Teaching Four Rules

The phone rang while I was home on Friday morning. It was my partner from work. I had a note to myself to call him, but he beat me to it. I made a note to kick my own butt after the call was over for allowing that to happen.

“How ya healin’? Did the surgery work?” I told him things were going well, that the surgery was like turning off a pain switch and having two weeks away from the office was a really nice side effect. “I owed you a call before you called me, man, today is big.” He admitted it sort of was.

Our job was to manage a shift of fifteen people. The manager who put us together expected me to fix my new partner. I didn’t really see the need.

After a few days of working together we decided to sit down and figure out what we were doing. We ended up agreeing that it was important that:

  1. our people went home safe
  2. that they did the job well
  3. we remember that crap flows down hill
  4. keeping crap off people’s backs leads to #2

We had a pretty good run. For eleven years, our shift ran the way it should. Things were done right. Our people were happy and safe. It showed in their work. It still shows.

Next Monday, I will go back to work. I’ll have a new partner and two years to teach him four rules.

More often than not, you don’t hear much about individuals in my occupation unless they do something to become everyone’s stereotypical bad cop. Perhaps it is a tribute to my partner that he came and left like a breeze. He wasn’t there, then he was, now he’s gone.

Friday was a big day because it was his retirement day. He got out safely.

Well done, man, well done. I’m next.

28 Comments on “Teaching Four Rules”

  1. We Found Him Captain! says:

    Are you feeling well enough to go back to work so soon?

    • omawarisan says:

      Oh yeah. I’m going to be on limited duty for about 2 months until things all fuse properly from the surgery so I’ll just be shuffling paper in the office. I expect to be screaming to get out of there in pretty short order.

  2. shoutabyss says:

    Those are four damn good rules. Most bosses don’t seem to ever consider stuff like that. It’s usually, “You can be replaced. Get ‘r done or you’re fired.”

    Can I come work for you?

  3. Pie says:

    A good set of rules there, Oma. I’m also happy your partner got to retire in one piece. If I ever have to settle down to one permanent job (well, two to three years would be permanent in my book), I hope to have a boss like you.

  4. Lenore Diane says:

    Mighty fine tribute to your partner, Oma. I appreciate you sharing the four lessons, too. If my Dad were still alive, I’d share this with him. I see him in this post. Thank you.

  5. Debbie says:

    Glad to hear you’re on the mend, Oma! Congrats to your partner on his retirement. Too many in your field become careless and don’t make it to that milestone. You be careful so you can, too!

  6. Glad it’s going well. Best of luck with your new partner!

    PS–Good choice of new banner!

  7. Laura says:

    Congrats to your partner. Is your new partner someone you already know, or is it someone brand-new?

    • omawarisan says:

      New partner has been in my district about 6 years, handling a different assignment. I’m glad to have him, pushed my boss for the move.

      I think I’ll be leaving my people in good hands, provided we get him a good partner when this old man packs it in.

  8. Katybeth says:

    Funny how few managers understand how having a responsible relationship with the people they manage works to their benefit.I can tell American Airlines employees are treated like crap every time I fly the airline. One of my favorite business sent out snow plows during our last blizzard to help shovel employes out and adjusted shifted so nobody felt rushed to be at the office..I asked my local car wash guy to make a simple change for me a few months ago that would have been a better deal for the carwash but he could not make the change without asking his boss—his boss would “be SO MAD.” The car wash is out of business.

    Glad you are on the mend. Great team effort making sure your partner retired. Keep up the effort.

  9. jacquelincangro says:

    It must be great to have a partner like that – someone who’s always got your back.
    Glad to hear that you’re well on your way to recovery (and to retirement)!

  10. Wow…eleven years together! That’s longer than a lot of marriages last! Glad you had a good partner! Hope the next one is up to snuff!

    Love “the rules”!

    Wendy

  11. Amy says:

    Good to hear that the surgery was such a success! It’s wonderful not to have that constant pain following you around anymore, isn’t it?
    Congrats to your partner. Sounds like his retirement is well-earned. And yours will be as well.

    • omawarisan says:

      Oh man, I can’t even begin to describe how instant the change was. This is great.

      I’m going to restart instead of retire…new life!

      • Spectra says:

        Just think of it – >em>it’s your retirement dinner… a muffled excitement clouds the room, you know it’s something good, but what? All through the dinner, speeches and awards, even after you step up to the podium to recieve your big trophy – that something extra you were anticipating, it just isn’t there…

        It’s the end of the night. You are handed your dinner jacket and trophy, you and a few close comrades head out front of the fine establishment, and wait with your paper ticket at the valet station…

        A mighty grumbling buzzes and burrs in the distance…a crowd of people crossing the road begin to whisper in a symphony of uttered ‘oohs’ and ‘awwws’… you crane your neck around the marble column where you have been leaning, contemplating your chrome-plated trophy, and how that seems a rather meager – call it trite – summation of your years of service… A high-pitched, shrieking snarl of rubber on gravel strips the night air of its placid tone.

        It skids into place right before you, almost knocking you over with it’s gusting wind. Your giant Yellow and Red Weinermobile. It snuggles up to the curb, opens it’s driver door, a red, evening gloved hand inviting you inside…And its. all. yours.

        Hell of a retirement gift that ‘ould be, ay?

        • Spectra says:

          (HINT: maybe pin a copy of this comment on the bulletin board at your work; plant the seeds of ideas in them folks…also, include links to sites that help coworkers build fundraisers, so they can buy this car for you. They’ve got 2 years time…there’s no really good excusefor them not to present you with a weinermobile as your retirement gift. Better than a gold watch, I’d say 😀 )

  12. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    Your new partner couldn’t have a better teacher. Yes, next time, you’ll be at home, not returning to work.

  13. planetross says:

    I’m glad you’re on the mend.

    If you were a robot, you’d probably only have 3 rules. hee hee!


So, what's on your mind?

