Alvin and The Chipmunks, Predecessor Of The Jackson 5

Billboards have popped up around town for the newest Chipmunks movie. Perhaps the fact that this is billboard worthy news gives you a clue what a hotbed for the arts Charlotte, North Carolina is.

I can’t stand The Chipmunks. I have always felt that way. Even as a kid, I felt there were too many unanswered questions and too many disturbing conclusions to be reached. Oh yeah, and their voices are irritating.

Dave Is A Disturbing Man

I'm not talking about Shoeless Joe Jackson (image via Wikipedia)

Let’s review the basics of The Chipmunks. A guy named Dave raised three Chipmunks as if they were his sons. As he raised them, he also served as the business manager for their musical act. The performance of his Chipmunk children were the family’s only source of income. Possibly as a result of the pressure and guilt from relying on his children for his livelihood, Dave was prone to screaming fits of rage.

There was no mother figure represented on the show. It is anyone’s guess as to what had to transpire for Dave to become the rage-aholic single parent of three English-speaking chipmunks. Even adoption causes me some concern in this circumstance.

I'm not talking about Joe Jackson the musician. (image via wikipedia)

The billboards made me think about Alvin and The Chipmunks, even though I didn’t want to. As I thought, another group of brothers came to mind – Michael Jackson and his brothers. Then it hit me. I think The Chipmunks provided the business model for The Jackson 5.

Let’s speculate and imagine together, shall we?

The Chipmunks Beget The Jackson 5

I imagine that the Jackson’s father, Joe, was sitting around one day watching cartoons. I think he saw what Dave was doing with his chipmunks.

This Joe Jackson, the weird one. (image via dcoetzee on Wikimedia)

“If only I could do what Dave is doing I would be on easy street” he thought.

Lacking chipmunks of his own, he substituted what he had at hand – children. He followed Dave’s show dad model and rode his kids to the bank. Soon, Joe was rich beyond his wildest dreams because he believed in a cartoon about singing chipmunks.

Now, I have no facts to back up my theory, just an examination of the parallels between two musical acts. I’ve set the parallels out for you in writing, but  know that some people are more comfortable when they can see something graphically as opposed to in text. I saw a Venn diagram on a really good blog and stole the idea…for you.

The Chipmunks vs The Jackson 5

36 Comments on “Alvin and The Chipmunks, Predecessor Of The Jackson 5”

  1. k8edid says:

    Thanks for the visual….I also have always hated the Chipmunks. So annoying

  2. I also hate the Chipmunks (although I think real chipmunks are cute, but they generally don’t talk!). Like the Venn diagram…

    Wendy

  3. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    Real chipmunks are adorable – Alvin and his bros – not so much. However, I love Chip and Dale! They didn’t speak English – they spoke in giggles – they didn’t live with humans and they weren’t annoying. I may be overly indulgent with my own pups, but I find cartoons with animals who speak and act as their owner’s sidekick very creepy. It just ain’t right!

  4. I once raised a hairless rat as a son. And she resented me for it.

  5. Jason says:

    I expect to see this published in an academic journey. Great theory, superb research, captivating visuals. Scholarly is an understatement.

  6. Dude, that is uncanny. I think you are on to something here. It will be hard to look at the Jackson 5 the same way after this. PS: the Venn diagram was a slam dunk. I am one of those people you have to draw a picture for 🙂

  7. Blogdramedy says:

    I’m with you on Alvin and The Chipmunks. But if you’re talking Chip & Dale? Whole other story, whole other vibe. 🙂

  8. Todd Pack says:

    I look at it this way: If David Cross is making money on Chipmunk movies, then he can afford to take a pay cut to make more episodes and maybe a movie of “Arrested Development.” Anything that helps pave the way for more “Arrested Development” can’t be all bad, and it wouldn’t be “Arrested Development” without Tobias.

  9. I love your post, but I can’t hate The Chipmunks. They introduced me to that Witch Doctor song.

  10. You are so right! I’d never thought about the nexus between the Chipmunks and the Jackson 5 except at some subliminal level to link them with other irritating sounds.

    I can’t believe they are going to do another Chipmunks movie. Makes me wonder if there is a veteranarian version of Conrad Murray out there somewhere.

  11. Lenore Diane says:

    I see your Alvin & the Chipmunks, and I raise you – on the scale of annoying – Curious George. Though a singleton, he is also raised by a single ‘Dad’. And, though his Dad tells him every time, ‘Be a good little monkey’; he is never a good little monkey. Never. Sure, things work out – always – but he is never a good little monkey.

  12. planetross says:

    … Alvin is the youngest and Michael is the youngest! … except for Jimmy

    … maybe that was the Doobie Brothers, … my mind wanders … I’m waiting for it to come back.

  13. Something about them never did quite sit right with me, either. Thank you for your careful yet disturbing analysis.

    On the bright side, the world has been spared LaToya Chipmunk. She and Janet must have gone off with the mom.

    Are you sure Ozzie’s a squirrel?

  14. Jane says:

    Does this have anything to do with the dead squirrel in your neighbor’s yard?

    Yeah . . . “Natural Causes” . . . if I only had a nickel . . .

  15. So funny. You made my day. I love the comparison charts.


So, what's on your mind?

