On Wikipedia, All Roads Lead To Philosophy

Image representing Wikipedia as depicted in Cr...

Image via CrunchBase

Today’s post is not another example of the high brow literature that you expect here at Blurt. Today, I am going for my own internet meme, the type of thing that you might receive in an email that has been forwarded 75 times by the time it gets to you. Today we’re talking Wikipedia and Philosophy.

Did you know that everything on Wikipedia connects to the Wikipedia page for philosophy? My son recently told me about this and I spent far too much time awed by it. It is time for me to pass it on to you. It is Friday, you’re at work, you need something to take up your time until the weekend.

Here’s How This Works

Go to the Wikipedia site and search any word. When the page for that word comes up, click the first link on that page. An important point here – click on the first word in the definition, not on pronunciations etc. Do the same for each succeeding page until you reach philosophy.

Let’s do one together shall we?

Go to the Wikipedia page.

Cup = Philosophy

Socrates

Socrates thinking about Wikipedia (Image by lentina_x via Flickr)

For this example, we’ll search on the word cup. Type cup in the search box and hit enter. When you get to the cup page, click the first link which is drinkware.

On the drinkware page, click the first link – beverages.

When you get to the beverage page it gets tricky. Don’t click on the links in italics or in the administrative stuff about improving the entry. Click on liquid, the first link in the actual definition.

On the liquid page, again, click on the first link in the definition, not on the italicized link for disambiguation. Click on states of matter.

On the state of matter page, click phases.

Let’s speed this up. After clicking phases, if you keep clicking that first link in the definition you will land on the following pages: phase, physical sciences, natural science, science, knowledge, facts, information, sequence, mathematics, quantity, property, modern philosophy and…..philosophy.

So there you have it, my contribution to lowering your productivity today. Try it with your own words. All day.

36 Comments on “On Wikipedia, All Roads Lead To Philosophy”

  1. shoutabyss says:

    I tried it for the word “hammer” and it worked. Wow.

    This is really deep.

  2. Todd Pack says:

    “Philosphy” is the Kevin Bacon of Wikipedia.

  3. madtante says:

    Mine doesn’t work and I tried it again to be sure. I chose a common noun. The problem, I believe, is that the first link is a proper noun. I got excited when it went through a few more and ended up on “taxonomically.” After that, it went into a loop of the same several few links (human, family, languages…).

    That or it was operator error. I used first links that weren’t pronunciation.

  4. Debbie says:

    My son told me about this, too — must be something on College Humor or some such. I haven’t tried it out yet, but I’m willing to bet he has!

  5. We found him Captain!! says:

    I clicked on disambiguation by mistake and the power went out in the whole neighborhood. Now I’m in deep do-do. Maybe I’ll resume after the power comes back on.

  6. I think you’ve stumbled upon a new insight into the fundamental intellectual richness of our lives! I tried it with Johnny Rotten and got to philosophy on the second click!

  7. Jane says:

    How profound that something a mundane as a cup is cleverly intertwined with philosophy. Of course, not all cups are mundane. For instance the World Cup trophy–it doesn’t look like a cup at all–is not mundane. The world is a magnificent conundrum, indeed.

    This will give me something to do while I wait for your important mail to come in. Thanks for the diversion.

    • omawarisan says:

      I noticed that about the women’s world cup. They couldnt find a trophy show to make a cup?

      • Jane says:

        Speaking of cups, why is it that the best cups don’t do their jobs? Cups should contain things; however, the one that is most revered is the one that “runneth over.”

        So, philosophically, is the metaphor instructing us not to do our jobs correctly? I can do that!

        Fame awaits.

  8. […] Somehow I don’t think so. Today’s post is not another example of the high brow literature that you expect here at Blurt. Today, I am going for my own internet meme, the type of thing that you might receive in an email that has been forwarded 75 times by the time it gets to you. Today we’re talking Wikipedia and Philosophy. Did you know that everything on Wikipedia connects to the Wikip … Read More […]

  9. The Jagged Man says:

    I entered “poop”, because after a thirteen hour, eleven stop and two hundred and thirty odd mile day I apparently turning into a fifteen year old boy mentally. I got to philosophy in (I think) five clicks. Nice!

  10. Betty says:

    Vicodin got me there in 12 clicks. Who on earth ever sat down and figured this out to begin with (I mean, especially the 4 or 5+ click journeys?)

  11. Maxim says:

    That’s so frustrating. I’ll never win.

  12. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    I’m going to take everyone’s word for it and believe that it works every time. Though, I do wonder what happens if you try the word, “philosophy.” Does it take you to the word, “cup”?

    And that should keep you all busy for a little while.

  13. Tammy says:

    Amazing. My 12 yo son says “of course, it does. Wikipedia was invented by a philosopher.”

  14. Blogdramedy says:

    This is too deep for me. I’m more into philosophy-lite. Beer good is about as deep as I get. 🙂

  15. KathiD says:

    It just goes to show it’s All Philosophy. All of it.

    Don’t even think about asking all of “what” because that would show that you are not a philosopher.

    Probably.

  16. xacrest says:

    Alcohol = Philosophy. Not that anyone ever doubted it ^^

  17. linlah says:

    If yo start with phylosophy do you end up at cup.

  18. gmom says:

    I’m going to take your word on this for now.
    As soon as I retire it’s on my bucket list.

  19. Kat says:

    I tried vagina, and it directed me to Wiktionary instead of Wikipedia, so apparently, women confuse even philosophers.


So, what's on your mind?

