That’s A Different Guy

The other day I went to vote.  Early voting for my neighborhood is held at the local library.

Spanky, Darla, and Alfalfa in the "Club S...

Alfalfa (right) and his Alfalfa hair(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I pulled into the parking lot and got out of my car. Nearby, a woman was putting her books in the back of her minivan. Her little boy stood outside the open back door. As I walked past them toward the library door, the little boy pointed at me and said “Mom, that’s a different guy”. I figured I’d just let the remark pass, but the kid wouldn’t let it go. He kept telling his mother I was different. Looking to her for an answer didn’t help, she just shrugged.

Discomfort seized me. I went into the library restroom to try to determine what made the boy so insistent that I was different. I didn’t have Alfalfa hair and there was nothing sticking out of my nose. My fly was up and I wasn’t wearing anything outlandish.

I’m not sure what made that mean four year old label me as different. I am sure I didn’t relish being too different.

Speaking Of Different

Maybe we could amend the constitution to fully fund education?

One of the things we’re voting on here in North Carolina is something called Amendment One. Amendment One designates that marriage can only be between a man and a woman. We’re voting on a constitutional amendment to prevent gays and lesbians from getting married, even though there’s already no legal way for that to occur.

I’m just going to go on and tell you that I voted against the amendment.

The amendment’s supporters present a lot of arguments. I don’t believe those arguments. I’m sure that the people who make them believe them, but I think there’s more behind those arguments – fear and prejudice. That’s very sad.

I work and am friends with people who are gay or lesbian. Their orientation is different. That difference exposes them to the fear and prejudice of others. I cannot imagine that anyone would willingly open themselves up to the wrath that the perceptions of others bring down upon my friends.

They’re different. Different from me. Different from a lot of other folks.

Different is not wrong, no matter what that four year old made me think.

Prejudice, fear and hate are challenging enough in our society. It makes me sad to think that a place exists in our nation where citizens have to vote to keep those three things from being constitutionally protected acts. But then, we’re not the first, are we?

Gay People Don’t Scare Me. Unless They Have Swords. Anyone With A Sword Scares Me.

It’s anyone’s guess what the result of the voting will be at this point. Voting ends on Tuesday. I’m hoping things go the way that I voted, for the good of my friends. They’ve been good enough to stand side by side with at work. They’ve taught my son in school. We’ve had a drink and a laugh.

They’re good enough establish their relationships just like the rest of us do.

27 Comments on “That’s A Different Guy”

  1. k8edid says:

    I like different. I’ve known gay and lesbian couples who are more loving, more committed, and more productive in their communities than legions of heterosexual couples I know. Thanks for voting…and I’m glad your fly was zipped.

    • omawarisan says:

      I always check my fly before I vote. The poll workers always give me crap for not registering as affiliated with a party. “Choose a side and your fly is open” would be hard to take.

  2. DITTO…and one side of my family is FAAAAAAR RIGHT BORN-AGAIN and they scare me. The things their daughter has said to my son (same age) over the years makes me want to throat kick them. It’s none of their, “Your dad is going to hell for cheating on your mom” business.

  3. Laura says:

    It’s kind of ironic that this is called Amendment One, since initiatives like this one always seem to me to be backed by people trying to impose their religious views on marriage on everyone. At least they didn’t call it Amendment Fourteen.

  4. The Jagged Man says:

    I will keep it simple Oma: Well said.

  5. If only the people who think that constitutional amendments are the way to protect them against the things they don’t like understood (1) the purpose of a constitution and (2) what it contains.

  6. In all of my time grading middle school papers, I have never seen an apostrophe abused mathematically. That picture speaks for itself.

  7. Debbie says:

    Did you ever figure out why that kid kept insisting you’re “different”? Sometimes it seems that kids are the cruelest humans because they say whatever pops into their heads without regard for other people’s feelings. Adults, of course, should know better!

  8. shoutabyss says:

    I found the politics post! Yeah. And you know what? It was worth the effort to find.

    Great pic!

    About that “different guy” stuff? Trust me, you get used to it. Personally I take it as a sign that the universe still cares about me.

    You voted. That rocks. You voted correctly. That rocks even more. Good on you!

  9. Linda Sand says:

    I’m with you. And I bet that kid was just differentiating you from the previous man he’s seen. Nothing more. He was probably at the age when he was just beginning to learn how to determine who is who and what is what. Now if some adults would learn that what is not who…

  10. Wendi says:

    One of my challenges in working with my college women is getting them to understand that diversity is not just that they all have different majors or come from different hometowns. Is it really that difficult to respect the differences between individuals, and understand that the right choice for me may not be the right choice for you?

    • omawarisan says:

      That lesson never ends. I’m still trying to point that out to my people…it isnt your thing, but it isn’t your life to live either, is it.

  11. spencercourt says:

    In Florida, we have much more important issues to vote on, such as ensuring that pregnant pigs are not mistreated. That passed in 2002, but the implementing regs only went into effect in 2008.

  12. My Odd Family says:

    The Waldorf school bus theme (where my kid goes to school) is always in the Chicago Gay Pride Parade this year decorated with posters that said “I love my two mom’s” and “I love my two Dad’s.” I look forward to a time when these parade are not necessary.

  13. Lenore Diane says:

    Long live ears open to listen and differences embraced!
    Oh wait. We’re not there yet. *sigh* Here’s to the day ears are open to listen and differences are embraced.

  14. robincoyle says:

    Scary. The government wants to govern everything. Scary.


So, what's on your mind?

