“And yea, though the Hindus speak of Karma…”

“O God, ease our suffering in this, our moment of great despair…

The doorknob is incidental to the story. I just wanted a picture with the word escutcheon on it.

Last weekend I had to run to the hardware store to fix something around the house. I seem to do that a lot. This time I had to replace the lock on the front door. Did you know they break? Me neither. So let’s summarize, shall we? Locks break, new locks live at the hardware store, in the big shopping center one exit up the interstate.

As I approached a large department store at the opposite end of the shopping center, an older woman and her mother walked out and stood to cross the street to the parking area. I stopped to let them pass because that is how I roll…or do not roll, as the case may be.

…Yea, admit this kind and decent woman into thy arms of thine heavenly area, up there…

The two women started across in front of my car, and another that was headed in the opposite direction but stopped to let them pass.

I heard the roar of an engine behind me and looked in the rear view mirror. A pick up truck was coming up behind me. I was not picking up on any sort of stopping vibe from the driver. I was right. The pickup veered right, went around me between my fender and the leg of the oldest of the two women who was just then reaching the curb.

I am pretty sure I saw that woman’s life flash before my eyes.

…And Moab, he lay us upon the band of the Canaanites…

I think the woman knew her life flashed before my eyes too. She turned after the truck whistled past and looked at me. I rolled down my window and she asked if I saw that. I said I did, but I didn’t go into it as I was at a particularly trying point in her life’s history at that point.

Maybe she was talking about the truck that flashed past us both and not her life going past my eyes. It is so hard to divine someone’s intent sometimes, isn’t it?

I looked down toward the next major store, a supermarket, where the same truck was repeating the same stunt. It zipped around another car and nearly hitting a gentleman pushing his groceries towards the parking area. I was happy to see several cell phones pop out, trying to get help to get him off the road. I’d had a moment of wondering if what had happened was an unfortunate accident. His repeating it made it clear, this guy was just a jerk.

…and yea, though the Hindus speak of Karma, I implore you: give her a break.”  – Chevy Chase, National Lampoon’s Vacation

Hey Sparky, Karma is more than a cool bumper sticker

When the truck went past me one image of it stuck in my head. The owner of the truck had a sticker on the back window. It was patterned after the Visa credit card logo, but the word Visa had been replaced by the word Karma.

Karma? Really? Clearly this guy had no concept of what Karma is,  that is is not a weapon for him to use against slower moving people or that if Karma was in fact credit based, he was in arrears on his payment and in danger of cancellation.

Hope when the pay off comes he is alone.

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

13 Comments on ““And yea, though the Hindus speak of Karma…””

  1. blackwatertown says:

    Surely this is why bazookas were invented.

  2. How did you make out with the door lock? My experience is that they don’t make them like they used to which means that the new one never fits nicely into the old door.

  3. jammer5 says:

    I heard a certain politician say once he was escutcheonated to be there with such a lovliated group of humanities. I opened my 1957 copy of National Geographic and started reading. Okay, I looked at the pictures.

  4. spencercourt says:

    As we poker players say: he will lose his bet against the law of large numbers.

    Reminds me of the article I read maybe a year ago. A 23 or so FSU grad speeding on the Tampa Bay causeway lost control and went into the bay and drowned in the car. His om said: “he always drove fast.”

    He too lost a bet against the law of large numbers. Folks who are always in a rush will one day realize that whatever they are rushing for was never worth it. But it will be too late.

    • omawarisan says:

      Exactly! I don’t understand people like that. What are they gaining? Where are they going that is worth killing someone over?

      I think some of them convince themselves they have abilities in a car that are beyond what the rest of the world has.

  5. HippieCahier says:

    Finally, a blog that manifests the bumper sticker justaposition of karma and dogma. Man, you’re good.

    It’s 5:30ish on a Saturday of a holiday weekend. My reading glasses (hey, no snickering!) are out of reach. Yet, somehow, I squinted through this because there is no other choice when something starts out with a photo including the word “escutcheon” and progresses to “Karma” in a VISA logo.

    Pulitzer, I’m tellin’ ya. Pulitzer.

    • omawarisan says:

      Dogma, karma…everyone knows I’m all about the various ‘ma’s.

      7:30 on a Saturday of a holiday weekend. Sitting on the back porch answering and thinking very seriously of going inside and playing The Slickee Boys “When I go to the beach” over and over again until people start hitting showers.

      I know this guy named Mike Pulitzer, him?

      Loved the Slickee Boys back then, love them now even though they’re Slickee Middle Aged Dudes.

  6. HippieCahier says:

    I haven’t thought of that song in years and had never seen the video! Thanks for that!! I think I’ll have a Blue Moon for breakfast tomorrow and pretend I’m the beach.

  7. Pie says:

    What a tool.

    Is his life so much more important than everyone else’s that he has to mow people down to get to where he’s going? The law of cause and effect is very strict. Karma is about positive as well as negative causes, but he’s building up a hell of a karmic bank account. He’ll get to use that visa card soon enough, even if you won’t be around to see it. Indeed, I will dare to say that he’s already in misery because no one who’s happy with their lot would behave like that.

    I remember reading this quote somewhere, though I don’t know who said it. I’ll paraphrase it here: it’s better to be late than arrive dead on time. He may want to think about that.


So, what's on your mind?

