Voting Begins In The Blurt Art Contest.

Back in the late 1940’s, I decided to have an art contest. I wanted to keep the nation’s morale up. Tapping the creativity I could see in my neighbors seemed like the best way to keep the optimism of the post war  period growing into the 1950’s.

Alright, look, here is the truth. I thought it would be cool to have an art contest to find a header image for the blog. I did it because I had bought a Justin Bieber toothbrush as a prize for a contest, but I didn’t really have a contest in mind. The art contest was perfect, because I am completely lacking anything that you’d consider as artistic competence, and because I wanted to dress things up a bit around here.

I got entries from all over…England, Japan, New Jersey and other less exotic places. But I never really got around to wrapping the contest up. I just kept writing stuff. Writing and writing and writing.

Now, in the last week of the year, I am going to wrap the contest up and award the coveted Bieber Brush to the deserving artist.

The Method Of Judging: What It Was, What It Shall Be

English: PANEL OF JUDGES AT THE CONTEST- R-L, ...

The Judges, from left to right: Edith, Andrei, Barb, Cyril (the other judges call him Sleepy), Amelia, Hans, and Prakash (Image via Wikipedia)

A few weeks ago, I met with a group of friends who I will refer to as the distinguished panel of judges. These are people who’ve done nothing to earn that title beyond publicly admitting that they know who I am. They have not done much in the way of art, though all had painted things like interior walls and trim in their homes.

The distinguished panel deliberated for several hours and whittled the entries down to four semi-finalists. Those semi-finalists will be trimmed to two finalists by your votes. On Thursday, the two winners of the semi-finals will compete in a full contact, no rules, no holds barred art battle for your vote and The Bieber Brush. Two artists will enter the finals, only one will exit (with The Bieber Brush).

If You Please

While it is true that there can be only one winner, I hope that I can count on all the semi-finalists to adhere to a pledge of non-violence during and after this event. Additionally, I’d like there to be no violence between the supporters of any of the artists in the running, unless it is really over the top slapstick kind of stuff with folks getting bonked with big mallets and such.

Also, though this contest will be driven to resolution by votes, I would be very disappointed to find out that any of the candidates (or their supporters) had yard signs printed or engaged in spreading scurrilous rumors about one another. Please, let’s leave that to the dishonorable sorts who make their living through politics.

Let’s move on and look at our semi-finalists.

The Match-Ups

Hippie created a photo entry using a scrabble board, some of the topics I’ve covered on the blog, and the Gigantor character.

Ross brought together blocks and balloons for another photographic entry that depicts the name and concept of the blog.

Jane built her entry by shining a light on many of the key concepts that I’ve written about over the course of the blog.

Brooke went with the robot concept and created this arm carefully plucking the blog title.

Vote! It is what the founding fathers would have wanted you to do. I’m not sure why I’m qualified to say that, but I’m at least as qualified as anyone else is.

20 Comments on “Voting Begins In The Blurt Art Contest.”

  1. Let me expound of this, since I am still on my first cup of coffee and haven’t woken up yet. Each pair of choices was, for me, one of form vs function. After some mighty deep thought, mostly involving when exactly I would take my shower, I chose one form and one function. But I will say to all the semi-finalists that they did an outstanding job, especially considering that they could have been doing something else, like saving the planet.

  2. shoutabyss says:

    Those are high-quality entries. Damn, why does this have to be so hard? And how did I miss the contest announcement so I could have submitting something that would have lost? Oh well, maybe next time.

  3. Unlike Life in the Boomer Lane, I have had two cups of coffee. However, I can’t think straight because I am in bed lying flat on a heating pad (which made the coffee consumption challenging and messy) because of a bad back. I will gladly vote again and differently if you are not happy with the overall end results, Oma, but only if the right number of pain pills are thrown my way. I hope you’re feeling better, and not just because I want your leftover pain meds. Either way, I commend all of the semi-finalists on their creativity and will stand in awe of the person awarded the Justin Bieber toothbrush. I pray that, because it is, in fact, a Justin Bieber toothbrush, that you do not use it to induce vomiting.

  4. weid0089 says:

    I am so jealous of the lucky person who gets to take that Justin Bieber toothbrush home. Although it is probably good that I didn’t hear about this contest, enter, and win. Because then my life-size cut out of Justin Bieber would get jealous.

  5. Spectra says:

    Is there going to be a prize for us voters, too? I think I voted very well. There was style and flair to the way I pushed that voting button. Some might even say “Finnesse”. Some might even know how to properly spell ‘finesse’.

  6. I vote twice for the robot arm. I like the blocks but the balloons on top look a little condom-y.

  7. Pie says:

    I thought I knew which ones I was going to vote for because I like pretty pictures, but then I started to think about how it would look on the header and whether it truly described the concept of your blog. I have now made my votes. I hope one of them make it to the final. Congratulations to all who took part.

  8. Oh, man. I’m up against the blocks! I love those blocks!! So colorful, such an elegant conceptualization!!!

    My only hope is that Amelia and Prakash are looking to keep certain. . ahem…incriminating photos out of the public arena.

    It is an honor to make the semi’s. Thank you, O.

  9. Lenore Diane says:

    I came. I looked. I voted. I shall return on Thursday.

  10. Laura says:

    These are all great, but I finally managed to pick two and vote.

    Was it a deliberate choice to put the pictures and poll options in opposite order?

  11. Linda Sand says:

    It’s rigged! What if we wanted to vote for both of the top two but neither of the bottom two? So, I only voted once and I based it on what I though would make a good header without relevance to artistic merit since I know nothing about artistic merit, right? But the childish blocks and the windiness waiting to be shared implied by the not-yet-inflated balloons have to be right, don’t they? So I’m hereby lobbying for those.

  12. Jane says:

    I am so very honored to be a finalist. Never in my life did I think that I could be so humbled. Running against the Robot Arm is daunting to say the least.

    I wish to extend my heartfelt thanks to the esteemed panel of judges for the opportunity to be so close to actually holding the longed-for Bieber Brush.

    If the voters choose another entry, I promise to continue my quest for world peace and animal rights. Please know that this experience has been one of great joy and wonder. It has also taught me how to spell Bieber; and for that, there are no words.

  13. When you say no fighting, how about those of us who didn’t enter because the only artistic talent we have is coloring inside the lines? Can we fight? What if we promise to do it in jello or mud? Let me know.

  14. linlah says:

    I’m not qualified either but I voted.

  15. How did I miss this? The Bieber Brush was the one thing I forgot to get Hope for Christmas!

    I like Hippie’s entry…

    Wendy


So, what's on your mind?

