Cover Song Of The Month – Redemption Song By Johnny Cash and Joe Strummer

Sunday is not only Super Bowl Sunday. It is an occasion of no less significance. February 6 is Bob Marley’s birthday.

In celebration of Bob’s birthday, this month’s cover song is a version of one of his most loved songs – Redemption Song. Redemption Song is very simply arranged –  just Bob and his guitar, but the lyrics have great meaning.

Redemption Song is one of those I thought no one should ever touch. Then I found the Johnny Cash/ Joe Strummer version. Some of you will recall that Strummer was part of one of the great bands of the punk movement, The Clash, then moved on to his own band, The Mescaleros. Johnny Cash is Johnny Cash…’nuff said there.

The guitar part remains simple, but not a duplication of Bob’s original. I like the interplay between the two voices and styles. This cover works for me.

So now it is time to vote on the Cover Song Of The Month…and don’t forget to leave your comments. It’s always appropriate to send Bob a birthday wish.

23 Comments on “Cover Song Of The Month – Redemption Song By Johnny Cash and Joe Strummer”

  1. Betty says:

    If it was all Strummer, less Cash, then I could vote for the cover. But it’s not, so I can’t.

  2. Hippie Cahier says:

    If only they’d thought to include Betty White, it could be an exploitation hat trick!

    I was going to say Cash was Cash; Marley was Marley, and you just shouldn’t mess with certain things, but I’ll bet Marley could have done some interesting things with Johnny’s stuff.

    Cool find, though!

  3. I’m not a huge Marley fan, but Johnny Cash RULES, even “old Johnny.” Strummer, I could take or leave…

    Thanks for sharing this, Oma!

    Wendy

  4. educlaytion says:

    Yeah, I agree with Wendy. Pretty tough to look past Cash for me. I bet if Marley had lived to be an old man he’d be playing at the Super Bowl.

  5. Zahara says:

    Yes, “educlaytion”, an elderly Marley at half time. That would get me to watch.
    In the meantime, I’m a sucker for Mr. Cash.

  6. It’s such a good song it stands up well to the beating Cash and Strummer give it and Cash’s gnarly voice works well with the lyrics. I don’t think I’d want to hear the Justin Bieber version. But no song stands up well to that treatment!

    • omawarisan says:

      Cash’s gnarly voice is the thing. When he was old he could sing anything and make it work.

      • Betty says:

        I don’t know if I agree with that, O. When watching TLC lately (at least I think it’s TLC) there are commercials for some Kennedy video specials and Johnny Cash sings the Beatles “In My Life.” It’s dreadful.

      • planetross says:

        “Cash’s gnarly voice is the thing. When he was old he could sing anything and make it work.”

        It’s funny how life works like that sometimes.
        … for most people it doesn’t sadly.

  7. Jane says:

    While Cash’s raspy voice may artfully paint the poignance of the lyrics, the beautiful nasal resonances from Marley turn the words into music. Cheers to Bob.

  8. pattypunker says:

    johnny cash and joe strummer are just two of my all-time punk heroes!!! that’s right, johnny cash is the original american punk. love, love, love this.

  9. thejaggedman says:

    I love music and most of it’s flavors and there is something here for most everyone. I lean toward Johnny’s style for this song but love both versions. I just finished a post while listening to a couple of my favorite indie artist and Johnny Cash’s American IV: The Man Comes Around. Doesn’t get much better than that for me!

  10. Cool post – Really dug the tribute to Bob Marley. Thanks for the music links too!

  11. Cannes news says:

    Can anyone tell me when it was recorded? It’s an incredible version by two legends to a dead legend.


So, what's on your mind?

