Five Routine Minutes – Getting A Bagel

Today I am experimenting with a new Blurt feature, Five Routine Minutes. Five Routine Minutes will depict five-ish consecutive minutes from my day. As you’ll see, these posts may go up a few days after the actual events portrayed, due to the time involved in producing and then taking pictures of the complex stick figure art that illustrates these posts. My apologies for the delays, quality is time consuming…or something.

I went to get my morning bagel. I eat a bagel every work day morning. Maybe it is because I like round food with a hole in the middle. I don’t eat donuts though. Donuts are so 1980’s, like my mustache was. I don’t eat donuts and my mustache is long gone, but I love bagels.

There are a lot of regular customers at the bagel shop. They must like round food too, but I don’t know if they had a mustache in the ’80’s. There is this one guy I see there a lot. We’ve never spoken, he just looks at me and nods. I don’t know his name, so I had to assign him one. His assigned name is Bobblehead. Bobblehead remains true to his name today. Consistency is admirable.

Who knew I could draw like I see?

Today I’m having a honey wheat bagel with peanut butter. The woman who takes my order has her face pierced, once under each corner of her mouth. She’s really nice. I don’t know why she thinks this is a good idea. Who am I to judge? I am the guy who grew that mustache, that’s who.

At the register, the manager is training a new cashier. She introduces this new person to me and says “this is Omawarisan, we like him. Always make sure he gets the senior discount.”

Ouch. I didn’t realize that was happening. I won’t get my AARP card until this fall. It is only spring.

When I leave, a pickup truck is parked next to my car. I notice that there is a kitchen whisk in the bed of the truck. Nothing else. The cargo area is laden with one wire whisk. Why? Maybe this is a chef’s truck. Will he remember where his whisk is when he needs to make a meringue? If I was a chef, I would make my own bagel. I would not keep my whisk in my truck.

When I went outside I switched to my cool Ray-Bans

Yeah, that’s about five.

41 Comments on “Five Routine Minutes – Getting A Bagel”

  1. madtante says:

    Dur, so he can say he got whisk-ey today.

    I like your whippersnapper drawring!

  2. I eat a bagel every weekday morning too, Oma (and on weekends, I make Toad-in-the-Hole with bagels)…I toast my own bagels at home though.

    Those piercings are quite disturbing…I could never have my nose pierced because I’d always have Kleenex hanging from it…

    The whisk…hmmm…maybe Jamie Oliver is taking another run at changing America’s eating habits?

    Wendy

  3. I used to eat bagels…in the 90s. Then I realized those damn carbs were going straight to my thighs. Now I eat bagel thins. Your post made me miss real bagels. At least someone can still enjoy them. Le sigh.

  4. Todd Pack says:

    I know it hurts to discover that the cool chick working the cash register thinks you’re a senior citizen. I’m so sorry for your loss of cool. You’ll be in my thoughts and prayers.

  5. I’m not a fan of mustaches. I’m just beginning to accept beards, though from a distance only.
    Bagels on the other hand, always welcome in my world.
    Also, you are cool. I may not be 20 anymore, but I’m a fan of yours.

  6. I noticed that your stick figure put his sunglasses on when he went outside. You are very detail oriented and if you ever need to job hunt, you could use these drawings to prove it.

    • omawarisan says:

      I’m retiring at the end of 2013, since, y’know, I’m AARP eligible this year.
      I am going to have to find another job, I’ll submit a few sketches to show my attention to detail.

  7. These pictures make me feel like I was really there.

  8. Katybeth says:

    I whisked I had a bagel this morning…my muffin without the hole was really lame.

  9. Elly Lou says:

    Um. I had something witty to say but now I’m all distracted by Katybeth admitting her muffin doesn’t have a hole. I can’t focus.

  10. Hippie Cahier says:

    I am particularly impressed by the simulated motion of Bobblehead’s . . .uh. . . bobbing head. Your attention to detail is most impressive.

  11. Betty says:

    It took me a second look to realize that senior stick-figure omawarisan was holding a cane and not ….oh, nevermind.

  12. Aren’t you glad you lived in the 80s where body art consisted of moustaches and you could shave them off and destroy the negatives? Today you might have a Chinese love hologram tatooed someplace!

  13. pattypunker says:

    you don’t look a day over 29 in those ray bans.

    ( i do my bagels on weekends. as a treat.)

  14. jaerae1971 says:

    I’ve been a professional portrait artist forever….after seeing your work, I’m throwing in the pencils. Damn you and your brilliant stick figures.

  15. Pauline says:

    I try to be openminded with people and how they choose to style themselves, but facial piercings are incredibly distracting! I don’t listen to what they say I just keep thinking: ‘O.k. don’t stare at it (or them depending on much facial jewelry they have)..don’t stare at it!’

  16. planetross says:

    I’m always discounted … even in public sometimes!

    I can’t say that I’m a big bagel person, but I like them.
    Because I can’t buy them locally or near where I live or closeby, I always bagel-up when I do see them … but not while they are on other people’s plates … because that is frowned upon.

  17. spencercourt says:

    > honey wheat bagel with peanut butter.

    Huh? Whatever happened to a plain bagel with onion, lox and tomato? You don’t *have* to be Jewish to enjoy that….;)

    Of course, in the privacy of my own home I will confess (that’s very Catholic) to eating a plain toasted bagel with PB & J (strawberry). But *never* in public….

  18. omawarisan says:

    Uggh…no lox.

    No toasted bagels with peanut butter. it melts the peanut butter and it drips on me.

  19. Omawarison says:

    Haha Shenanagans.

  20. We found him Captain!! says:

    I am amazed at the variety of talents you possess. You must have been well trained in grammar school art. Stick art is one of the oldest art forms in existence and you have mastered it while in a completely different profession…..AMAZING!!! I am hoping you are also good with crayons.


So, what's on your mind?

