My Half Of An Awkward Conversation That Hasn’t Happened, Yet.

Yes, this does embarrass me. It is pretty awkward.

I know.

Well, I guess about twenty-six years or so, right? I mean we both got here at about the same time. Yeah, the whole time.

Mulva? (somechum.com)

No, I didn’t just forget. Honestly, I’ve never known. I’m sure someone told me once. I forgot back then and it snowballed from there.

You’ve been very nice. It certainly isn’t your fault. For what it is worth, you’re not the only one. I’m sort of not good like that.

I am really sorry.

I know, but what else am I going to say?

Can I just say something in my defense? Thanks. I just thought I’d point out that I was pretty sure you didn’t work here anymore.

Well, it means that I don’t think all twenty-six years are my fault. Why would I try to find out if I thought I would never see you in the hall?

I know, I am grasping at straws. I spent all my energy hiding the fact that I did not know for all these years. I didn’t get around to contingency planning for things like you figuring it out.

No.  No idea. No, you didn’t do anything. I just forgot and you were very nice whenever I needed help. After ten years of you being nice and me not knowing, how on earth could I just go on and ask you something like that. A normal person would have found out so he could have a normal conversation like he does with Donna and John and all the rest of the people in your section.

Mmm, yeah, perhaps listing their names isn’t helping things. But you know how John talks about himself in the third person? “John will get that for you.” “John thinks Duke is going to win the ACC Tournament this year.” Of course I’m going to remember that, it’s too weird to forget.

Nice to see you again, I mean despite the whole not learning your name for twenty-six years thing.

I know, not funny.

Well, have a nice day…You.

24 Comments on “My Half Of An Awkward Conversation That Hasn’t Happened, Yet.”

  1. I’m glad…and I’m sure Whatshername is too, that you haven’t defaulted to “Honey.” You know how awkward that can be.

  2. Spectra says:

    What a cooincidence! I was writing this morning about a similar incident that just happened to me yesterday – but it left me with a good feeling (once I got over the initial embarrassment of forgetting both the name and the face 😦 )

  3. Kit says:

    I haven’t done that at work, but one night at a club, this guy (a good looking seemingly perfectly nice guy) was chatting with me, and I finally stuck out my hand and said “I’m Kit” and he said, “I *KNOW*. I’m Bob. And we’ve met five times now.”

    “Er… oops?”

    I don’t know why I never remembered him. He WAS quite good looking, and very nice.

    *shrug*

  4. Lenore Diane says:

    Deloris! I swear, whenever I see the picture you included I run through a list of names using the prompt provided – and I never remember her name. I always have to Google it. ARGH! Suffice it to say – the story you shared… been there. Done that. I’m awful with names.

  5. Awkward (said in a sing-song voice)!!

  6. Betty says:

    You must enlist someone else to do your dirty work. I had a lovely young woman who would staff a meeting room for me at an event in Florida every year. Of course, she was introduced to me the first year but hers was a name I’d never heard before and I just couldn’t log it into my brain. The second year she came back, I did the “oh, you” routine. The third year, a couple of speakers working on our program told me how delighted they were to see this particular room monitor back again and, oh by the way, what’s her name? Good question. I told them my problem. Since they’d had far less interaction with her, it was less awkward for them to ask her for a reminder of her name. they came back out of the room and the three of us stood in the corridor repeating her name over and over until we finally locked it in.

  7. We Found Him Captain! says:

    Don’t worry about it Omaha! Everyone has that same problem at one time or other………regards to your sister.

  8. spencercourt says:

    There aren’t too many folks these days who worked in the same place for 26 years. Next year, when I retire, it’ll have been 20 years. And I am the senior person in an office of about 30.

  9. linlah says:

    Names are so overrated.

  10. It’s just so hard to say, “Who the hell are you?”

  11. Laura says:

    I sometimes find myself knowing how a person’s name is spelled but not how it’s pronounced. When that happens, I usually call their office phone number at a time when I know they’re out, just to hear their voicemail greeting. If you know her phone number, you could try that. Or maybe you could find a way to get her to send you an email.

    Or, the next time someone has a birthday or a wedding or a baby, you could ask her to sign the card.

  12. Pie says:

    That is super-embarrassing, but don’t worry. You could say it’s her character that counts for you, not her name. Having said that, it would be less awkward if you could actually remember it. I wonder if you’re the only one to forget her name. If the poor girl’s anything like me, her name would be forgotten almost instantly.

  13. Anonymous says:

    At work, I either know people’s first name or last name … but I’m pretty sure most people don’t know my last name, so we are even.

  14. planetross says:

    I know the first or last name of the full-time staff I work with: I get caught out when someone asks for someone using the “not the name I know for the person” name.
    To be fair, most people I work with don’t know my last name at all.


So, what's on your mind?

