So There I Was, Minding My Own Business

Autism Awareness Ribbon

Image via Wikipedia

When I talk to my friends about this site they often ask how I decide what to write about. I usually don’t know what to tell them. Most of the time I just see something, like a wire whisk in a pick up truck, and my mind goes from there.

Here is the story of how I decided what to write today.

I was minding my own business, looking at other people’s websites. I made dopey comments on some, others I just read and thought about how some really clever people keep reading my blog. Then I went to another and started reading. I watched a video there and learned a little about one of my regular visitors.

And then I thought that today, maybe I could do without silliness and use the fact that smart people keep coming here to help that visitor do something great.

Autism And A Mom

Mary Fletcher Jones, who many of you have seen comment here, runs a Marketing, Social Media and Design firm outside of Washington, DC. For the month of April, Mary’s firm’s home page is dedicated to raising awareness of Autism.

Autism affects the social development and communication skills of one out of every one hundred ten children; for boys that ratio is one in seventy. After reading Mary’s page and watching her video I sat back and thought about the parents and young people I know who are dealing with autism:

  • a former work partner whose autistic son has just turned 16
  • my friend at the desk next to mine who gets all my jokes, works twice as hard as I do and is a tireless advocate for his 6 year old with the condition
  • a friend I co-teach a class with.
  • the young man my son knows who lives with Asperger’s Syndrome, a condition on the autism spectrum.

I came up with that list without even trying. It isn’t even close to including everyone I know that could be there. The thing is, I know that for all those who’ve told me their stories, there are many more who haven’t yet. I also know that you know similar families, and I’m sure there are more you’re not aware of.

Starting today, we are going to help those families in one simple way. I’m going to ask you to do that by helping Mary help them.

Living Well With Autism

Mary and her firm have created a website called Living Well With Autism. The site is well organized and filled with “tools for living with the everyday challenge of raising a child with autism”. The site is rich with videos, printable materials and Twitter and Facebook connections for even more support.

Here is what I am asking my readers to do. Add a link to Living Well With Autism to your blog, website, and Facebook page. Send the link out to your followers on Twitter. Not hard, right?

Let’s consider the possible effect of us banding together to do this. One in one hundred and ten children are affected by autism. Bloggers, some of us have hundreds, perhaps thousands of readers per week. You don’t know who needs this help, but you know they’re out there. With a link from your site to Living Well With Autism, you could be helping a family get an additional resource in their lives.

Facebook junkies, same story. You’re all connected to high school friends you probably haven’t seen in decades. Could you be helping their children or grandchildren by posting a link today?

I have added a link from Blurt to Living Well With Autism. I’m keeping it there, even after Autism Awareness Month is over.

It’s your move. Link, Facebook, Tweet it today:

http://www.livingwellwithautism.com/

or, if you want a short url…

http://bit.ly/eUkWG1

31 Comments on “So There I Was, Minding My Own Business”

  1. planetross says:

    I’m like Mod Squad: I’ve Linked!

  2. Thanks, Oma…linking on Facebook and sending link to one of my blogging buddies who’s the mom of a 4-year-old autistic boy…

    Wendy

  3. jacquelincangro says:

    Just tweeted it! Hope it helps get the word out. What a great site.

  4. I just tried to link this post to my Facebook page and was denied. The message said “This post is spammy or abusive.” !!!!!

    • omawarisan says:

      Thank you so much for trying. Maybe the links triggered something? I will trim a few of those out this evening and hopefully it will behave?

      I am pretty abusive.

      • omawarisan says:

        I trimmed out some of the links, hopefully that will make it easier to link to Facebook. It looks like some people have had success using the Facebook button at the bottom of the post, but maybe that was before they decided it was offensive.

  5. madtante says:

    Nice post! I grew up caring for (mum’s best friend’s son) a boy a few years older than I was (he was MR and they had a “class” for MR and autistic kids at the elementary school). In the 1970s, in a deeply rural area, that meant a lot of fist-fights, defending him. It also meant far too much responsibility on my shoulders for a minimum of 7 hours a day…

    Any way, like you–I don’t have to search far to get a list: I don’t know a family “not” touched by it.

    • omawarisan says:

      I have a post on the abuse thing. Picking on people with developmental issues flies all over me. Being a caretaker requires a special person, thank you for doing it

  6. Katybeth says:

    Great idea. I added the link to my blog roll and will tweet. While you our on this roll you might want to drop over to Simple Diane’s and meet Zany—http://simplydianeblog.com/

  7. Jane says:

    Consider it tweeted!

  8. Completely and wonderfully overwhelmed by your great kindness and sensitivity, all of you. Thank you so much 🙂

  9. thejaggedman says:

    Posted it to my facebook page and decide to do the cause a favor and NOT post it to my blog. I had the pleasure of being part of the band that performed Big River at out local Performance Arts Center. There was a young man in the play with Asperger’s and did a wonderful job playing three separate characters.Thanks for sharing.

  10. Jeane says:

    I linked to it. Wonderful post and way to support needed causes.

  11. shoutabyss says:

    I took up your challenge to “move.” I put it on my Facebook thingy.

  12. linlah says:

    An easy Link to support. I carry that ribbon on my keychain for Hank a boy my brother fostered many years ago and who I’ve never forgotten.

  13. jammer5 says:

    Autism is an interesting class of mental health problems. I wonder sometimes if the “new” autism is not being used as a crutch to corral symptoms into an easily diagnosed cultural class.

    I know when I was a kid, if the framework for autism in place now, was instituted back then, I probably would have been in that group. Instead, I was labeled as being highly intelligent with a lack of mental discipline. I could pass any test thrown at me, but I couldn’t organize any of it. That made for some verbal jousting with teachers, and more than one backside broadside. I’ve since come to the conclusion I can’t walk and chew gum at the same time, seriously, and I wonder if that is not a common cause for labeling some children as autistic.


So, what's on your mind?

