Cover Song Of The Month: David Bowie’s Space Oddity by Seu Jorge

Space Oddity

Image by thejcgerm via Flickr

David Bowie is a classic. He has put on so many different characters during his decades in music and has given us songs that are a must have in anyone’s music library.

One of the must have songs is Space Oddity. Yes, you do know Space Oddity – “Ground Control To Major Tom…” – you’re with me now, aren’t you? Here’s a video of Bowie performing the song at a concert in Japan.

I had a conversation with someone recently who was of the opinion that it is implied that Major Tom committed suicide in the song. I’d always thought before that talk that Major Tom was the victim of an accident. Either way, he makes a reappearance in Bowie’s song Ashes to Ashes, when Ground Control unexpectedly gets a message from him.

Cover of

Cover via Amazon

The soundtrack of the film The Life Aquatic with Steve Zizzou is essentially an album of Bowie songs covered by Brazilian artist Seu Jorge. If you watch the film Jorge appears periodically as a member of the crew of Zizzou’s ship. As scenes transition he is seen performing Bowie songs in Portuguese, accompanying himself on acoustic guitar.

Space Oddity appears on the i Tunes version of the movie soundtrack album. Here is a link to the mp3 version of the song hosted at The Hype Machine – hit the play this track button when you get there.

Seu George – Space Oddity mp3

A different feel, a different language, but definitely Space Oddity.

So now its up to you, Blurtsters. Time to cast your vote in the poll and have your say in the comments section.

22 Comments on “Cover Song Of The Month: David Bowie’s Space Oddity by Seu Jorge”

  1. I love the “Life Aquatic” soundtrack – I remember after I saw the movie, the first thing I did was get that album.

    Sometimes I listen to it while I’m doing my kegels. Wait, was that too much info? Sorry.

  2. Todd Pack says:

    Great soundtrack, awesome cover, although the link was broken when I tried it.

    Does anybody else remember … rip-off isn’t the right word … homage. We’ll say it’s an homage. Does anybody else remember Peter Schilling’s homage to Space Oddity, Major Tom? Man, I hated that song.

    • omawarisan says:

      Fixed it, thanks for letting me know.

      Yes, I do remember that. As soon as you mentioned the title, my mind started singing “earth below us…”.

      If this is the song that is going to stay in my head all day you’re suspended!

  3. Betty says:

    Zzzzzzzzzzz……….zzzzzzzzzzzzzz…………..zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

  4. I love The Life Aquatic and it doesn’t deny Bowie a full musical appearance as himself when “Life On Mars” plays. But I love all of Seu Jorge’s covers in the film: it just goes with that casual, laidback style.

  5. omawarisan says:

    Life on Mars is such an under rated song. So few people know it and that is too bad.

    I’m heading for work shortly, now I know what I’m going to listen to. It will clear my head of that song Todd reminded me of and I won’t have to suspend him.

    Welcome Scarlett!

  6. pattypunker says:

    i just heard five years on a public radio station the other day and went crazy hearing it after so long. i made a donation pronto.

  7. planetross says:

    Before I checked out the comments, I listened to the Peter Schilling song again. I always like that one: I must have been going through my Nena/Falco German/Austrian singers singing in English phase.

    Hunky Dory is on my imaginary top ten list of all time favourite albums … because if I really had a written list like that … that would be weird.

    • omawarisan says:

      Ahhh, 99 Luftballoons!

      Yeah, if you actually write the list, youve got a lot of distribution and storage problems most folks dont take into account. Do you frame it and put it on the wall?

  8. Katybeth says:

    It takes you back doesn’t it. My husband was in charge of my musical education–and this was certainly on his introduction list…

  9. spencercourt says:

    Egads…this musical atrocity is definitely worthy of a tribunal after Seu Jorge is waterboarded.

    Susan Boyle was prohibited from singing something on American Idol by the song’s owner. I think music owners should exercise their rights more stringently to prevent these kinds of blasphemies….

  10. Betty says:

    Zzzzzzz………..zzzzzzzzzzzz……….zzzzzzzzzz

    • omawarisan says:

      God you’re up early like me. What did you do to deserve that?

      Oh wait, that’s not about being up early is it?

      • Betty says:

        No, the snores weren’t about being up early! The weiner dog woke me up at 5am. The only thing on television at 5am (other than the ShamWow guy) is a Fuse TV show called “All Nighter.” But I guess I’m missing the point of that.

  11. QueenJane says:

    Well, I guess I can understand some of the strong opinions here. David Bowie is an icon and I’m not sure how I would react while listening to a cover in a foreign language, but call it a musical atrocity sounds kinda of xenophobic to me : )

    I think Seu Jorge did a great job bringing some Bossa Nova to Bowie’s songs and they fit so well in the movie. But yeah, opinions… we all have one.


So, what's on your mind?

