Reading Backward, Part Two: The Radio Show

World map of time zones as of March 2010, on t...

I laugh at time zones (Image via Wikipedia)

Continuing on with my year end wrap up series/excuse for laziness, I bring you a tale that spans time zones. Yes my muchachos and muchachettes, it does not bother me to speak directly into the central time zone.

This look back takes us back several years to my appearance on a radio quiz show. I put this post up back in May, I took it down shortly after it went up. It is back, for a limited time – sort of like the McRib sandwich at McDonald’s, except it isn’t made of mystery meat. Get it while you can.

21 Comments on “Reading Backward, Part Two: The Radio Show”

  1. Katybeth says:

    This was very cool. I love this show. Joe and I use to listen as we drove Cole to soccer games. And who even knew the fascinating facts about you!! I thought you were awesome and you know I am not just saying that to be nice!

  2. pattypunker says:

    i caught it in may. but now i have that “give me back my filet o fish” song stuck in my head. thanks omawarisan!

  3. Jane says:

    Now I understand why you have such a way with words: hostage negotiator–indeed!

  4. Zahara says:

    I knew you were somebody famous-ish. Fun to hear your voice.
    Ok, I’ve been reading a few of your older posts and I wonder if you’ve read any poetry by Billy Collins. I think you’d like him, your humor is kind of like his. I recommend “The Trouble With Poetry” for starters. Also, my local library has CD’s of him reading his poetry, which is great in the car. He was poet laureate of the U.S. in 2003 I think.

  5. We found him Captain!! says:

    I still don’t get it? are you a,ahh, a, a ah ah a Mountie? Were you ever in a stampede?

  6. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    Oh, MY. I laughed, I cried, I danced a jig. I’ve heard your voice now! You’ve sort of … become … less godlike. But no matter! You’re a celebrity! I know a celebrity! I’m famous by proxy! What fun. I don’t think Peter Sagal is anywhere near as funny as you are. And you’ve got a better radio voice, too.

  7. Laura says:

    That was great — but how could you be so cruel as to mention the limerick you wrote and then not actually post it?

    • omawarisan says:

      Ok, here is the text of the message. Until I start a podcast it is the best I can do –

      This is Carl Kassell from NPR answering for (my name) of the (department) Crisis Negotiation Team. To leave a message, please hang on. If you currently have a hostage, here is a limerick for you:

      You took a captive in anger, no doubt.
      Our state’s laws, you chose to flout.
      Now your choice seems unwise
      And the time will arise
      To release your hostage and come out.

      • Laura says:

        That’s brilliant. But you really should have had him record a second version, to play to actual hostage-takers, where he leaves off the last two words and promises them some sort of prize if they guess the limerick’s ending correctly.

  8. Todd Pack says:

    I listen to this show every Saturday. You are now officially my hero.

  9. We found him Captain!! says:

    Best wishes to a guy who has been a hero for more than 25 years.

  10. dottiemaggie says:

    bahahaha, that entertained me while i painted my nails. thumbs up to that!


So, what's on your mind?

