Five Routine Minutes: What Is The English Word For 갈비?

I traveled with my son this week. We were near his university around dinner time. He had an idea…

He’d taken me to this Korean restaurant before. It is a favorite of his when he is at school and I’ve enjoyed it each time we’ve gone.

As I was looking at the menu, the owner told me about the special of the evening. He didn’t know the English word for ribs, so he pointed at his own ribs and said “it is this”.

I’d never seen anyone use their own body to describe a dish. I ordered the ribs as a tribute to his effort.

I wish I hadn’t done that. They were not good. I think it is only fair to say that everything else I’ve had there has been great.

This was not great. It was bad in a chewy, gnarly, grisly kind of way.

The experience made me wonder…

If that happens, I’m not eating it.

I don’t care how unique the effort is.

30 Comments on “Five Routine Minutes: What Is The English Word For 갈비?”

  1. AiXeLsyD13 says:

    I lost it with “rump roast”. Ah ha ha ha hahaha hahah ha…

  2. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    Now if a fat waiter pointed to his ribs, the meal would have been delicious. You just got the wrong donor that evening.

  3. We Found Him Captain! says:

    I’m glad you didn’t order the Korean copuzella, that’s an Italian dish made from goat’s brains.
    Very tasty with spinach and pinto beans. The Koreans cook copuzella by frying the brains,The Italians bake the stuff. Italian style is better.

  4. Katybeth says:

    My first giggle of the day. Thank you!

  5. Lol! Do you want some of this chicken (I point at my ass)? That would really be awful, it’s my favorite part of the chicken though! ;p

  6. Todd Pack says:

    You sure it was ribs?

  7. Debbie says:

    Your first clue was when your waiter didn’t know the proper name of what he was serving (or at least pretended not to know!). Why, it could’ve been dog. Or cat. Nope, I don’t care how good a restaurant is purported to be, I don’t eat dog. Or cat. Or things I or my waiter can’t pronounce. College kids will eat just about anything, though!

  8. Laura says:

    I love your “yucky ribs” face.

  9. Be careful what you ask for, you might get it!

  10. robincoyle says:

    I tried the rump roast and it was fatty.

  11. List of X says:

    Is it possible that the waiter was pointing to his shirt? I mean, the waiter must have been wearing a shirt, otherwise you probably would not have even bothered with the order.

  12. Lenore Diane says:

    Dog-gone it, that was funny. Wait. Dog. Ruh-ro, Raggy.

  13. You. Me. Honey Pig Korean BBQ. This needs to happen.

  14. […] This week’s film depicts something I enjoy, producing a blog post.  I was not able to come up with a way to record how I come up with an idea, nor the event leading to the idea. This is simply how I assembled the post before this one. […]

  15. […] were on the way to drop my son off at his dorm. He pointed out a favorite restaurant of his. It is a Korean place that I’ve written a “Five Minutes” post about before. The conversation reminded my Dad of an encounter he had with the owner of a shoe repair business, a […]


So, what's on your mind?

