Hey CNN, Good Idea: The Chilean Mine Disaster / Tall Building Graph

CNN

Image via Wikipedia

 

I realize I am not the sharpest knife in the drawer, but sometimes I have an idea that works. 

On August 24, I wrote about the miners being rescued in Chile. Give it a quick look and note the graph. Hmmm…famous tall buildings to give a perspective on how far down in the earth these poor guys are. Pretty snappy idea. 

On August 26, CNN had this story up about the miners being rescued in Chile. Give it a quick look and note the graph. Hmmm…famous tall buildings to give a perspective on how far down in the earth these poor guys are. Pretty snappy idea. 

CNN, I don’t know the salary of the person who produced that snappy idea for you. I do know that I can be snappy, faster, for a lot less.  You should get in touch, soon. 

For what it is worth, I can also compose theme songs to big stories. You know the ones I’m talking about. I don’t actually write music, but I can hum the music to someone who can. My theme song to Hurricane Katrina was better than the one you had. You don’t even have Chilean mine theme music yet and it is a four-month long story. I’ve got one ready. 

Call me. 

25 Comments on “Hey CNN, Good Idea: The Chilean Mine Disaster / Tall Building Graph”

  1. Blond Stranger says:

    I always knew that you were a genius. That is, if there’s a genius category for “people who can come up with graphs of tall buildings to show how deep miners are trapped”. If there’s not a category, I’m creating one..just for you. The CNN guy? Merely a copycat…and apparently a Blurt reader.

    • omawarisan says:

      Faster, cheaper, smarter, snarkier . This could be what I’m looking for on that special day in 3 years.

      Talk to you Monday. I will be establishing my presence (from afar) at your event next weekend.

  2. hippie cahier says:

    I would hire you, if only for the humming.

  3. Betty says:

    Those “tragedy” theme songs always bug me. I’m sure you could do a much better job.

    • omawarisan says:

      I hope to expand the news theme music genre beyond disaster, Betty. I’ve been composing some music over the past few years to have a catalogue of my work ready when CNN calls.

      I’m particularly proud of my non-disaster news theme music on stories like Larry King’s retirement and Britney Spears’ crotch.

  4. spencercourt says:

    Congrats on “scooping” CNN…..! Someone over there probably read your blog and claimed the idea as their own….

  5. jammer5 says:

    Super graphs, music humming that outdoes Lady Gag? Dude, you sure you ain’t Justin Bierber in disguise?

  6. Brooke says:

    I need to hear these theme songs. Now that I know they exist, I need them.

    • omawarisan says:

      The Theme For Britney’s Crotch is loosely based on the old Rick Derringer Song “Rock and Roll Hoochie Koo. It is Hoochie Koo part, as sung by the background singers…but for CNN it is played on Penny Whistle.

      The Larry King Theme is still being mixed.

  7. pattypunker says:

    i need a theme song for my tragic situation as a working girl in corporate america. huge tragedy, i tell ya, huge.

  8. Pie says:

    I need to start watching CNN – it sounds like fun!

    Or do you think I should burn my retinas and empty my brain with Fox News?


So, what's on your mind?

