Blurt Blog Art Contest: Entries For Week One

The coveted Bieber Brush. I don't know why he looks so angry.

One week ago, I announced the Blurt Blog Art Contest. It was one of those ideas I had and thought “hey, why not?” It was my expert opinion that I’d get maybe three entries.

As usual, I was wrong. I was overwhelmed by the number of interested people. The entries started flowing in the next day. I appreciate all the interest.

If you are planning or working on an entry, please keep going. This is not a post wrapping up the contest. I’m just going to post groups of entries as they come in to my email box.

I linked each entry so you can click and see the artists work in its full size. I especially encourage you to click on Jane and Brooke’s entries. They were formatted for the longer, narrower space they are intended for at the top of the blog. I had to display them smaller than they intended in order to fit them into the narrower space in this part of the blog.

So here are the entries that have come in so far, in the order I received them. Behold the first group of competitors for the coveted Justin Bieber Singing Toothbrush.

Hippie Cahier

The first entries of the contest came in from Hippie Cahier.

She built my long-term tag line “Some Words That Have To Come Out Of Me” and the Gigantor character into her entries.

Blurt is not a very high scoring Scrabble word.

Gigantorrrrrrrrrrr!

The game gets more complex whenever The Singing Guy is on the board.

Ross

Ross writes the blog I Am The Cheese, which I highly recommend. I recommend it, even for the lactose intolerant.

Ross explains that his entry is also based around the “words that have to come out of me” concept and the idea that air rushes out of a balloon quite quickly.

Blurt, blocks and balloons

A slightly different angle

A little air and some pins to emphasize the point.

Cole

Cole is the son of Katybeth, writer of Odd Loves Company.

Cole went pen and ink on us to produce his entry of a gull blurting before a skyline.

I'm getting a strong Chicago/Sears Tower feel here. I love Chicago.

Jane

Jane has been a loyal reader for a long time. I appreciate everyone that stops by and reads what I do, but since this section is titled Jane I’m going to say thank you to Jane. Thank you, Jane.

Jane’s entry sheds some light on a lot of the key words and topics covered here at Blurt.

Wow, she even remembers the wrong number post!

Brooke

Brooke writes (and photographs) the site Shutterboo. She has also recently opened her own photography business. If you are in need of photographic services you should move to Louisville, KY so she can help you out.

Brooke produced two very different entries for the contest.

A little bit of the robot concept

Oh yeah, if I ever get a tattoo it will have the Jack Handy line on it. The tattoo will not be on the side of my neck.

Thank you to all who’ve entered so far. Keep those ideas coming. If you’ve said you’re interested I will give you plenty of notice before I close off entries. It isn’t that time yet.

38 Comments on “Blurt Blog Art Contest: Entries For Week One”

  1. These are great! I wish I was so creative!

  2. shoutabyss says:

    I’m in awe. All of those are simply incredible. I am now shredding my entry. It’s not worthy!

  3. Pauline says:

    Wow! Those are some very creative entries! Awesome job guys! 🙂

  4. Todd Pack says:

    Nicely done. Kudos to the Hipster for finding that Gigantor head!

  5. I’m impressed by the creativity and originality. How will you ever decide? Maybe The Jolie can select a winner.

  6. KathiD says:

    I propose a contest involving fisticuffs for the final decision. That way, artistic talent won’t be a requirement.

    Let me know, in case I want to submit an entry.

  7. KathiD says:

    What is Justin Bieber singing on the singing toothbrush. That might be important.

  8. KathiD says:

    Question marks are for wimps and sissies.

  9. Laura says:

    These are really great. I’m jealous. I’d have an art contest of my own, but what I really need is a redesign-my-entire-blog contest.

  10. planetross says:

    Very cool stuff.
    For some reason, Cole’s entry makes me laugh everytime I look at it.
    I think most bloggers feel like that little bird.

  11. The Jagged Man says:

    Nice!

  12. Lenore Diane says:

    Holy smokes, Oma. You have some seriously talented followers. These are fantastic.

  13. Betty says:

    These are all fantastic!

  14. Pie says:

    I would’ve got on to this sooner but I was otherwise indisposed. I’m glad you’re extending the deadline on this fine competition, but having seen the fantastic entries here (and I’m sure there’ll be many more to come), I wonder if I should just pull out now and continue to admire the talent. You really do have some quality bloggers here, Oma. And how can I get a Gigantor? In the UK? I love silly little plastic characters.

  15. linlah says:

    You have your work cut out for you with all those great entries.

  16. tsanda says:

    blurt you are turning into quite the famous blogger these days. Getting people to do your work for you in the guise of a “contest” I like it. I do a nightly whoever makes me the best dinner contact. Winner is always me.

  17. Jane says:

    Your welcome, Oma!

  18. […] Blurt Art Contest started with a rush of entries and then sort of tailed off. I think I’ll take that as a sign that just about everyone who […]

  19. dottiemaggie says:

    the letter blocks and balloons made me happy. they’re all pretty awesome, but that one made me smile and I had to say so. 🙂


So, what's on your mind?

