The Jolie Pez Project: The Jolie In Louisville

The Jolie headed to Louisville from Chicago and ended up at Brooke’s house. Brooke writes (and photographs) a great site called Shutterboo which you should make a point to visit. The Jolie, in her own inconsiderate way, showed up while Brooke was in a particularly busy time at work. Because she lives off of other people, she doesn’t concern herself with what she mockingly calls “busy times” with those sort of dismissive finger quotation marks in the air. Brooke still showed our friend a great time…

After seeing many of The Jolie’s travels across the country, I had to host her in my hometown of Louisville.  I had great plans for us.  They involved skipping through downtown, playing the ponies and a bucket of original recipe.  Sadly, none of those things happened.  I believe The Jolie holds that against me.  But we started out right.  Being it was the weekend and football season is in full swing, we tailgated.

And we even shared a brew.  Mi cerveza es su cerveza.  In only this one circumstance.  I repeat: only this one time.

And then there was football.  I had no idea The Jolie was such a big fan – but she joined right in with the cheering.

“Gimme a C! A! R! D! S! What’s that spell? CARDS!”  Oh the good times we had that evening.  It was good for another Cards first down.
Even that same weekend, we hit up the local Irish Festival.  She swooned at the thought of limericks set to music and Guinness.  The band was pretty dope.  For an Irish band.
And we had a table for five at dinner – but we shared no beer.  I don’t know where the Jolie puts it, but she puts it somewhere.  The Jolie was cut off.
The Jolie even made new friends, who then photobombed.
But this is where things started going a little down hill.  Our fun Louisville adventures came to a halt as the nine-to-five picked up pace.  Tis the season for all things Medicare related and when that’s what your clients do, that’s what you do too.  The Jolie accompanied me to the office just to get out of the house.  And steer clear of the BDD.  (I feel the need to say I did try to take a picture of the Big Deaf Dog and The Jolie and all the BDD wanted to was eat her.  I saved her life.  And her little plastic backpack.)
And we saw several days where we arrived to work before the sun had risen.  And left work after it had set.
Some might see this as romantic.  But a six-inch, badass Jolie can actually make it a bit awkward.  Especially when you let her drive your car.
The Jolie kept busy… she did a little desk scaling, a little paper tearing, a little hanging from the ceiling lights… and she did me the honor of drawing a picture of Omawarisan.  Being that he is incognito and this Angel had actually seen Charlie, she obliged.

Maybe a week after early mornings and late nights of negotiating and building spreadsheets, she had had enough.  She told me it was time. Louisville did not impress her.

The Jolie wanted to see the world.  And she never got to taste the seven herbs and spices I promised her.  So we parted ways. I was extremely apologetic about not having shown her more of my awesome city, the one place I love more than any other in the world, but she wasn’t buying it. I do hope I get to meet her again.
Just maybe not during Medicare season.
Thank you to Brooke for hosting The Jolie and risking having her season tickets revoked by bringing her to the football game. The Jolie has moved on from Louisville to Detroit. She’s then heading to Florida with me before movinng on to several places she has promised to visit.
In other news, the Google Map of The Travels Of The Jolie has been finally brought up to date. You can always find it on the Jolie’s page on the top of this blog or by clicking here.
25 Comments on “The Jolie Pez Project: The Jolie In Louisville”

  1. Todd Pack says:

    Nice job, Brooke! I wonder, if you’d had more time, whether you could have somehow convinced the governor’s office to make her a Kentucky colonel?

  2. You really should have cut her off sooner. She is clearly wasted in the third photo. Action figures rarely know when to say when.

    • omawarisan says:

      The Jolie has a history of not having an off switch. At least this time she didn’t end up hooking up with He-Man or Gumby. She sort of drank and slept her way through her first Canadian tour.

  3. Wendi says:

    I can attest that Brooke is a first rate host so any grumbling by The Jolie should be taken with a salt lick. I can also attest that The Jolie is a temperamental guest whose presence at my house resulted in mayhem and a completely drained box of wine.

  4. shoutabyss says:

    I don’t know. I’ve never seen her look happier.

  5. Amy says:

    I didn’t know The Jolie was such an artist. It’s just as well that she was disappointed, or else she might never have left!

  6. Anonymous says:

    Boo, I’m sorry you didn’t get to host her visit during Derby days — it would have been totally worth it to see her sporting a fancy hat and drinking a mint julep!

  7. Jane says:

    Stunning photos. The paparazzi must be green with envy. Thanks for the tour!

  8. Betty says:

    Another great adventure! And thank you for expanding my vocabulary with Photobomb. I used to do something like that all the time when I worked in NYC but never knew it had a name. As I commuted through Grand Central Terminal, if I saw tourists posing for a photo, as I moved behind them I would flash a devil horns type gesture above someone’s head. There must be at least three dozen photos around the world with my hand above a head.

    • omawarisan says:

      She’s been having great adventures since the very first!

      I had to look up photobomb. Now that I know what it is, when my friends call me unprintable names for doing it I will call them the same thing and insist they respect my photobombing sklls

  9. Spectra says:

    I blame the Jolie for her timing – so rude to show up during Medicare Season! I’m assuming by “medicare season” Brooke means this year the CARDS are all a buncha retired players on medicare? That would explain a lot. I mean, I’m no sports fan, but at least the Philly teams are not yet AARP qualified.

  10. linlah says:

    I didn’t realize the Jolie was so shiny and such a drinker.

  11. […] The Jolie Pez Project: The Jolie In Louisville (blurtblog.net) […]

  12. […] The Jolie Pez Project: The Jolie In Louisville (blurtblog.net) 35.410694 -80.842850 GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_bg", "fafafa"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_border", "cccccc"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_text", "000000"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_link", "ca1e00"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_url", "e94325"); GA_googleAddAttr("LangId", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "movies"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "the-jolie-pez-project"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "angelina-jolie"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "celebrities"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "five-brothers-grocery"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "food"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "key-west"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "little-white-house"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "pepes-key-west"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "postaweek2011"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "southernmost-point"); GA_googleFillSlot("wpcom_sharethrough"); Share this:FacebookStumbleUponDiggTwitterEmailPrintLike this:Like4 bloggers like this post. […]


So, what's on your mind?

