Thanksgiving Without Turkey

A Bronze tom

Every year, The President pardons one, my mother saves one.(Image via Wikipedia)

This is going to start out sounding like a complaint. It isn’t. It is a factual statement. Thanksgiving dinner will be at my folks’ house. My mother does not cook turkey.

There is no question that my mom could cook turkey if she chose to. The truth is, she can cook nearly anything. If she were on one of those cooking shows that requires chefs to create a dish out of whatever ingredients are sprung upon them, my mother would win. She would win, assuming they did not give her a turkey.

I Think She’d Pass

If my mom was given a turkey as one of her cooking show ingredients I think she would withdraw from the competition. My mother does not cook turkey and I’m glad.

Now I’m sure somewhere in the archives is a record of the time my mother cooked a turkey. I don’t remember that time. Typically, the menu at my parents’ house for this or any other holiday is anything other than what people might expect. We’ve had ham, chicken, pasta…if it isn’t turkey, I probably remember having it.

Turkey is on the list of foods I like. It makes a great sandwich. I like that it is an excuse to eat cranberry sauce.  But I like not knowing what Thanksgiving dinner will be from year to year more than I like turkey.

Most people have the same Thanksgiving dinner, year after year. I think that’d be kind of dull. It is exciting not knowing what is coming until about a week before the holiday. Where a lot of people call their families and automatically offer to bring dressing or a green bean casserole, I call and ask what we’re having. I make my offer based on what I hear.

I Know What I Like

Cannoli with chocolate.

"Leave the gun. Take the cannoli." - Clemenza (Image via Wikipedia)

Sometimes the best holiday traditions involve being non traditional. Being with friends and family becomes the focal point instead of some bird.

This year’s selection is lasagna. I’m bringing cannoli. I may wear a Hawaiian shirt or a baseball jersey. This year I am thankful for ricotta cheese and my mother, not necessarily in that order.

Happy Thanksgiving. Make up a pot of minestrone, throw on some shorts and come on over.

31 Comments on “Thanksgiving Without Turkey”

  1. planetross says:

    I’ve had some non-traditional holiday meals. Once you get used to it, it’s quite normal … like some unormal food or another that’s okay now, but wasn’t before … to be specific.

    Happy Thanksgiving! … although I didn’t celebrate the Canadian one either in October.
    … giving is better than receiving … no wonder there is no “Thanksgiving”.

  2. Lenore Diane says:

    I’ll come to your house for the leftovers. Mmm, mmm, good!
    Happy Thanksgiving, Oma!

  3. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    I suppose, in the end, it doesn’t matter what shows up on the table. Thanksgiving is more about the people who gather at the table. I remember a delightful Thanksgiving dinner I had when I arrived in London. The pub served a traditional American Thanksgiving dinner. It was wonderful! This year, instead of dining at Perkins, I’ll go next door and have Thanksgiving dinner with Turkey and all the rest, at my sister’s.

    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving, Oma – you and your loved ones!

    • omawarisan says:

      I had Thanksgiving in a Denny’s once when I was in college. I am not the biggest Thanksgiving guy, but that was depressing.

      Go next door and wish everyone a happy day from me.

  4. k8edid says:

    Last year my husband and I went to the beach, we met another couple who was also “cooking” on the open grills at one of the little picnic pavillions. Both couples shared our spreads – it was delightful, and different, but one which left us with no leftovers. New traditions.

  5. I love lasagna. Can I come with you?

  6. We Found Him Captain! says:

    When I was a young boy in Hoboken, NJ we had stuffed squid for Thanksgiving.
    We still have some leftover ink. It keeps forever. I like the cannoli idea. It goes real well with lasagna. HBH…..

  7. Tom Levier says:

    Am I the only one who looks forward to thanksgiving leftovers than the actual thanksgiving meal?

  8. Katybeth says:

    I love lasagna…one year we had lobster and that was very good but usually we have Turkey…sometimes I feel like they are picked on tho and feel a little sad…I am very grateful other people turn them into butterballs.

    I’m glad you don’t have a policy against green bean casserole (40 million people like it…).

    Happy Thanksgiving.

  9. jacquelincangro says:

    I say, skip the bird and head straight for dessert!

  10. One year when it was going to be just the two of us we discussed the fact that we like the leftovers better than the meal. So we bought a precooked turkey breast to make sandwiches to go with our pumpkin pie. Yum!

  11. Betty says:

    Love it. What time’s dinner?

  12. Jane says:

    Merry Thanksgiving to all of the turkeyless (and turkeyfull) Blurt crew!!

  13. queensgirl says:

    Hope you had a good one, Omes.


So, what's on your mind?

