A Hand-made Blog Post: My Tribute To Pen & Paper

 

page 1

Page 2

Page 3

Hand-made blog post recipe: pen, 6″x9″ writing pad, digital camera, stream of consciousness first draft rambling.

42 Comments on “A Hand-made Blog Post: My Tribute To Pen & Paper”

  1. Oma:

    You’re killing me! I had to change my view to 150% to read this (and my monitor is too dark, so I still missed words at the edges!). Not bad penmanship, though…

    It’s an interesting concept…I haven’t written longhand (except for school assignments) since I learned to type when I was nine…however, a prolific writer by the name of E. Phillips Oppenheim wrote all of his more than 150 novels by hand…

    Wendy

    • omawarisan says:

      150 novels by hand? God, the cramps!

      Thank you for the compliment on my penmanship. I did the calligraphy for the invitations to my brother’s wedding. As a result, I was the only one there because no one knew when it was.

  2. Horsedonkeymulezebra says:

    Very witty Wilde, very very witty!

    Your Majesty is like a big jam doughnut with creme on top.

  3. Hippie Cahier says:

    I love the clarifying insertion of “by a nun.”

    • omawarisan says:

      none, or nun, but the truth! I’d say thank god I wasn’t one of the left handed kids, but I’m afraid they’d hunt be down and hit me with a yardstick again.

  4. Pauline says:

    Interesting challenge! I might just have to try it! 🙂

    It is sad that nobody writes letters to one another either. Sure email is quicker, but there is something special about taking the time to correspond with someone via paper and pen. 🙂

  5. pattypunker says:

    great technique! i dig.

  6. How did you make sure you hadn’t spelled any words wrong?

  7. Katybeth says:

    Creative. Good use of digital camera, excellent penmanship.
    I should try it–I have all those mole skin notebooks and several excellent pens….excuse me why I consider….Nope, sorry…I am loyal to a fault and just can not forsake my keyboard—which I just cleaned using several q-tips and some rubbing alcohol which I learned how to do over “theycallmejane’s” blog.
    Now, please pass the candy corn.

  8. Kate says:

    I’ve been trying to search for my blog entry where I posted a sample of my handwriting, but dagnabbit — can’t find it. The weirdest (ironic?) part about showing handwriting on your blog is that you have to somehow upload a picture of it to the back end of your blog. You just can’t get away from technology!

    Are you a righty or a lefty? Were the nuns cracking your knuckles because you were a lefty and they wanted you to be a righty? Inquiring minds want to know.

    • omawarisan says:

      Right, you have to go higher tech to go lower tech!

      I’m a righty, but I saw them cracking knuckles to convert the lefties. I think the next step was a saw. Nice ladies.

  9. Melissa says:

    I love it! Though I have a problem writing a paragraph without my hand cramping up. I miss writing with a pen on paper! I do it some, but not near enough. A friend texted me the other night “if I don’t get my laptop charged so I can write my head is going to explode.” I responded with “pen and paper?”.
    great post!

  10. We found him Captain!! says:

    Oma,
    I must say I had trouble reading your writing. It was like trying to read a bowl of alphabet soup only with smaller print. I had someone else read it to me and enjoyed it.
    Before retiring in 89, I drafted all my reports in longhand. Then it went to the typing pool where one of five typists would finalize it. You can imagine these poor women trying to read the handwritten reports of 25 different guys. When we went to dictating consoles, the 5 ladies went out and got drunk in celebration.
    My typist Miss Tutson would have committed Hari-Kari typing your reports………. keep up the good work. Everyone here enjoys your writing……you have some real talent. You could probably make a good living doing it.
    ” Long live the keyboard”.

    • omawarisan says:

      I like to challenge you, but I’m glad your helper pitched in. The next time I do this I’m going to do it backward and right to left.

      I’m going to need to make a living at something. It’s either this or become someone’s butler.

  11. Cool idea! But can I rewrite it after I initially write it? Because I’ll have tons of scratch outs and arrows with additions. It’ll probably be unreadable to anyone but me.

  12. Very interesting but true (as I type this).
    The nun slapping you on the hand explains a lot, I understand that type of education.
    One question….how many times have you given a speech half dressed?

  13. Todd Pack says:

    I print really well, but when I write cursive, it looks like I wrote it while riding in the back of a pickup on a gravel road. It’s just awful.

  14. 36x37 says:

    Part of me agrees with you, Omawarisan. E-mail is great, but wasn’t it better when the mailman would drop by with a stack of hand written letters, and you could spend 10 minutes reading them just to get through all the handwriting? That was nice.

    At the same time, consider this: I was watching Antiques Road Show (don’t ask) a few weeks ago, and some woman was trying to get a price for a typed letter her father had received from his professor, Albert Einstein (!!!). Apparently, her father had disputed a grade, and Einstein was defending it. Value: I don’t remember, but it was a lot.

    You’ve seen Jimi Hendrix’ handwriting?

    • omawarisan says:

      I won’t ask. I get sucked into that show sometimes and I can’t explain it.

      I saw a documentary about Hendrix, there were quite a few letters in it. Oh yeah, and inside a cd cover booklet.

      And he left me a note.

  15. linlah says:

    The story about shopping for the pen would be interesting to me, this time of year all the new pens come out on the market and I’m right there testing them out.

  16. Zahara says:

    Last week in my college reading and composition class, my elderly instructor and I (46) were astounded to learn that many of my classmates (late teens thru twenty-sumthins) never learned cursive, and that teaching it is going the way of the buffalo. Whoa, that is sad! Cursive is beautiful. I will be writing a legible cursive post very soon. Thanks for the inspiration.

    • omawarisan says:

      It is a dying art. I can’t imagine how long it is going to take kids to buy a car or a house and sign their name 20 times. Real estate closings will be twice as long.

  17. Betty says:

    This is great. I take any opportunity I can to put pen to paper. Because it’s done so infrequently, I’ve developed a bit of an obsession with them. I want to enjoy the moments to the greatest extent possible. Therefore, I must use a pen that’s just right (a regular bic stick just won’t do). The paper must be one of those project planning notebooks ruled with “date,” “prepared by,” “project action notes,” etc.

  18. omawarisan says:

    This kind of grew out of that bic stick thing. I just have gotten so picky when I go shopping for pens. I think we lose something as people get farther from actually making their words by hand.

  19. planetross says:

    I’ve done one of these before. I kind of like them … it’s like reading a letter on the computer.

    http://planetross.wordpress.com/2009/09/17/a-peasant-post/

  20. Hippie Cahier says:

    I used to keep a little notebook in my car because ideas (originally for songs, but later for blog posts) would come to me during the long commute and by the time I made it to my desk, they’d be lost.
    Then one day it dawned on me that I could be in an accident and the emergency responders might see it and that might be worse than wearing dirty underwear.

    • omawarisan says:

      I’ve started carrying my notebook in the car at work.

      Don’t worry about the dirty underwear thing. If it comes to that, they just cut it off you anyhow.

      I mean, that’s what I heard. I’ve got nothing to back it up.

      • Hippie Cahier says:

        Good to know, I suppose.

        Someone once pointed out to me that you don’t see the highways lined with the bodies of those rejected by rescuers because of unclean undies.

        I would hate to be the first one left behind because of schmaltzy imagery. Or using words like ‘schmaltzy.’

  21. Creative and hilarious! Thanks for sharing.

    (And isn’t it weird that we live in an age where I can tell someone that writing on paper is creative?)


So, what's on your mind?

