Mosquito Bites And Other Decisions I Make On My Own

None - This image is in the public domain and ...

A mosquito that didn't find me (Image via Wikipedia)

It is mosquito season here in the US.  I know that because it seems that I’m particularly delicious to these little blood suckers. If you and I were sitting side by side, any mosquitoes in the area would charge to me to begin the feast.

Since I am a mosquito magnet, I’ve always needed relief from the itch their bites leave behind. For me there is but one cure. Therein lies our discussion for today.

In This World, There Are Two Kinds Of People

Sure, you could probably say there are two kinds of people on all sorts of things. There are people who eat mushrooms and people who do not. People who are noisy and people who are quiet. People who are patient and those who fly off the handle. I don’t want to talk about those folks.

I’m talking about the people who understand that there is one and only one way to get a mosquito bite to stop itching, and everyone else. That one way, as I learned when I was a kid, is to press my fingernail  hard across the middle of the bite then turn my finger ninety degrees and repeat the process. The itching stops as soon as I apply the cure.

Now, I’ve met people who know and swear by the cure, and I’ve met people who’ve never heard of it and think it is the biggest load of hogwash I have ever tried to sell them.

I know what I know.

Two Kinds Of People

John McEnroe, arguing with umpire. Champions C...

Something about a mosquito, or maybe politics (Image via Wikipedia)

There are always two kinds of people, aren’t there? Some people think one way, some think another.

People allow one another to think the way they want on important things like how to manage a mosquito bite.  For other things, they feel compelled to get involved in the decisions people are entitled to make for themselves. People and their views are disrespected in the process. Feelings are hurt. Bonds are broken. No one wins. Folks go their own way, with their own opinions and without their friends.

I see the things I see in the world and interpret them for myself. I think most people do the same, and want to be left to their own interpretations. They probably deserve that.

Vote how you want to, or don’t. Believe in whatever higher power does the job for you, or don’t. That’s how it ought to be.

It’s even up to you if you believe in the mosquito bite thing.

I know what I know.

56 Comments on “Mosquito Bites And Other Decisions I Make On My Own”

  1. I’m totally going to try this next time I get bitten…which will probably be as soon as I walk outside at lunch.

    Those little jerks love me, too.

  2. Todd Pack says:

    I can confirm that the making-an-X-on-a-moquito-bite-with-your-fingernail is a real thing and that it works.

  3. Spectra says:

    I will consider applying your ‘cure’ next time I am under attack by those deviant flying micro-terrorists.

    On a similar note, while visiting my parents last evening for Father’s Day, a knat (gnat?) or fruit fly kept swarming my Mother on her porch. My sister got up, and returned from the house with a shallow dish of red wine. Since these pestys always find your wine while you’re drinking it, her theory goes, why not set a bowl out of their own? Then they drown. But drown drunk and happy. 😉

    Maybe setting out a dish of human blood would work on mosquitos?
    And errant vampires on your porch?

    Which brings us to a nice bowl of brains set out for hungry Zombies…

  4. madtante says:

    I’m allergic to them. I wish there was a cure!

  5. Spectra says:

    I will give your ‘cure’ a try next time I am attacked by those heartless micro-terrorists in my yard.

    On a similar note, last evening, while visiting my Parents on Fathers Day, a fruit fly kept assailing my mothers face. My sister got up, left the porch, and returned with a shallow dish of wine. The idea being, they always end up in your glass while drinking it, why not give them their own little death-pool to land in? At least they die drunk and happy.

    Perhaps setting out a shallow bowl of human blood would have the same effect on mosquitos?
    And errant vampires on your porch?

    A nice dish of brains at your next picnic to distract those pesky Zombies???

    • omawarisan says:

      I like the wine idea. Did it work?

      The blood idea wouldnt work for me. They always complain that I bleed slowly when I give blood. I think that’s generally good.

      • Spectra says:

        Yes, could mean you have a slow heartbeat, which the nurses and doctors like. They always mistake me for some kind of athlete, or marathon runner. And I laugh every time they ask. Then go outside and light up a smoke.

        No, we didn’t catch the fruit fly, but had it been left on the porch overnight, I am positive it would have worked.

  6. Lenore Diane says:

    I’m in the know, Blurt. I’ve done the fingernail trick since I was knee high to a grasshopper. I first saw it done by a Mom to her kid. I watched. I learned. I was in the know.

  7. Amy says:

    I have never heard of this, but you bet I’m going to try it next time I get bit.

    I love your “do it or don’t” attitude. People need to be concerned more with what they do than with what other people do.

  8. writerdood says:

    Nothing works against mosquito bites like a good shock from a stun gun. But if that doesn’t work, try a lighter. I’ve heard you can burn them off.

  9. I feel like this could be detrimental to your health. How are are you pressing again??

  10. planetross says:

    I’m amazed at how many things I believe that are not believed by other people: not shocked … just amazed.
    … I’m amazed quite easily and often for some reason, but never judgemental … because I didn’t take that at university … or look good in a wig.

  11. shoutabyss says:

    You can’t be serious!!!

  12. I know you don’t want to talk about them, but what about those people who eat mushrooms, are quiet, and try to be patient but occasionally fly off the handle? How do they deal with mosquito bites?

