Karma, My Cubs Cap, Daytime TV and the Flu. Thoughts of a NyQuil addled mind

I went on vacation and took the day after I got back to town off from work. That was probably a good idea on my part, not because I got my laundry done, but because that’s the day the flu hit me.

Since this happened after I got back from vacation, I am going to go with the idea that my Karma is very good at this point. I was apparently destined to suffer through this bout of the flu, but life was lined up such that I could enjoy my vacation, then get sick after I get home. You can’t ask for more than that, can you?

I try to learn as much as I can from whatever I go through in life. Here is what I learned from this bout with the flu, which was largely spent staring at the television while wrapped in a blanket on my couch.

 

If it looks bad for me, send for the hat. (image via sportsblink.com

Lesson 1. No matter how old you get, there are certain things you must have near you when you need comfort. Some kids have blankets, some have a stuffed animal. I have my Cubs cap. I am not too proud to admit that.

If I ever get sick far from home, my Cubs cap will have to be Fed-Ex’ed to where ever I am if I am to have any hope of recovering.

Lesson 2. I am one of the only people on earth who does not have a television talk show. I’ve got to do something to remedy that. I’m equally as unqualified to have my own show as the next person, yet there are so many who are not me who do.

Perhaps I’m on a waiting list.

Lesson 3. The Price is Right. It should remain legal for one contestant to bid 1 dollar above another contestant. It should become legal for the contestant who was treated in this matter to vent frustration in whatever manner he or she sees fit.

Just for Men X 30

I will go gray and will do it with dignity (Image by mike fischer via Flickr)

Lesson 4. The flu turned my beard gray. It could be that its been that long since I have let it go long enough to be able to tell what color it is, but I doubt it.  It could be that I’m old enough to have a son in college.

My beard is gray. Damned flu did it.

Lesson 5. Soap operas. Really attractive rich people are treacherous. They have a lot of sex, then kill each other, or destroy each others companies. They have a lot of arguments, but often one of them stands behind the other when they argue. Parties in an argument between attractive people on a soap opera can not look at each other while they argue.

35/365: Still Life with Nyquil

Lights out (Image by johnwilliamsphd via Flickr)

Lesson 6. NyQuil. There is no sleep like sick on the couch on NyQuil sleep. Days can go by unnoticed.

Sleep is the best thing for me when I’m sick. NyQuil turns out the lights, even if my eyes are open. I am not responsible for anything I might have said this week. Blame it on Vicks.

Lesson 7. The signs at work have urged me to call in sick and not get my co-workers sick if I had the flu. That doesn’t mean they’re going to go out of their way and be helpful about it when I do, despite the fact that in 26 years I have missed work three times.

I’m going to work tomorrow and wipe my nose on selected phones around the office.

I’ll shave my gray beard off first.

37 Comments on “Karma, My Cubs Cap, Daytime TV and the Flu. Thoughts of a NyQuil addled mind”

  1. I’m sure you have wonderful Karma, Oma!

    I’d blame the grey beard on The Jolie…she’s only been here a few days, and I’ve already got grey roots!

    Counting my lucky stars that I don’t work in the same company (state, country) as you right now…ewww!

    Feel better soon!

    Wendy

  2. Is surprised that of all things, a Cubs hat can make you feel more comfortable. Seems there is a bit of irony in that.

    • omawarisan says:

      Ive never lived in Chicago, but my first baseball card was Ron Santo so i guess they are my favorite team that isn’t the Orioles…which is my true source of agony.

  3. Todd Pack says:

    No matter what the signs say, I’ll usually go to work sick on a Monday or a Friday, especially if that Monday or Friday bumps up against a long weekend or a vacation. On those days, I just assume my bosses will assume I’m faking. Hope you feel better soon.

  4. Hippie Cahier says:

    I hope you’re feeling better.
    I had a Nyquil experience several months ago. I kept fading in an out of a special about Lincoln on the History Channel. They were reconstructing his face or something. Scared the dickens out of me, so I switched the channel to whatever — I didn’t care. Turned out to be Lifetime – not unlike your soap opera observations.
    I’m not really a hippie — I could not have handled “trips” like this on a regular basis.

