Bye Bye Time Warner

Well, the internet is out at my house.

Time Warner is supposedly getting it fixed. I’ve had enough of them. This adds up to me letting them fix it, then dumping them for AT&T.

Yeah, I know they’re both lousy in their own special ways, but I will just feel better (at least temporarily) thumbing my nose at one of them.

The upshot of this is that I couldn’t work on a post for today. So I am referring you to a post from last year about everyone’s favorite seasonal candy/grain.

Be strong. Don’t give in to the Pumpkin/Industrial Complex. Carve something else.

27 Comments on “Bye Bye Time Warner”

  1. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    Bummmmmerrrrr! I need my Blurt fix! I love that link post, though. It’s the one that brought me here – to the dark side.

  2. I tried carving Halloween tofu. It was a mess. I am sad.

  3. Lenore Diane says:

    Hmm… I am thinking if ditching AT&T for Comcast. Any thoughts on Comcast? Hope you are back up and running soon.

  4. Z.N. Singer says:

    I just finished dusting my hands of AT&T a month or two ago. Not only was the service unreliable, but apparently it is a nightmare getting them to send you a tech. But most of all, I realized that they are inherently dishonest. The AT&T speed test? The one they have links and suggestions to use peppered throughout every paragraph of their online troubleshooting page? It’s a blatant fraud. I was using a 1.5 mbs max plan and it told me I was getting 3 mbs no matter how good or bad my internet was running. That’s not possible no matter how good a day it was. No legitimately designed test should do that.

  5. Anonymous says:

    Wow, you’re really struggling with this pumpkin thing. I’m sorry to hear about your access issues. I feel that pain. I’m working on a bracelet to wear on your behalf. I’m guessing I shouldn’t go with orange? Nonetheless, be strong.

  6. Blogdramedy says:

    Okay, you’ve convinced me to carve something else. I’m going with turkey. 🙂

  7. jennygoth says:

    carrots good for carving lol hope you are sorted soon ive just found you xxjen

  8. Spectra says:

    Is it so bad I partook of a Pumpkin Spice at my favorite local coffee shop this morning? What wil happen to me for this blatant violation?

    • Spectra says:

      p.s. I get my internet for free, via a generous neighbor who did not put a security lock on it. Therefore, when I lose the connection, I can’t complain. I mean, I DO complain, but noone listens to me. Nor should they. Nor would they. {shrugs, then boots up some more free internet}

  9. Laura says:

    I think the candy corn post was the first Blurt I ever read.

    Good luck with your Internet. Can you tether to your cell phone if you start going into withdrawal while it’s out?

  10. Todd Pack says:

    Congratulations on your decision to dump Time Warner. AT&T broadband includes access to ESPN 3, which lets you stream games to your PC, Xbox or Lord knows what all else.

  11. Pie says:

    We don’t get Time Warner or AT&T broadband here in Blighty, but if Time Warner is like Tiscali, our bête noire, then I feel deep sympathy for you.

    I’ve been with o2 since 2009 and I have not had a reason to complain yet. I’ve called the helpline only three times in two years and they have been fantastic. It’s particularly impressive, because most ISP helplines start to implode as soon as you tell them you’re on a mac. Being reasonably computer savvy makes the conversation easier, but I would still recommend them to anyone, because they don’t patronise you.

    Oma, if you were able to have it in your country, that’s the ISP I’d tell you to go for.

  12. planetross says:

    I’m fed up with paying taxes to this Government! … I will try to switch to another Government. hee hee!

    note: governments are really a “service based industry” … I usually feel like I’ve been serviced by them … or another word like that.
    (same goes for internet/gas/electricity/water/phone and other utility/futility companies)

  13. Maxim says:

    You should check out Verizon’s Vios. I heard it was incredible, but not available everywhere. I’m saying this from no personal experience by the way.


So, what's on your mind?

