time to read as I’d like, but I have popped in on a few of your recommended blogs and I know the honor is well-deserved. Thanks to all of you for the entertaiment. Write on!

  9. Pie says:

    Oma. I’ve been off the radar for a short while and I’m trying to do blog reading and comment catch up at stupid O’clock in the morning.

    Congratulations on your award. You absolutely deserve it. I was stunned as I scrolled down to find I was one of the blogs on your recommended list. I’m truly touched. I’ll do my best to not disappoint.

  10. queensgirl says:

    You are, without a doubt, extremely creative. 🙂

    And thanks so much for mentioning my blog! I will return to posting when I get the new laptop.

  11. linlah says:

    Remember in The Jerk when Steve Martin got the new phonebook and saw his name listed? Yeah theat’s how I feel right now. Thank you for recommending me I am flattered by your description and honored by the award.

  12. shutterboo says:

    Thanks, O! I don’t know how I missed this considering you’re in my reader. But thank you – it’s nice to hear that someone as charming as yourself finds le blog A-OK. 🙂

  13. […] Quick Shout Out To “O” So I’m catching up on my Google Reader – apparently not checking it for a few days leaves for hours of blog-reading fun.  Anywho, I was reading what Omawarisan had to say over at Blurt and I see that he gave me a little nomination for Kreativ Blogger Award. […]


So, what's on your mind?