    • omawarisan says:

      I have heard so much about that Lincoln special. I have been tempted to find the end result online, but i hear the whole build up is part of the weirdness of the whole show.

  5. spencercourt says:

    You have something better (but monetarily so) than a talk show – this blog, which is available 24/7 and is read worldwide! OMA! OMA! OMA!

  6. The key to not getting sick immediately after a vacation is to ensure that your vacation is as high intensity as your regular work day. Once you let that adrenaline start to settle down…booooow howdy…that’s it. You’re done for.

    Also very much appreciate the link regarding the woman who tried to use Nyquil as an accelerant…hmm…personally I thought that lighter fluid would work just fine…but then…who am I to be uncreative?

  7. Zahara says:

    Feel better soon, Omawarisan, and go easy on the Nyquil. You don’t want to end up on someone else’s talk show.

  8. Have you been sneezing all over your beard? That would turn it grey. Eeuuw. At least now you can do that on the phones at work; much better for you. 🙂
    Sunshine

  9. Pie says:

    NyQuil? I ‘ave some o’ that!

    “I’m going to work tomorrow and wipe my nose on selected phones around the office” That has to be one of the best lines I’ve read on this blog yet. I was laughing hard, Oma. I think I did a small wee. That wasn’t flu – that was you.

    • omawarisan says:

      Thank you ma’am!

      calling in sick was so frustrating. 25 years andf the only times I’ve called in sick I’ve done it from a hospital bed. I call in, tell them I’m really ill and get “well who is going to cover your shift?” I expressed that I did not care, respectfully, but with a tone that indicated I could make the point sans respect if needed.

  10. educlaytion says:

    I’m new around your site here and looking forward to reading more. Glad you got through vaca unscathed. I once got strep throat death virus as we were leaving Florida to drive home to Pennsylvania. I don’t remember much since I was in a fetal position in the backseat surrounded by multiple children. I wear my college hoodie when sick, hood up. I will get the Cubs hat to you if needed. It’s important.

  11. Jane says:

    I bow in respect! Anyone who can put off getting sick until after vacation enters the genius realm in my book. Enjoy!

  12. Kim Pugliano says:

    I’m going to work tomorrow and wipe my nose on selected phones around the office.

    I’ll shave my gray beard off first.

    LEAVE THE BEARD! So many germs can be transported.

  13. We found him Captain!! says:

    That wiping your nose thing was a great idea and really funny. Can they do a DNA matchup of snot? Put some Vicks caloric up your nose first, then do the phone thing, then put three drops of olive oil in each nostril. This will throw off the DNA results. If you really want to confuse them follow the olive oil drops with some balsamic vinegar.

  14. Sneeze or cough on your hand, then make lots of copies at the copier, whether you need copies of anything or not. However, if you have something that can be copied and placed by the same hand in all co-workers’ in-baskets, these are both sure fire ways to infect the office.

  15. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    What is it about the diseased taking vacations and exposing us all? Is a vacation even worth it to come back and be all sneezy and gooey for weeks? Sheesh, bedbugs, germs, constipation — I think vacations are so overrated. (Said by one who has no vacation hours left to take one.)

  16. You take NyQuil? I’ve heard some crazy stories about NyQuil causing nightmares, sleepwalking, sleeptalking, and sleepmaking seafood salad. I’m scared to take it. I’m glad you survived!

    • omawarisan says:

      Oh God, that stuff knocks me out. No amount of cold misery can touch me when NyQuil comes to town.

      I did carve a statue of Millard Fillmore out of ice after taking Nyquil.

  17. maggie says:

    I used to be very anti-medication when I’d have a cold or flu.
    Then I tried Nyquil. It was love at first peaceul sleep in a week.

  18. planetross says:

    When I’m sick I curl up into the fetal position … or as I call it, “the fatal position”.

    note: I never knew the name came from “Nighttime Tranquility”. I always thought it was Native American or something.

  19. omawarisan says:

    Sure, they tell us that, and that is the result, but I think youre right with the Native American thing.

    I think ny quil is Navajo for under a blanket on the couch, doesnt care.


So, what's on your mind?

