Irony, With Mustard and Kraut

I wrote about this event over a year ago, but today I ran across it again and thought it needed to be documented further. Today was the second annual Hot Dog Sale to benefit the American Heart Association.

The cured meats have always been friends of the heart, haven’t they?

The Hot Dog Sale For Heart Disease

Yes, Hot Dogs for Heart Disease. Someone thought that was a good idea. Twice. Someone failed to see the irony in this. Twice.

There it was though, selling hot dogs to raise money to fight heart disease. No one considered that hot dogs are the precursor to heart disease.

Every $2 moves us closer to and simultaneously farther from a cure

I had my two dollars worth of charitable irony with some spicy mustard and a little kraut. Mustard, kraut and a Diet Coke.

A big ol’ irony stack.

For hearts.

41 Comments on “Irony, With Mustard and Kraut”

  1. shoutabyss says:

    I’m literally eating a hot dog while I read this. Weird. I appreciate having you out in the world spotting irony!

  2. Debbie says:

    Yikes! Let’s hope they were kosher, all-beef hot dogs, rather than the traditional mish-mash of mystery meats!

  3. Its boars head though, higher quality heart disease than oscar meyer!!

  4. Spectra says:

    Well, it’s better than lambs’ testicles, I’m guessing.

  5. Maybe this hot dog sale funds the department of the Heart Assoc. responsible for finding test subjects?

  6. linlah says:

    I love hot dogs so much they make my heart hurt in a good way, for now.

  7. Lenore Diane says:

    My friend showed me picture of her daughter’s first trip to the dentist. I noticed a gum ball machine right next to the check-out counter. I guess the dentist wants to ensure he has repeat customers.

  8. Todd Pack says:

    No, but seriously, who doesn’t heart hot dogs?

  9. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    I work for the department of health. I’ve never seen so many bake sales in one office. Halloween is a veritable triple bypass. I used to attend these morning meetings for a heart and stroke program. Breakfast always included bacon. Do as I say not as I binge on.

  10. planetross says:

    I’ve entered a “smoke off” for cancer.

  11. If you go back next week and there’s a Bake Sale for Diabetes Awareness, I think you should look around for the hidden cameras.

  12. spencercourt says:

    Since I just sat on a jury, there may be more here than meets the eye…

    Did you have some information (newspaper article, etc.) the AHA actually sponsored it? Or did the vendor just *say* he was donating the proceeds to the AHA? And if the latter, how do you know he really did? I do not trust in a hand-printed sign.

    But if the AHA was truly the sponsor….then their judgement is as bad as… a Weiner.

    A few weeks ago, I saw a bunch of sorority sisters on the street hollering at motorists to donate to a scholarship fund. They had none of the ID that “legitimate” folks seeking street donations have. I suspect the “scholarship fund” was a party fund.

  13. Kim Pugliano says:

    I need to stop reading all the comments before commenting on my own. With each comment I feel my funny slip-sliding away. Bastards.

  14. Lafemmeroar says:

    It’s like having a Weight Watchers meeting at a Krispy Creme. Very “oxymoronish.”

  15. Katybeth says:

    Did you put a little celery salt on that hot dog?

    • omawarisan says:

      No! I know that comes on a Chicago Style dog, but there’s so much stuff on those I’ve never been able to get myself to order one.

      I’m going to Chicago later in the summer for a concert and a Cubs game and a number of beverages. Perhaps I will break the celery salt barrier on that trip.

  16. […] G is silent, a fellow blogger, shares my sentiment in a comment she left on Blurt’s “Irony, With Mustard and Kraut” stating, “I need to stop reading all the comments before commenting on my own. With […]

  17. Kim Pugliano says:

    I must add a comment here. Yesterday for Father’s Day we went to my parents’ house were hot dogs and sausages were served and tried my first ever sausage with kraut (never tried kraut before) and mustard.

    CAN YOU SAY DELICIOUS?

    Carry on.

  18. Unbelievable…sadly, they probably made a lot of money!

    Wendy


So, what's on your mind?

