It is October 31, 2011

Today is October 31, 2011. Two years from today it will be October 31, 2013.

Big Deal

Yes, it is a big deal. I will retire on October 31, 2013. I’ll be fifty-two years old.

I will close an empty locker. Two weeks earlier they will have taken my work equipment to allow me time to wrap things up. I will hug some people and then walk out the back door of my office for the last time.

At the end of that week, Human Resources will send out an email. The email will let people know who will take over my assignment. The line below that person’s name will say “Omawarisan, hire date 1/30/85, assigned to North East Sector, retired effective October 31”. Some people will read the email and swap a few stories about me. Others will think “who?” and then go back what they’re supposed to do.

I’ll be out there in the world, starting my second chance. I intend to enjoy it even more than the first one. If you’re hiring then, I will be looking. If you’re a literary agent, have your people call my people, I can start yesterday.

But It Is Still 2011

In today’s news, I am on work release today. I am on my way to a week away from it all. Away from everything but my great friends and a lot of laughs – I need a lot of both of those. And it is birthday week. I am going to enjoy this.

Blurt will keep rolling while I’m on the road. I’ve got stuff planned and may even write some new pieces while I’m gone – if my laptop and I find wi-fi when I’m in the mood to make words.

The Jolie has finished her soon to be published Detroit adventure and arrived at my house on Friday. She is headed south with me before heading out to her next destination.

Happy Halloween everyone!

And now, so I can say that I have wrung everything possible out of this idea, here is a watermelon jack-o-lantern.

44 Comments on “It is October 31, 2011”

  1. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    Sweet BEJEEZUS! A watermelonkin! Usurper! Phony! Charlatan! Ok, I’m done with that, too, though I still plan on sending you a pic of SPAMkin.

    My sister is retiring today. Today. October 31, 2011. I wish it were my day, but alas, that is a bit far off.

    Have a marvelous time off, dear Oma – we know you deserve it. Refresh yourself but get back here soon because your posts are elixir.

    • omawarisan says:

      And with your permission, I will immediately post the SPAMkin.

      Congrats to your sister. I think just completely stopping work is far off for most of us. I’m going to have to do something to keep a couple bucks coming in and stay healthy.

      Thank you so much, that is very kind of you.

  2. Todd Pack says:

    The best part of having a watermelon pumpkin: You get to eat the guts of the watermelon!

    Have a good vacation, although be careful. Don’t let the Jolie get you in trouble.

  3. Katybeth says:

    The Pioneer women has a recipe for pumpkin smoothies! I have the link for you but here are a few of the highlights

    * 1 can (15 Ounce) Pumpkin Pie Filling
    * 3 cups Whole Milk
    * 1/2 cup Vanilla Yogurt
    * A Few Dashes Of Cinnamon
    * Cinnamon Graham Crackers, Crushed

    Soothing to sip on your much needed get away! I like the watermelon best I think…

    Be mindful out there and have fun celebrating….

  4. I would like to retire in 2 years. How can I go about doing that? Orrrrr…when you retire, will you hire me as your personal assistant. I’ll do anything including carve watermelons.

  5. Enjoy your time off. And keep an eye on Jolie. She is trouble in a molded plastic body.

  6. We Found Him Captain! says:

    HBH……….I’m not really certain what that means, but I do know what it was intended to mean.

    Have fun…….On Thursday you will be a 50 year old UTZA. Have an extra sandwich made by a Cube.

  7. Thanks to you I have just seen my first watermelon-o-lantern. Thanks! Very cool, and like Todd eluded to, much tastier than the insides of a pumpkin.

  8. The North East Sector? Like, in Tron? Oh my gosh, I HAVE been assimilated!

    Happy almost birthday. May you and The Jolie have a most excellent adventure.

  9. Debbie says:

    Never saw a watermelon carved like a pumpkin — bet it tastes good, though! Enjoy your time off AND your birthday!

  10. Spectra says:

    Are you going to retire with the Jolie? She could be a useful assistant. She is small enough to get inside those watermelons and apples and cantelopes, to carve them up for you. And it might help keep her edge calmed. I see money in it.

  11. Laura says:

    Happy birthweek! And I love the watermelon carving. The red interior makes it more dramatic than a pumpkin.

  12. El Guapo says:

    Great Watermelkin. Kind of freaked me out a bit when I first scrolled past it.

    I don’t think the 2 years will be all that bad. It’s the last six weeks that will drive you crazy…

  13. I haven’t carved a jack-o-lantern in years because pumpkins are $40 here in China. I wish I’d thought of carving watermelons.

  14. Blogdramedy says:

    Happy Birthweek. Wow…it took seven days. You Mother is a God(ly)? *grin*

  15. patty punker says:

    happy 50th oma!!! how is it you know you’re retiring in 2 years? anyway, i’m totes jealous. happy trails to you and the jolie. btw- she was supposed to visit me in sept but went off to somewhere else. probably because i was off somewhere else. anyway, maybe next spring. the cold weather is here so i’m going into hibernation.

    • omawarisan says:

      She’s still coming to you!

      I’m retiring because in my biz, it is based on length of service. I’ve been serving a loooonnng time. I’ve got trick knees and I duct tape my shoulder back on at least once a week. It is time!

  16. planetross says:

    Enjoy your holiday and your birthday.
    The theme song to “Hawaii Five-O” should be played on your birthday.

  17. Jane says:

    Ahhhh . . . .RETIREMENT!! I got mine in May, ten years later than yours, though. So far, no complaints about retiring, and I can’t imagine ever getting bored with this. I’m beaching it now; that’s something I could never do before retirement. Cheap rates in November.

  18. queensgirl says:

    Hope you’re having a happy and pumpkin-free birthday!

    • omawarisan says:

      I was nearly poisoned! I went to dinner with friends. I was about to go to the rest room, but the waiter came to offer dessert. One of the options was pumpkin cheesecake.. My friends made it clear that if i;d have been gone, that would have been ordered for me.

  19. Lenore Diane says:

    Seeing the watermelon jack-o-lantern gives me the idea to make one in July for Independence Day. Nicely done with the carving. Impressive.

    Happy birthday week, Oma. May it be one of the best ever – filled with smiles, laughter and hot chocolate in fancy cups. Pinky up!

  20. Pie says:

    The watermelon carving is very impressive. Is it too late to wish you a happy birthday? I hope you are enjoying your week of celebrations in this very special year.


So, what's on your mind?

