How low can you go, do you have to go?

So, in addition to the B flat trombone, and the trombone with the F trigger, our house now has a Tuba.

Our place is kind of tiny. Working for the city keeps the checks coming in, but the checks aren’t ever going to get us into a McMansion.

I thought the tiny place shook when he played his trombones. Now the tuba rumbles the rafters after 45 minutes of trombone. It is so loud and low that a whale once called our house to ask him what he was trying to say. If we ever did get that McMansion, he’d rattle that place like a pup tent.

I could drown it all out. My iPod and some sound isolating earphones would make it go away, but I’d never do that.

He doesn’t even know that I sit outside his room and listen to him practice. I can sing his solo on Soul Man, I know his part on The Thunderer March by heart. I know when he gets frustrated he mutters words that he’d never say in front of us…and he starts over.

He is good. He is focused. He gets it right. It matters to him. He gets angry when it doesn’t matter to some of his peers. I don’t know where that comes from, but my wife says she does.

This is gonna look so good on my college application, Dad. I’ll be able to go anywhere I want. Besides, I just like playing.

Damn, college. Its coming and he knows it. The tiny place is getting small to him. It used to be huge.

He and the horns are not gone yet. The house is rocking right now.

But I miss the rumble already.

This was the very first post on Blurt, so not many people ever saw it when it was originally posted. Tomorrow is my son’s high school graduation, so it seemed a good time to bring it out of the vault. I wrote this early in his junior year, before I started the blog.

Today I see how ready he is and it makes me smile.Yes, he does have to go.

The rumble you’ll hear Saturday afternoon is the door to the real world opening.

The world has no idea how lucky it is about to be.

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

23 Comments on “How low can you go, do you have to go?”

  1. Betty says:

    Congratulations to the Omawari-son! (and to you & your wife, as well – you made it!) I needed a tissue after reading this so I can only imagine that you’re going to need to bring a full box to the actual graduation.

  2. Congrats to your son and thanks for sharing. I haven’t read much of your early work, so I’m happy you shared this and the previous post.

    Even when he goes, I’m sure you’ll still hear the music.

  3. wordofabe says:

    Awesome! Love it.

  4. pattypunker says:

    awww, i miss the sounds of my daughter’s viola strings — both the good and the not so polished sounds were music to my ears. i never played an instrument as a child, but i love music soooo much, so it warmed my heart when she became a young musician.

    she leaves for college in august and i worry that the music will be gone from the house. i’m going to miss her HUGE!

    congrats to your son! i’m sure you must be beaming with pride.

  5. Pie says:

    That was lovely, Oma. Thanks for the reprise.

  6. Congratulations to you and your family!

  7. linlah says:

    Love the line about the whales, they should be calling he can go anywhere he wants to, good thing he thinks that because it helps in the real world.

  8. shoutabyss says:

    What a cool idea to dust off that post. You must be very proud! He has that whole real world to explore. What an exciting time!

  9. Kids today. They grow up do fast. I’m sure by this time he’s taken up all the wind instruments and he’s got a 401k.

  10. Kate says:

    Why ya gotta get my heart so mushy at work? This is the place where I’m not supposed to have a heart, remember? *sigh*

  11. Kw says:

    Hi oma
    stumbled onto your blog – the shirt exchange post- from the WP Freshly Pressed page. browsed around and found this post. Just wondering if this is Hopewell Va? Didn’t see a reference in your About section. Just curious b/c i grew up near there. Anyway, enjoying your work, will have to come back to read more.

    • omawarisan says:

      Well thanks for stumbling in! Come by anytime.

      No, this Hopewell is in North Carolina. The school is named for a nearby neighborhood and an old church.


So, what's on your mind?

