Five Routine Minutes: Airbrushed Truck Art

I went on a quick road trip this weekend.

As I headed up the highway, I noticed a pick up truck as it went past. It stood out because it had a mural painted on its tailgate. I kept an eye on the truck because I love seeing what people blow their paychecks on. I was fortunate that traffic allowed me to catch up with it and enjoy the painting.

Airbrush art is always uncool.

The truck was not in great shape. It seemed like the owner had not put much money into his vehicle other than to have the tailgate painted. Perhaps some day he will spend a few more dollars on taking care of it. Maybe he’ll put one of those classy wings on it.

Maybe he could change the oil

The painting spanned the whole tailgate of the truck. It was a lovely pastoral scene. Not pastoral like a church pastor; it depicted a lovely green field. Everyone who knows me knows I love a lovely green painting of a field. This one was different than most paintings of a field

Perhaps it was the guy being stabbed.

Yes, a guy being stabbed. In a lovely field. He was lying on his back and there was a guy with a sword about to stab him as he was lying there defenseless. This little event was occurring near the middle of the painting. To the left of that, in the painting, was a depiction of the truck.

A lovely pastoral scene, with truck and stabbing.

So a lovely field, with a man being stabbed by another man. One or both of them presumably arrived by truck.  They were not alone. Someone else was in the painting. It was Jesus.

Well, it was not all of him. It was just Jesus’ head, floating over the field. It (or he) was facing toward the stabbing. It was very odd looking. I don’t know why Jesus wouldn’t bring his entire being out to the lovely field.

A lovely pastoral scene with truck, stabbing and Him.

I tried to come up with a title for this work of art. After considerable thought, I have decided that the title of the painting is…

I've named the painting after what I think Jesus was saying.

 

25 Comments on “Five Routine Minutes: Airbrushed Truck Art”

  1. I remember when our Sunday school teacher taught us this story. From the Book of Dodge, as I recall. Chapter 454, was it? I believe Jesus’ line was verse 12.

    Thank you for this vivid re-portrait of a vivid re-portrait.

  2. What a coincidence. I was just considering having that exact scene tattooed across my upper back.

  3. Todd Pack says:

    I’m assuming the owner of the truck commissioned the airbrush artist to paint this picture. Do you suppose the artist ever had a conversation with the owner of the truck about what he was trying to say with the picture? “OK, and you want Jesus in the picture, right?” “Just his head.” “OK, you want Jesus’ head in the picture, and he’s watching this guy about to stab the other guy in the back.” “Uh-huh.” “OK, now, what do you think Jesus is thinking…?”

  4. Pie says:

    Made you think about Jesus, didn’t it? I guess it did its job. Love the drawings, Oma. More of this, please.

  5. Jane says:

    You encounter some very strange situations for someone who doesn’t seem at all strange. Don’t drive in lightning storms!

    • omawarisan says:

      I think I’ve gotten to where I talk a lot about things when I see them and it helps me remember stuff. I’m kind of quiet, but I talk a lot about goofy stuff that I see.

  6. Gee, I wonder who that guy is going to vote for for president.

  7. Lenore Diane says:

    Sooo…. this wasn’t some random ‘wash me’ picture someone wrote on a dirt covered truck. This was an actual airbrushed scene? Wow. Yeah. I got nothing.

  8. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    The ceiling in the Sistine Chapel is a mere cartoon compared to this mobile work of art. That is some profound thinking going on in that truck. Profound thinking and profuse drinking, I guess.

  9. planetross says:

    I bet the guy getting stabbed by the sword was thinking, “Great! an omniscient bystander!”

    note: “omniscient bystanders” don’t usually do anything … that we hear about.

  10. linlah says:

    Jesus never attends tailgate paintings as a whole being that’s, for sure, in the bible somewhere.

  11. dottiemaggie says:

    sacred heart of mary… is there a need?
    I wonder if the painting was in memory of a fallen homie, or a warning about what he does to people who fuck with his truck. . .

    . . . bet buddy gettign stabbed pissed in his gas tank.


So, what's on your mind?

