I pity Hallmark.

When you put down one mother, you’re putting down mothers all over the world.        Mr. T.

Mr. T

Even Mr. T. dresses for Mothers Day. Look, an entire shirt. (Image via Wikipedia)

Sunday is Mother’s Day. Has Mom ever asked for anything more than for you to be good? I’ll be fifty this year, that’s still what mine asks for. Perhaps one year I ought to try it, but maybe not this year.

Is just being good enough? I don’t think so. I’m guessing you don’t either.

Every year brings a never-ending battle  to find the right gift, the right sentiment on Mothers Day. Let’s face it, there’s no way to give or say enough to the woman who can’t give enough, is there?

Now that I’m older and a parent, I watch the Mom thing from a different side. I’m still amazed. How? How do they keep up? How do they remember all this stuff? How can they diagnose an illness from across the room? Why don’t they need sleep? Why don’t they want anything more than for us to “be good”?

Are there truly answers to any of these questions and, most critically to those of us who must find the adequate token of our love and appreciation for Mom before Sunday, what are we going to give her?

I am at peace, because I found something that speaks to the feelings I have for my Mom as well as for Moms everywhere. I am through with Mothers Day shopping for the rest of my life.

There you have it, from one of the true greats. I will not be performing this, especially for my mother. I do not wear shorts like that around her, or anyone else. I will be making sure she gets the song though, every year. Every year. This is it for you this year, Mom, hope you enjoyed it. If not, maybe you will next year.

Time to treat her right. Don’t forget.

Happy day to all Moms.

.us

23 Comments on “I pity Hallmark.”

  1. madtante says:

    Here’s to all the mothers who are maternal! Srsly…a decent mother (not even a good one) is something we all need. I’m glad my grandmother did her best to step up!

  2. Amy says:

    What mother wouldn’t love the gift Mr. T’s timeless wisdom?
    You’re right about the shorts, though. Not everyone can pull that look off.

  3. Todd Pack says:

    I got my mom the same thing, only I got her a Mr. Coffee Iced Tea Maker, but it’s got the Mr. and the Tea, so, same thing!

  4. An entire shirt…but still not an entire head of hair…

    So disappointing T…so disappointing…

  5. Laura says:

    Wow. Love the post title.

  6. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    I don’t care what your mother says, I may have to smack you for this. It will take years to get the image of his too tight cammie shorts out of my mind. First of all the top of MrT does NOT match the bottom – aesthetically and stylistically speaking. And then there’s the backup singers and the music and – and – I want my mommy.

  7. thejaggedman says:

    Priceless! Also thanks for helping Snoring Dog Studio reconnect with her inner child and her need for her mommy. Just like McD’s I’m loving it!

  8. gmomj says:

    Wow! That was disturbing.
    “I pity the foo…”
    Happy Mother’s Day.

  9. Rob G says:

    Judging from his pants, I’d say that was the period of his career that was the most heavily influenced by the Village People.

  10. I pity da fool who puts down mothers.

  11. Binky says:

    So is your mother still talking to you after that wonderful gift? Or is she still speechless?


So, what's on your mind?

