A Bunch Of Different Stuff

A few posts ago, I mentioned that my son snagged a summer internship at the beach.

This morning I am on the road out to the Outer Banks of North Carolina, where he will be working. Apparently it isn’t enough that he’s getting paid to follow his dream AND get paid to be at the beach. He insists on having somewhere to sleep, inside. Kids, go figure.

Sending You Back In Time

So we’re on the way to the beach to find shelter. And I was lazy and didn’t write something new for today. I’m going to send you back in time to an Outer Banks adventure in two parts.

Click on this picture to get the first part of the adventure…:

…and this one for the second…:

While You’re Here…

Last spring I held the first ever Blurt Blog Press Conference. Spring is almost here, and the time is getting close to have another press conference.

If you missed the press conference last year, you can check out how it went by clicking here. Last year I answered questions about eating glue, potato salad sandwiches, my relationship with Carly Simon, plus I had an opportunity to discuss my time as the lead singer of the funk group, Cameo.

Start getting your questions ready and look for the press conference soon!

But Wait, There’s More!

Some time ago, I wrote about my feelings about the stigma of jokes involving “the short bus”. I’ll add that the term retard really sets me off.

I could cover more on the topic, but yesterday I read a post from a fellow blogger that makes the case against the R word better than I ever could. Please take a few minutes over at Eric’s blog, read his thoughts on the matter and let’s all change someone’s vocabulary.

7 Comments on “A Bunch Of Different Stuff”

  1. AiXeLsyD13 says:

    Hey, thanks for the shout-out! I just wrote a list of (mildly offensive) alternatives last night.

    The use of the R-word makes the user seem ignorant on many different levels, IMHO. I’d much rather hear a more intelligent insult.

    I’m going to have to think of a creative question or two for your press conference… πŸ™‚

  2. Thanks for sharing these links. There is nothing more offensive to me than the “R” word. I teach camp for special needs kids at my zoo, and they deserve so much more respect.

  3. I’m not doing anything nearly as fun as traveling to the Outer Banks, but I am a bit tied up and unable to read, write, do ‘rithmetic. I will check out Eric’s post when things simmer down.

    For now, I just wanted to add a “here, here” or “hear, hear” or “here, hear.” I’ve never known which it is. Now someone will tell me. I thank them in advance for taking the time.

    Regardless, I do a lot of thinking about the power of words. I think we seriously underestimate it. I have a lot of un-favorite words that, unfortunately, permeate daily life as acceptable these days, even as humorous. Fortunately for me, I haven’t heard the “r” word in a long time, perhaps because of my (former, but always in my heart) profession. Thanks for pointing the way to the post and to Eric for posting it, which must be good because you recommended it.

    Oh my, who put this soapbox here?

  4. Blogdramedy says:

    Sticks and stone can break my bones but words will never hurt me. So not true.

    Just now I read Oma’s reply to something I wrote about John Wayne and “The Quiet Man” and he mentioned that you should only wear a cowboy hat if you have a cow. Just so happens I just bought a cowboy hat on Thursday. Was I offended by Oma’s comment? Maybe for a nano second and then I thought about how much I love cows so I’m going out to buy one immediately…a cute stuffed one to start out with and I’ll work my way up.

    Besides, it’s always bugged me when people ask, “where do you keep the milk?” If I get a cow, I can just point out the window. πŸ™‚

  5. Jane says:

    I’m trying to be happy for Oma because he is at the beach, and I’m not:

    This is my happy face.


So, what's on your mind?

