The Blurt Blog Art Contest

It is time for a major change to Blurt. It will still be the place to be if you feel the need to read some of the words that have to come out of me. I just need to change the look of the place you go to read those words.

I hired a decorator a few months ago who pushed me into a blog background template a little more garish than what I had. I just was not a fan of what I ended up with.

Keisuke Miyagi

The Feng Shui Master (Image via Wikipedia)

So I hired a master of blog feng shui. He began guiding me toward a more balanced look. He helped rid me of the loud color scheme I had, then he sent me out to wax his car.

When I came back inside, he pointed to the picture I had on my page header, the photo of me in a kayak. He asked “what does this have to do with anything?” I couldn’t answer. It had nothing to do with why I write or why you keep showing up here to read.

“The spirit of the blog must radiate from the top of the page”, he said, “radiant spirit illuminates the words of the blog.”

I wondered aloud about what the spirit of the blog was. Master Miyagi said that to find the spirit I should go to the people.

Takin’ It To The Streets

The feng shui master sort of left me hanging. I wondered what he meant about finding the spirit by going to the people. He refused to answer me.

Actually, he didn’t so much refuse as demand an additional $1200. I opted out of the contract at that point.

So now I come to you all for help. The feng shui master has left Blurt without a header picture. I want you to help fix that.

Art Contest! Art Contest!

I’m having an art contest. Perhaps you saw that coming.

I am looking for the best artistic representation of what this blog is about. The winner will appear in the header of Blurt and receive other valuable prizes, including The Grandest Prize Of Them All.

Before I reveal The Grandest Prize Of Them All, a few ground rules:

  1. The goal is to find a graphic representation of Blurt and/or the spirit of this website. Paint it, draw it, whatever. Just remember that I will need it digitally photographed or scanned to put it up on the blog. Statues are probably not a good choice. Well…maybe they are, if you can photograph them when you’re done. I think I’ve beaten rule one to death, how about you? Let’s move on.
  2. Don’t get me into copyright hassles. If I had the cash to pay copyright attorneys, I’d have put more money into The Grandest Prize Of Them All, even though I’m sure you’ll agree it is pretty much the grandest.
  3. I’m not sure yet how judging will be done.
  4. Anyone can enter. Some really talented people read this blog. They are eligible. Some people who lack artistic talent read this blog. They are eligible. A stick figure cartoon could win this. So could the next version of the Sistine Chapel, or a picture of a statue you made. Statues of pictures automatically lose. I hate those.
  5. I will display all the entries on Blurt. I will link your entry back to your blog or whatever site you want. Alright, pretty much any site.
  6. The winning entry will be the header on Blurt for a long time. I don’t know if that’s a long time in dog years or on Pluto. Not the dog, Pluto. Pluto the maybe, maybe not planet.
  7. Since the header is sort of narrow and likely will only show a sliver of the winning creation, I will display the entire work on my about page, with links back to the winner’s site. If you don’t have a site for me to link to, you are still eligible.
  8. Rule 8 is just here to emphasize rule 4. Artists of all skill level are eligible.
  9. A song would work too. I’d find a way.
  10. Please let me know you’d like to enter by making a comment on this post. If you want to comment and not enter, that is cool too.

The Grandest Prize Of Them All

Now, friends, comes the announcement of The Grandest Prize Of Them All.

Do you know what it is like to buy a Justin Bieber Singing Toothbrush? I do. I bought it for you. I was in a drug store on an errand, saw the Justin Bieber Singing Toothbrush and bought it on impulse. I thought I’d use it here somehow, and I was right.

Do you know the look a cashier gives a middle aged man buying AA batteries and a Justin Bieber Singing Toothbrush? I do, but I don’t know if I can put it into words. I knew I’d get that look but I bought it anyhow. For you. Because I love you all.

Return the love. Enter the contest. Don’t be shy.

I bought a Justin Bieber Singing Toothbrush, I wasn’t shy.

Humiliated, but not shy.

65 Comments on “The Blurt Blog Art Contest”

  1. How long is the contest on for? I’m still away on holiday but will be at my work station come the 6th. I’d so love to throw my two cents worth in!

    • omawarisan says:

      Oh I figure a couple of weeks. That’s one of the reasons I wanted people to speak up here so I could know who was interested and make an effort to not shut anyone out. Enjoy the holiday and I’ll look forward to your 2 cents.

      • Ignore my question. I should read comments before replying. I should read comments before replying. I should read comments before replying. I should read comments before replying. I should read comments before replying. . . . .

  2. Lenore Diane says:

    Entering contest. No comment.

  3. shoutabyss says:

    I will enter. And, when done, I will throw my sword at you and yell, “Are you not entertained?”

