The More Things Change, The More They Stay The Same.

A long time ago, I used to look in on my son before I left for work. He didn’t take up much space in his big bed. It was nice to see him resting well between his long days in the land of Social Studies, Spelling, Addition and Recess.

It was always moment of peace before I went off to get battered by my day.

An example of use of layers in a GIS applicati...

GIS (Image via Wikipedia)

The train brought him home for fall break yesterday afternoon. Three well-earned days of home cooking, not fighting seven suite mates for shower time before an 8 a.m. class and sleeping in the once big bed.

This morning, I looked in on my son before I left for work.  He takes up most of the bed. It was nice to see him resting well between his long days in the land of Forestry Economics, Geographic Information System, Environmental Policy and the girl from the band.

Some feelings don’t change.

Welcome home.

18 Comments on “The More Things Change, The More They Stay The Same.”

  1. Wendi says:

    Enjoy those few days of having Omason home.

  2. We Found Him Captain! says:

    YES! Welcome home. How was the beefy goodness?

  3. Todd Pack says:

    Maybe you should call in sick today and tomorrow.

  4. planetross says:

    3 days of home cooked meals!
    I’m in.

    I think my mom used to think the same way when I came home, but then I stayed for 6 years. hee hee!

    note: I don’t think she minded me around: I liked everything she made and even enjoyed Matlock and Murder She Wrote.

  5. Spectra says:

    It’s great that you appreciate your son this much. My parents were welcoming when I would travel the 3,000 miles home to visit. But once I moved back, the love fest was over. It was juvenile humiliations again, all over.

  6. KathiD says:

    You kind of like that boy, don’t you? (Oops! I should call him a young man now, shouldn’t I?)

  7. Anonymous says:

    Lucky you, lucky son! Mine comes home for fall break next week, and we can’t wait. Watching your kids sleep is a parent’s privilege and delight, especially as they become young adults and spend less time under mom and dad’s roof! Enjoy him while you can!

  8. Betty says:

    Fall break already? What does your tuition money pay for? (Saw the comment about Queen. You MUST post that vid.)

    • omawarisan says:

      Now that you mention it, I’m not sure. He needs to get back on the train.

      Actually, he is sitting here doing homework.

      They are running that Queen show twice, they did it last week. I don’t think he is happy that there are some gaps due to illness, but here it is…

  9. Lenore Diane says:

    Sweet. I check on my boys every night before I go to sleep. I love the fact that I can still see their baby faces while they sleep. Of course, in the morning, they are clearly not the babies I see (or think I see) at night.
    Have a wonderful time with your, son.

  10. Katybeth says:

    Two nights before Joe died I walked by Cole’s room and he was standing by Cole’s bed-when I asked if anything was wrong he said, “No, I just find it so reassuring to see him sleeping safely and soundly.” Yep one of the most reassuring feelings in the whole world.


So, what's on your mind?

