Five Routine Minutes: An Unexpected Position

The NCAA Basketball Tournament has begun. Last week I watched as the teams that were selected for the tournament were announced. The very last team  announced was from my son’s school, North Carolina State University.

When he is happy, I’m happy.

The schedule of games came out and NC State’s first game is Friday at 12:40 P.M. .  I’ll be at work at that time.

I can’t really sit and watch a basketball game on TV while I work.

Obviously, something was going to have to give. My son is playing at the biggest basketball event in the country. I’m devoted to my job, but not like I’m devoted to my son. The solution was to go to my boss and tell/ask him what I intended to do to resolve the struggle.

My new boss is pretty cool. I’ve known him for a long time, but we haven’t worked together for at least twenty years. He was fine with my plan. But in twenty years, we’ve sort of lost track of each others lives. So he asked “what position does he play?”

There wasn’t really any other way to handle the question. I smiled and said…

Go Wolfpack! How about that Pep Band?

25 Comments on “Five Routine Minutes: An Unexpected Position”

  1. Wendi says:

    I thought of you and OmaSon when the brackets were announced. Hope you catch a glimpse of him on the telly today.

  2. Todd Pack says:

    That’s so cool, Oma. Don’t forget to set the DVR!

  3. Your son has pretty blue eyes.

  4. Debbie says:

    You are soooo lucky to be able to watch OmaSon do his trombone thing at March Madness! Domer is on Spring Break and will miss the Irish’s first game tonight, but with a wee bit o’ luck, they’ll survive to play another day. Enjoy your visit and give a mighty yell for me!

    • omawarisan says:

      And I get at least one more game, they play Georgetown on Sunday.

      My guy opted out of the ACC tournament for spring break. Seems like he got some spring weather in Columbus though

      • Debbie says:

        I caught the last few minutes of today’s game vs. the Hoyas — WOW!! The Wolfpack is going to the Sweet 16 — you’ve got to be soo proud. Congrats and keep on winning!

  5. We Found Him Captain! says:

    I think we saw Omason (on TV) at the game. In addition later on at the half, during a commecial they showed a trombone player with a red wig and a “Where’s Waldo?” type hat on. He was partially hidden behind a billboard so that all we could see was the hat and wig. As the scene faded and disappeared we realized it was not our guy…… Good game anyway!!
    I read last night where, even though NCState was rated 11th and the others were rated #6, the NCState team was a two point favorite to win.

    Tell Matt to eat a bag of potato chips and drink two chocolate milk shakes in celebration of the win. Nice Blurt!

  6. Lenore Diane says:

    I always enjoy your posts with pictures.
    Glad you’ll make it to the game to see your son play!!

    • omawarisan says:

      Oh I’d give a couple fingers to be there, but I did make it home to be able to watch without interruption.

      Now, if the network would just go on and show them playing some Earth Wind and Fire for me I’d be happy.

  7. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    Thank goodness there’s something better to watch at these games besides grown men doing ridiculous things with balls…

  8. Sonja L. Smith says:

    Oma, your son is the best!

  9. linlah says:

    That’s pretty cool, too bad they don’t show more of the bands.


So, what's on your mind?