    • omawarisan says:

      And I will cringe and fall to my knees and some blood will come out of the corner of my mouth because that’s the way it”s done in kung fu movies.

      This is a kung fu movie right?

  4. Christy says:

    Hmmmm this will surely be a monumental task. I may have to see if I can come up with something.

    The real challenge is coming up with something that encompasses such a upstanding and serious blog! The creative juices are churning.
    Burp…. ‘scuse me.

  5. Amy says:

    Oh, why not? I’m in.

  6. Pie says:

    Oive gots ta give it a try, ain’t I, guvnor? Personally, I think the stick man will win.

  7. Is there a deadline? I need about a week or so. I really want a Justin Bieber toothbrush. In fact, I refuse to brush my teeth until I win this thing.

    • omawarisan says:

      I knew that would bring the entries in. I had a $10,000 grant from the National Endowment for the Arts for this project, but I turned it down when I found the Bieber Brush.

  8. Todd says:

    I was going to enter, but I don’t want a Justin Bieber toothbrush, because that’s the kind of thing that’s hard to explain to people.

    “It’s a prize. I came up with the header image for this guy’s website, and he gave me a Justin Bieber toothbrush.” Um, what kind of website? “Oh, he just blogs about stuff, and he has this Angelina Jolie doll that he sends to people, and they take pictures of the doll and send it back.” OK. (Backs away slowly.) “No, wait, it’s all in fun! He’s just being ironic! Hello?”

    So, could you make it a Selina Gomez toothbrush instead? Thanks!

  9. madtante says:

    Interest was piqued until mention of the toothbrush.

    Nothing against Master Bieber. I don’t know any of his work (although #3niece showed me his photo). I just don’t have any teeth that are up to singing.

  10. Kim Pugliano says:

    OH. MY. GOD. I so wish I had some kind of inkling of artistic ability. I might have to think long and hard and consult my artsy friends because a JUSTIN BIEBER TOOTHBRUSTH? Does he have swishy hair in it? I want that so bad. I didn’t even know they EXISTED. You know I’m not artistic because the picture I have on my blog is of my dog for heaven’s sake (although she is so pretty, isn’t she?)

    I really hope I can do this.

    • omawarisan says:

      You’ve seen my lack of artistic prowess. The winner could come from either end of the spectrum.

      The box does have the swishy hair. I haven’t opened it to see the brush or listen to it.

  11. Laura says:

    Second prize was going to be two Justin Bieber Singing Toothbrushes, wasn’t it? Until you realized that meant you’d have to buy three of them…

  12. Jane says:

    I can’t pass up an opportunity to win my well-deserved 15 minutes of fame–I’m in.

    Where’s my pallette knife? Gotta go

  13. Spectra says:

    Okay. You WANT me in this contest.

    A few questions, first. You can answer in the comment section of any of my recent posts, or old. Whatever.

    What is a much beloved hobby or interest of yours? If you liked kayaking, I must say, I always loved your kayaking photo, and I never questioned it. You had many fans, the quaity of what you write is unrelated to your header…it said to me, “moving along into the wide open” and that left you room to be creative, follow the flows of life, ride the weather…basically, it said ‘you’ as I would come to know you, through your blog. I never questioned your decision, and it was never an interuption, just appeared to me to be a personal choice, which gave me a glimpse into your…desires?

    On second thought, I have no second question.

    Fire the idiot who is telling you what to do with this blog. Book learning fails here. In fact, I hate the dark color of this blog, I despise the thin, anorexic look of the type font. I hate straining to see your words, your thoughts, your communication. Brighten up. Go back to what worked. If ‘sales’ are down, meaning comment count and viewer stats, its summer, and Thank God, people are living outside and hopefully Living Out Loud, too!

    Make your own decisions. This has served you well all along, won you many fans, and kept me coming back. I come back for the thoughts, the humor, the way you express an idea. But this dark crap, making it so hard to read, making me feel dark, sinister, a voyeur…fire the guy.

    I may still create a scribble or painting, but what it will be is just a subtle, altered view of your original heading; you on a kayak. or whoever it is in the kayak. That is what I think of you. It tells me (about you), “I like this”. And that is good enough for me. I do not need to be manipulated into liking the quality of your writing. I just need to be able to READ that quality of that writing!

    Enuff Said. Dammit.

    – Spectra @ http://spectrumwoman.com

    • Spectra says:

      – still not done raging here…I also miss your long colorful column of commentors. That made it easy to click to a post, or click to another bloggers posts, and discover another thread of intelligence out there.

      • omawarisan says:

        Yup…I want you in the contest!

        I do like to kayak, but not that crazy white water stuff.

