Five Routine Minutes: The Man With Another Man’s Face

When someone mentions another person to me, my mind conjures up a picture of that person. My little mind pictures are pretty accurate. Pretty much.

When someone from a different section at work became seriously ill, word spread quickly. Things didn’t look good.  Really not good. Quite not good.

Part of my morning meeting has recently involved a discussion of the latest on Bob’s condition, according to the rumor mill.

Last week I taught a class. Before class, I got into the room to take care of some last-minute preparations. As the room filled, I  joked with a few of the students that I knew. I looked up to start to speak, but something was very wrong.

The guy who I thought was in the hospital was in the class! Clearly someone else is in the hospital.

This guy being in my class really got to me. I fumbled my way through the class, but he was really distracting.

I considered throwing him out for being healthy.

Somewhere, a man is in a hospital bed. Maybe I should go find out who it is, but I don’t know how I’ll be able to tell I’m in the right place.

32 Comments on “Five Routine Minutes: The Man With Another Man’s Face”

  1. That would be a dilemma, Oma…hope you find out who it is! In the meantime, you should force that imposter in your class to eat pumpkin pie!

    Wendy

  2. shoutabyss says:

    I loved the visuals in this post. They added a lot of excitement to the story.

    I’ll be sending positive energy over to Bob, whoever he is.

  3. thejaggedman says:

    I figured I wasn’t the only one to apply the wrong “face” to someone who was ill, deceased,ect…but I have never heard anyone admit it. I am not the president of this club just one of it’s members! Great post Oma!

  4. We found him Captain!! says:

    Maybe you should have kicked NOT BOB’s ass and put him in the hospital. Then go to the hospital and ask for real Bob by his first and last name. While you are at the hospital you should stop in and see NOT BOB. Now you can take NOT BOB into THE RIGHT BOB’s room and introduce them to one another. You can have your picture taken with the two BOB’s and make the caption read: Two Bobs and one boob! HA ha ha ha ha!! Get it?

  5. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    In all of this intrigue, I can’t understand why you didn’t make the obvious conclusion: It’s a conspiracy to drive you mad. That Bob guy? He’s playing you, man. And his disguise? Very clever, almost impossible to pull off – roundish head, two eyes, a nose, dot for a mouth, short strokes for hair — you live in a very devious, scary world, Oma.

  6. Todd Pack says:

    Maybe it’s the other Bob.

  7. Betty says:

    Your self-portraits are brilliant. It seems you will have a post-retirement career.

  8. Kim Pugliano says:

    I wonder if Not Bob was that guy who got a face transplant and Real Bob is the one who donated his face because he knew he was gonna die soon anyway, so he may as well die faceless. So Real Bob is still in the hospital on his las leg but nobody recognizes him anymore so nobody visits him. Go to the hospital and ask, “Is there anyone here without a face?” and visit him. You don’t need his last name if he’s faceless because likely he’s very popular there having no face and all.

  9. Amy says:

    I’m good with names, horrible with faces. I’m so glad that I’ve kept my high school yearbooks, cause I’m constantly looking up people trying to remember who they are. Maybe your office needs a yearbook to prevent this type of situation.

    • omawarisan says:

      See, I’m the opposite. I remember faces. I know I know people from somewhere, I just never know where.

      Remember that one guy from high school, page 34? Yeah, he’s still kind of sketchy.

  10. lafemmeroar says:

    I often try to align the reality in my head with the objective physical reality (if that’s possible). Wanting to kick out the student you thought was sick reminds me of that.

    • omawarisan says:

      Hi and welcome.

      I think tossing that guy would have been completely justified because he violated what I knew to be true. and imagine how having done so would have raised the attention level of the rest of the students in the class!

  11. Laura says:

    I once confused the names of two people from a different section at work for months. I discovered my mistake when I said to one of them “okay, we just need to wait for ‘Bob’ to arrive”, and he said “I’m ‘Bob'”. There’s really no recovering from something like that.

  12. We found him Captain!! says:

    I like the title…….I plead guilty to the insubordination charge. I don’t know what came over me….. Sorry Om! Say Whot!……

  13. Katybeth says:

    I am so confused–however I think your stick people are developing more character! and the hospital was really very good!

  14. Binky says:

    Perhaps Bob is indeed Bob, but he called in sick one day and rumors led to one thing and another and it just all got out of hand.

  15. Laura says:

    Imagine how shocked you’ll be when you visit Bob in the hospital and discover that the guy you saw in class was his identical twin.

  16. madtante says:

    I have such a problem with peoples’ names that I sort of coast along in a convo like that. You can tell if I’ve managed to place the person you’re talking about because I’ll interrupt. “Hang on! You mean the dude who ___?”

    Often that first guess is wrong.

    If so, the person speaking backtracks and tries to help me figure out who he’s talking about and I’ve got to tell you–it may never click.

  17. planetross says:

    It’s easier to visit people you don’t know in the hospital than people you do … for some reason.


So, what's on your mind?

