Imitate Bill Cosby Day

Not dead.

The word apparently went out on Twitter yesterday that Bill Cosby is dead.

Bill Cosby announced that he is not.

Make Bill More Alive Than Ever Today

I am calling on each of you to imitate Bill Cosby at least once today.

Do not disrespect Bill or insult my intelligence by claiming you don’t do a Bill Cosby. You do. Everyone does. Some do him better than others, but every person on this planet is born with the innate ability to do Cosby.

Spreading a rumor that the man is dead is not cool. Imagine how his friends and family felt. Make it up to them. Just do one sentence in your morning meeting as Bill. Order your lunch and ask for a pudding pop. You can do this.

Do not bother me with arguments that you do not know any of the man’s family or friends. You don’t know that for sure. And what of that person who over hears you when you do your imitation. Do you know that their heart won’t be warmed by your selfless act on behalf of their friend? No.

Report back here when you’re done.

I’m going to get a bagel. I’m going to call the woman behind the counter who takes my order Rudy, even though that isn’t her name.

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

22 Comments on “Imitate Bill Cosby Day”

  1. Pauline says:

    Cosby quote: “I don’t know the key to success, but the key to failure is trying to please everybody.”

    I hate these idiotic false death rumors. It’s like when there was a rumor that Gordon Lightfoot-who I love btw-was dead. Definitely not cool!

  2. Brooke says:

    My favorite Bill Cosby joke:
    It was because of my father that from the ages of seven to fifteen, I thought that my name was Jesus Christ and my brother, Russell, thought that his name was Dammit. “Dammit, will you stop all that noise?” And, “Jesus Christ, sit down!” One day, I’m out playing in the rain, and my father yelled, “Dammit will you get back in here!” I said, “Dad, I’m Jesus Christ!”

  3. Betty says:

    I think of Bill Cosby every time I fly and have an obnoxious kid sitting near me. His routine about the kid, “Jeffrey, Jeffrey, Jeffrey!”

  4. Kate says:

    It’s a little warm to break out my sweater collection. But I’m wearing them in my mind.

  5. Does it count if I listen to some Ray Charles?

  6. jammer5 says:

    How can we be sure Bill ain’t lying?

  7. pattypunker says:

    i told every shister, “look at me when you lie.”

  8. linlah says:

    The man came in here and he jumped on the bed and he broke it.

    How was that? Oh, too young to remember? Too bad.

  9. writerdood says:

    You know, I can’t imitate this guy intentionally, but I’ve encountered so much of him over the years that occasionally I find myself spewing something that I can identify as a “Cosbyism” which makes me stop and think. It’s amazing the influence one crazy dude can inject into a culture.


So, what's on your mind?