        On the design thing, I can change things. Thanks for letting me know what you think! I’ll Put the comments back up directly. I thought I was the only one messing with that.

        • Spectra says:

          – Love searching and reading the comments. Plus, this current look is too dark, and those of us who wear glasses, well, that is now me, and my prescription does not fit this dark look…what was this web designer guy – 29 yrs or less? Because he/she is out of touch with your age group. Yes, expand, by all means. But, please, do not leave us loyal readers behind!

    • Laura says:

      Yeah, um… Oma, you should feel extremely flattered that I like your blog enough to read it despite the white-on-black color scheme.

  14. Now if the prize was a Justin Bieber hair brush and it would confer his tresses on the user . . .

    I look forward to seeing the outcome but I have no artistic leanings so I’ll sit this one out.

  15. Luda says:

    How do you feel about an entry from someone with zero artistic ability? Some people find my drawings ‘amusing’ and say things like, ‘Hahahaha, did you have a seizure while you were drawing that?’ so overall I think they’re well received.

    • omawarisan says:

      You and I seem to have similar ability levels. You should absolutely enter. If you haven’t seen my drawings yet, you will. They appear here semi regularly. I’d do them more, but the creative effort is so exhausting.

  16. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    I’m afraid to try because your blog is so unique and quirky and individual that I don’t know how an image could portray the brilliant oddness of it. I’ll try, though. My medium? I’m thinking crayons…

  17. Maxim says:

    I’m not really keen for drawing contests, but allusions to Mr. Miyagi make me so happy. Did you know that the first blog post I wrote on my blog was all about Karate Kid??

    • omawarisan says:

      Miyagi was the first character I made on my son’s Wii…Ok, except for the one that is me. My Miyagi and my me on Wii look exactly like the originals. If I could enter this contest with Wii, game over.

      Wii Miyagi is a hell of a golfer.

  18. Jason says:

    I would love to enter this contest. Only thing is, my art skills aren’t as great as I’d like them to be. I think that’s pretty apparent when looking at my blog.

  19. linlah says:

    Impulse buying can lead to other bad habits you know.

  20. KathiD says:

    As much as I want that toothbrush, I am not entering, due to a complete lack of drawing skills.

    Here’s the thing, though. I do have a contribution, which you may very well choose to reject: I would love to see your blog go black on white. I do understand that it may be a religious preference or something. So, you know.

    • omawarisan says:

      Won’t drag you in, but remember that it can be anything artistic, at whatever level of skill.

      I got a couple complaints about white on black, beyond the ones in the comments here. Fixed!

      • KathiD says:

        Good grief, I have never gotten such a quick response to a request in my life! I thought I was going blind when I got here and it was so bright.

        But then I realized that I wasn’t blind! I can read the words! Oh boy!

  21. omawarisan says:

    The first entry just arrived in my email box. Remarkable speed and creativity!

  22. shoutabyss says:

    Whoa. Have I entered a parallel universe? I thought the blog was white on black but now I see black on white. Is this a negative? Am I really here?

  23. Blogdramedy says:

    White, then black then white, again. Checking your blog lately I figure you must be channeling Michael Jackson. I’m not sure what you’re thinking about here “but, if you’re thinking about my baby, it don’t matter if you’re black or white.” I’ll still read.

    As for the contest…I love, love, love the idea. I can’t do anything with my hands other than write and at times, even that is debatable. However, I have a killer idea so I’ll see if I can get someone to execute it for me. *snort*

  24. planetross says:

    I can’t remember the photo of you in a canoe on your blogheader! … probably people don’t see the woman walking a pig in my blogheader either … so we are even, but I’m a little evener than you.
    I will enter this contest and sharpen up my pencil crayons.
    I will scrawl till my hands bleed.
    I will enter this contest and pull out my camera.
    I will snap till my hands bleed.
    I will enter this contest and pull out my grade one paint set.
    I will paint till my hands bleed.

    I cut my finger on a broken glass, so I’m halfway there.
    I’m in on this one!

  25. omawarisan says:

    Two more entries came in last night…three ideas total in so far!

  26. Brooke says:

    I’m intrigued… time to start searching for vector art.

  27. […] The Blurt Blog Art Contest (blurts.wordpress.com) 35.410694 -80.842850 Share this:FacebookStumbleUponDiggTwitterEmailPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  28. […] special note: omawarisan over at Blurt needs a new header on his blog and is having a contest! I’ve submitted my entry: you should check out all the clever entries over at his blog. The […]

  29. […] Blurt Art Contest started with a rush of entries and then sort of tailed off. I think I’ll take that as a sign […]


So, what's on your mind?