    Someone once told me that slapping the bite works, and it always has. Maybe it’s the same theory – applying pressure? The X-mark seems a little less violent so I’m definitely going to give it a try.

    Last week I tried to enjoy the full moon, sitting out on the deck with a glass of wine, surrounded by no fewer than six large, brand new Citronella candles. The mosquitos seemed to take this as a dare — and they won.

    Now I’m itchy from writing about it.

  13. I had a very close friend when I was a teenager that used to swear by this trick. Honestly I have never tried it because thankfully I don’t have much of a reaction to mosquito bites. It makes me wonder though, you’re not my very close friend from when I was a teenager are you? lol!

  14. pattypunker says:

    and what is the cure for accidentally eating a mushroom? sometimes they are camoflouged by the sauce and launch a sneak attack in my mouth. blecccchhhhh.

    also, great vid. rip clarence.

  15. Kim Pugliano says:

    How about spider bites? Does the same rule apply? What if (like me) you’re allergic to said spider bites and instead of being roughly the size of a mosquito bite it swells up to at least two inches in diameter, sometimes up to 5, right there on my calf for the world to point, make faces and whisper about me to their family and friends with me standing right in front of them watching them? Shall I use a knife to make the “X?” Maybe a machete?

    Please advise.

    • omawarisan says:

      Spider bites are a whole other category. In the case you describe. you should wrap your leg in a bandage and then tell people you were attacked by lumberjacks.

  16. pegoleg says:

    I am always the one doing the mosquito slap-dance at outdoor functions, while all around me are enjoying themselves. Since you are the ultimate magnet, care to come along on my next outing as my decoy/date?

  17. I’m a staunch supporter of that technique. It’s real.

  18. Patricia says:

    You need to take a B6 supplement–then you wouldn’t get bit in the first place.

  19. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    I found the easiest thing to do was to just move. So, I packed up and left Minnesota, where mosquitos don’t just bite, they lift your bed and carry you out into the humid, sticky hot Minnesota evening where they can comfortably share you with their brethren. They have yet to find me here in Idaho. But I’m certain my DNA is still living in the guts of quite a few mosquitos in Minneapolis. The bastards…I didn’t give them permission to take my blood.

  20. The Jagged Man says:

    Love the use of John McEnroe as an visual aid but the caption is like McD’s “I’m loving it!” And yes the technique in question does work……just do not ask me how.

  21. How long does the remedy last?

    I have a little expertise in this area as well. First, to avoid getting bitten, you should take brewers yeast. It’s as disgusting to mosquitoes as it is to humans. People down here get their intake by eating vegemite. It’s awful but it seems to work. If you do get bitten, dab some lemon grass oil or eucalyptus oil on the bite. Once in the morning and once and night and you won’t itch. Also, household disinfectants like lysol work too.

    Have a great summer!

    • Ummm… couldn’t I just rub the brewers yeast on my skin? My mom used to make us eat that stuff as kids (health food nut). makes me want to retch just thinking about it!

      • omawarisan says:

        There is a place on the Outer Banks of NC called Outer Banks Brewing Station…because that’s where it is and that’s what they do. They make a killer lemon grass beer. I’m going to have some and see if that combination of yeast and lemon grass helps.

  22. Queen says:

    Ahhh, Oma. Growing up in the South, we learn remedies like this. Yes it does work…for a short time. Unfortunately, like you, Oma, I am a mosquito magnet. So much so that when I do get bitten, they often tend to swell up to about 2 -3 inches, to the size of large welts. Had to take medicine as a kid. Now, I just itch like crazy. The X thing doesn’t work too well on the large bites. 😦

  23. I too am skeeter candy. Always have been. And reading your post reminded me of this cure, and that I used to use it effectively as a kid. But then I was also convinced that I could speak telpathically with the family dog. Thanks for shaking the rust from the brain-cogs and reminding me… I’ll be needing this after a day in the garden.

  24. spencercourt says:

    My “cure” is to stay inside during the feeding hours….

    Doesn’t “Off” work?

  25. gmom says:

    I seem to remember this remedy from “days of yore”.
    You mark the bite with your nail, make the turn and say, tick tock the game is locked and nobody else can play. Hey!
    Yeah, that’s it.

  26. savanvleck says:

    Growing up in the old onion fields of northwest Indiana, and being a magnet for mosquitoes, I was taught the press your nail in and turn it. It does work, but not forever. It needs to be repeated, repeatedly. Your best bet is to marry someone who is an even bigger mosquito draw. That’s what I did and I’m never bothered by them now. His blood must be tastier.

    I would think about the taser trick but my aim is pretty bad and I’m sure I would miss the mosquito and taser myself.

  27. Katybeth says:

    I want it to work…I would try it but believe it or not I am very seldom bitten–In fact so seldom I am almost insulted. Cole on the other hand attracts mosquitoes like he has Kool Aid for blood. I will share your idea.
    i have no problem if someone else wants to solve my problems—mosquitoes or otherwise. I may not always take their solutions but they are free to interpret and suggest any old time.

  28. I used to do that all the time when I was a kid, Oma…somehow, I’d forgotten about it! Luckily, we don’t have many mosquitoes around here…lots of birds and bats to keep them under control!

    Wendy


So, what's on your mind?

