Cover Song of the Month (with additional abomination by the Jonas Brothers)

The Cover Song Of The Month this month is “Take On Me”. The original version was by the Norwegian band a-ha and our cover this month is by an American ska band, Reel Big Fish.

When I started to write this, I was going to refer to a-ha as a one hit wonder and a flash in the pan. Apparently that is not true. a-ha is still together, though they will call it a career after this year’s farewell tour. They are the largest selling Norwegian group, ever. EVER!

Anyhow, I’m sure most of you remember “Take On Me”. It had a really distinctive video to promote it. Remember? It’s sort of a animation/video mix. Girl goes into a comic book, there is a guy, a motor cycle race, some dancing, a pipe wrench fight…yadda. Watch it, you’ll remember –

Kind of a cool old pop song. Catchy lyric and instrumental hooks. I’ll admit I liked this song when it came out.

Now let’s move to the cover version by Reel Big Fish. The original Ska bands were part of the origin of reggae music. Ska music evolved through the years and, in the states, got blended in somewhat with punk by bands like Reel Big Fish. I like the RBF version quite a bit. It is energetic, doesn’t take itself too seriously and true enough to the original to be respectful of the largest selling Norwegian group ever. EVER. My friends, I give you Reel Big Fish –

I don’t know why the trombone player is wearing a bee costume. Still, great band, great tune. Not enough bands have horns.

In the course of doing the research for this post, the staff here at Blurt came across something so horrible, inhumane and vile that you may actually be charged with a hate crime against yourself if you click play. Behold, if you dare, the Jonas Brothers version of Take On Me.

Have you ever heard anything worse than that ever in your life? Me neither. I think we can all agree there is a definite lack of talent there. They the worst, ever. EVER. Even in Norway. I have arranged counseling for the Blurt staff member who discovered that video. I recommend you do the same for yourself and anyone else that you exposed to this horror.

So it is time to vote and say your piece on the Cover Song Of The Month. The Jonas Brothers crime against humanity will not be part of the poll. Please feel free to express your feelings in the comments.

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

23 Comments on “Cover Song of the Month (with additional abomination by the Jonas Brothers)”

  1. spencercourt says:

    While I’m a Ska fan, Big Fish’s version of a great song is a crime against music! Of course, these white guys may not have the “soul” for Ska…the way, say, the The Specials do.

    As for one hit wonders, MTV did a show on the top 100 one hit wonders, and I liked many of them. One of my favorites is Walking on Sunshine (Katrina and the Waves).

    • omawarisan says:

      Ahh…the Specials!

      Totally different take on ska – none of their stuff is published in the States except in itunes, but I’ve gotten hooked on Tokyo Ska Paradise Orchestra. They drift a little in the jazz direction sometimes and I have no idea what they’re singing about but I love them.

      • spencercourt says:

        > Specials …none of their stuff is published in
        > the States

        Maybe not now, but way back it was. I have a CD of theirs called “Singles Collection” from 1991. Chrysalis label.

        And if it not available here, then I’d have no problem ripping it for you since they’re not losing a sale. Let me know….

  2. linlah says:

    Counseling services should be offered for all three versions but I do like bees.

  3. Pie says:

    The Specials is one of my favourite bands. I was lucky enough to see them at the Hammersmith Apollo last November. I stank of beer because it was thrown all over the place and I was flung around by big geezers who were slamming into each other – it was a top night out!

    I remember the A-ha video when it first came out. It was ground breaking then and it still stands up today. I also happen to think they created one of the best bond theme songs. I never tire of hearing it.

    I LOVED the Reel big fish version. Such exuberance. I had a big smile on my face from start to finish. I’d go to one of their gigs if all the music is like that for sure.

    That Jonas Brothers version was worse for knowing it was a studio version. Do you think the sound engineers were having a laugh and didn’t clean it up at the editing stage?

    • omawarisan says:

      Its good to know great bands like The Specials are still out there.

      Reel Big Fish is one of those bands that slips into town when I’m booked to be elsewhere. I’m going to have to sneak up on them.

      Jonas’ – There are some things apparently even engineers can’t fix!

  4. cynicaldater says:

    OMG, that version by the Jonas Brothers is…there are no words.
    Other than that, thank you for bringing back one of my favorite songs…EVER! And it is truly my favorite video of all time. I remember watching MTV when I was young, just wishing and hoping that they would play that video, which they never did, really – the only video they played religiously in those days was “Paradise City” by Guns & Roses…far cry from A-ha, I’d say.
    I’m going to watch the video again. Fantastic.

    • omawarisan says:

      And they’re selling that crap!!

      Paradise City…that has to be one of the longest songs in history, or maybe it just seems so.

      MTV was about music, wasn’t it?

      Welcome to the blog!

  5. Betty says:

    hooooollly crraaaaappp omaaaaa! i really loved the rbf version, but the jonas bros SUUUCKKEDDDD,

  6. Pauline says:

    Oh no! Those Jonas Bros brats have bastardized one of my favorite 80s songs growing up!

    But I guess its not surprising, since its “cool” for kids nowadays to pretend that they live in the 80s and not the year 2010.

    • omawarisan says:

      There apparently is a limit to how far back their wayback machine goes though. My son had no interest in replicating my powder blue prom tux this year. Kids, go figure.

  7. Lucky Eye says:

    Most girls LOVE the Jonas Brothers.

    Me?

    They are the most annoying thing on this earth since my sister.

  8. xacrest says:

    The bee suit is adorable and scary at the same time. I like the RBF cover though 🙂 The idea of the Jonas bros in bee suits gives me nightmares.

  9. We Found Him Captain! says:

    To Bee or not to Bee……..That is the a question…… I liked “Take on Me” by The Reel Big Fish!! Is there a band known as “The Bach-a-La’s?

    We are getting ready to head out to Baltimore now. We have our I-pads and notebook computer with us. We will try to stay in touch. If I see a bee costume in my size while on this trip I’ll buy it. I want one with a stinger on the seat.


So, what's on your mind?

